YAI - Seeing beyond disability Reviews | Glassdoor

YAI - Seeing beyond disability Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 306 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
George Contos
43 Ratings
  1. "Project ASSIST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Support Professional in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YAI - Seeing beyond disability part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, easy paperwork, supervisors have many years under their belt, training

    Cons

    Travel a lot,May have difficult cases and families to work with leaving you vulnerable.

    Advice to Management

    If the client is aggressive they should not have this type of service.

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-03-17
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Habilitation Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YAI - Seeing beyond disability part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The crew will help you if you get stuck anything

    Cons

    If the clients or the crew members don't like your honest opinions, you would be severely compensated

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-03-30
  3. "Great Starting Job for Mental Health Fields"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Support Professional in Flushing, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YAI - Seeing beyond disability full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Social Work Credit Trainings Opportunities for Growth Accessible Overtime Opportunities Benefits

    Cons

    High stress working with people with ID/D Low pay

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-03-04
  4. "LOVE IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DSP in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YAI - Seeing beyond disability full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Builds personal growth. Gain a different mind set. Amazing overtime

    Cons

    Sometimes, the way we are required too treat the people we support is mentally heart braking.

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-03-01
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Support Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YAI - Seeing beyond disability part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company ensures employees are properly trained.

    Cons

    14 hour shifts in one day

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-02-11
  6. "volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer in New York, NY

    I worked at YAI - Seeing beyond disability

    Pros

    working with a good team

    Cons

    there are not much hours

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-02-07
  7. "hm..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at YAI - Seeing beyond disability full-time

    Pros

    Employees are mission driven and dedicated to their job.

    Cons

    lack of recognition, high turnover rate, gossip culture

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-02-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Churn and BURN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Leadership in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YAI - Seeing beyond disability full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible mission and history. People in the field and administrative support are very dedicated.

    Cons

    Use and abuse culture staring with the CEO strangles any potential for being successful here. There is no communication amongst the leadership. All reactive all the time and only about what the CEO happens to be screaming (literally) about in that moment. Demotivating and very toxic Will fire you and stick their leg out to trip you on the way out.

    Advice to Management

    CEO must be replaced immediately.

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-03-08
  9. "Don’t intern here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at YAI - Seeing beyond disability for less than a year

    Pros

    The children were great to work with and they offer great trainings.

    Cons

    Other than the children and depending on who your supervisor is, they’re not flexible with your schedule. Everyone in NY knows that there is always traffic or an issue finding parking, however, they don’t care at YAI. If it happens then you have to figure it out on your own. Also, if you have your own personal things going on, forget it, they don’t care about it. I’ve never felt so unheard as a person ever. I thought...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to your volunteers and care about them.

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-02-28
  10. "Poor Communication and Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YAI - Seeing beyond disability part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The mission of the company is humanistic and person centered

    Cons

    I was hired in early January and was not processed for almost 2 months through the HR. I was told in the beginning I would have 3 trainings, then told there would be 5, then on the day of my first training was told there would be 8. I only wanted to work 15 hours a week and 64 hours of training would have cost me valuable time at my primary job. Not worth it at all for a low pay rate not equal to effort.

    Advice to Management

    I understand there are many topics to go over to train, but the process is far too drawn out.

    YAI - Seeing beyond disability2019-02-26
Found 306 reviews