YM Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

YM Inc. Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
31%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
YM Inc. President Michael Gold  (no image)
Michael Gold
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "fast paced/ a lot of problem solving(in 7 reviews)

  • "other assistant buyers and some of the buyers were great people to work with(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "I worked a YM head office for 2 years(in 18 reviews)

  • "Low pay, always something to do(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tenafly, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YM Inc. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay at the time i was working

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations for management and associates

    Advice to Management

    Listen to lower management. I feel like they get brushed off so easily.

    YM Inc.2019-02-12
  2. "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YM Inc.

    Pros

    Learned lots from my mentor

    Cons

    Long Hours No real potential room for growth

    YM Inc.2018-09-26
  3. "MIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at YM Inc. part-time

    Pros

    good co-workers, able to grow

    Cons

    very obscure rules, customers are rude, have to remember all the promos and put them in yourself in the register

    Advice to Management

    stop being so petty

    YM Inc.2018-06-04
  4. "Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager in Bergenfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YM Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are amazing people to work with

    Cons

    I worked for this company since they brought out big M and let me tell you ,the hours, upper management are horrible people they'll talk down to you, gossip throughout the company they even told people my personal info like my credit score etc. STAYAWAY

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees they run your stores! Stop talking down to people your not God your hardly **** yourself.

    YM Inc.2018-02-05
  5. "Assistant Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YM Inc. full-time

    Pros

    you're in the fashion industry

    Cons

    - cheap company - terrible pay - terrible hours - politics they need to like you so you can move up

    Advice to Management

    Foster growth and development and raises in a timely fashion

    YM Inc.2017-07-05
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Exec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YM Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people who were/are part of the original company, Big M, Inc which is what YM bought out during a bankruptcy process for pennies on the dollar.

    Cons

    CEO only listens to his two "boys" that have worked for him for years. He plucked them from obscurity and they owe him everything and he knows it, so he exploits this relationship. There is no room for new ideas, no room for the "American" business structure this Canadian CEO took over. Pay is minimal, bonuses are purposely overblown and not achievable, and the bonus rules/plan changes constantly by the VP who can not easily communicate the actual structure. Lack of honesty or integrity of the partners brought in from Canada. Inappropriate relationships are blatant, accepted by HR. CEO uses his relationships with each player against the others in order to try to gain loyalty.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to those who know how to fix the business.

    YM Inc.2017-06-05
  7. "Okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YM Inc. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co workers Experience of being a manager without the title, or the salary. Nothing else to say, just need the 20 words required.

    Cons

    Low pay All company cares about is numbers, and how quickly they can replace people. Upper management, is fairly rude to employees. Unprofessional setting at the work place.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of your employees, they're are the ones that benefit you. Take care of everyone not just middle managers, which includes not only giving them bonuses. If things changes, maybe you won't have to close down so many stores, and all the other things happening in the company.

    YM Inc.2017-03-29
  8. "Fast growing low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Clifton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at YM Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work closely with store manager and district manager If you work hard it usually is recognized by managent, good discount, team enviroment, bonus programs

    Cons

    If you are not fully dedicated they will not bother with you, AWFUL pay would have loved to grow but cannot live off of $12.50

    Advice to Management

    Head office should spend a week trying to run a store based on what the expectations they give are with such tight payroll

    YM Inc.2017-02-11
  9. "Sales Associate Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at YM Inc.

    Pros

    Fun working environment Flexible shifts Great discount Busy work days

    Cons

    - Bad management - no clear tasks - informal managerial style

    Advice to Management

    Learn to be formal and actually like your job. Sometimes managers would spread negativity.

    YM Inc.2016-02-17
  10. "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Glen Oaks, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YM Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were great. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Company provides no incentives, they say there will be contests but when you win you receive absolutely nothing. There is also no room to move up within the company. You will only receive a raise if you get a promotion. Associates and management are overworked and not valued for the work that they provide.

    Advice to Management

    LEAVE!!

    YM Inc.2015-08-03
Found 173 reviews