YKK AP America Reviews | Glassdoor

YKK AP America Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
YKK AP America CEO Oliver Stepe
Oliver Stepe
14 Ratings
  1. "Just keeps getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austell, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YKK AP America full-time

    Pros

    YKK now allows somewhat flexible hours that one can choose to best fit his/her personal life. Management professionalism facilitates open communication with employees so that problems can be solved effectively, but also offer enough space such that I don't feel micro-managed. I get a general feeling that my work is appreciated. Workplace activities such as occasional lunches and outings also go a long way in making...

    Show More

    Cons

    Our headquarters location in Austell is also in an area of rather significant property crime, mostly vehicle break-ins.

    Advice to Management

    We do have surveillance cameras here (inside and out), but installing visible signs saying something like "Surveillance Used Here" would let those with criminal intent know they are being watched--which may act as a deterrent. YKK also might look into providing telecommuting for at least some employees (if software licensing would permit it.)

    YKK AP America Response

    November 8, 2018Senior Leadership

    Employee safety is extremely important to our organization. Thank you for your suggestions and feedback.

  2. "Good but not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Dublin, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YKK AP America for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Secure, not too stressful, good people

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor advancement and old technologies, on call rotation

    YKK AP America Response

    February 4, 2019Senior Leadership

    Our goal is to drive continuous improvement. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

  3. "Machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Macon, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YKK AP America full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for if you make the right friends. Easy work.

    Cons

    Shutdowns and leaving early are becoming very frequent.

    YKK AP America Response

    January 18, 2019Senior Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our goal is to maintain consistency in our production scheduling, even though that is not always possible. Please re-consider us as a future employer. Thank you again, we wish you the best in your endeavors.

  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fabrication Technician in Macon, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YKK AP America full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits offered are very good! They offer every thing you could need.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between departments is a major deal.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all of your workers are on the same page.

    YKK AP America Response

    November 8, 2018Senior Leadership

    Thank you for your service with our company. Your honesty is appreciated. Our goal is to provide employees with quality information and interaction on a regular basis. We will continue to foster an environment of open communication and feedback.

  5. "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austell, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at YKK AP America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to travel internationally.

    Cons

    No leadership, communication or organizing within senior level management.

    YKK AP America Response

    October 12, 2018Sr Vice President

    Thank your taking the time to review our company. We take pride in our employee communication and your feedback is very helpful. We are disappointed that your personal experience is not what you had hoped for and we trust that over time you will be as excited as your peers. Our leadership ...

    Show More
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YKK AP America full-time

    Pros

    Financially sound, great talent pool, fantastic products

    Cons

    More interested in keeping up with reports than making our customers happy.

    Advice to Management

    Get back to the basics that made us a great company "Circle of Goodness"

    YKK AP America Response

    August 31, 2018Marketing and communications manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Strong processes are fundamental to our organizational effectiveness, however we recognize it is critical to seek opportunities to support our customers needs. Balance is something we strive for and we value your feedback.

  7. "Positive changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YKK AP America full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Some really dedicated and cool people work here. Management is friendly, respectful to everyone and trying to make improvements. Good reputation and core values. Can wear jeans in the office.

    Cons

    Lack of flex time especially when you put in late hours solving customer problems. No cafeteria. Sometimes work can get redundant.

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees to do the right thing always instead of making people in different jobs fit the same rules. Pay more to those who go the extra mile. Have free employee lunches more often.

    YKK AP America Response

    May 25, 2018Sr Vice President

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It's good to hear that we are on the right track and also good to learn more about how we can become an even greater company! -Oliver

  8. "Assistant Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Engineer in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at YKK AP America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product was fairly interesting along with monthly trips to the Dublin manufacturing facility made it easier to grasp what you were working on. At the time these trips were frustrating but looking back I would have enjoyed them had I not hated the commute so much.

    Cons

    The lack of flexible hours coupled with the terrible Atlanta traffic made the commute unbearable. In the afternoons it easily doubled my commute from what could have been 45min to 1.5hrs.

    Advice to Management

    Allow flexible hours.

    YKK AP America Response

    May 7, 2018Senior Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and providing us with your feedback.

  9. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YKK AP America

    Pros

    It's growing and great opportunity for advancement, great benefits. They treat all the employees well and training is excellent. The compensation is comparable with other companies in the same industry.

    Cons

    Could do better on wages and benefits. Other than that, it has been a good company to work for. I have been working with them for 20+ years.

    YKK AP America Response

    February 5, 2018Senior Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We strive to offer exceptional value to our employees and your feedback is important to us.

  10. "A little more goes a long way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at YKK AP America full-time

      Pros

      12.5 years in. Love the work and the challenge.

      Cons

      Too many Bad attitudes from co-workers who only care about themselves... Not the Customer. Not enough self motivation to get the work done and do the right thing. Help is always needed, but not always given. More can be done, but isn't. There are always new idea's, but mostly overlooked or not wanted from co-workers. Cell phones need to be put away during working hours...We all get breaks.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to employee's. Take care of what needs to be. Rewarding those who do the right thing only encourages others to follow.

      YKK AP America Response

      February 5, 2018Senior Leadership

      Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Quality service and teamwork is fundamental to our success. We will continue to cultivate an environment that is customer focused and rewarding for our employees.

    Found 30 reviews