YMCA "non profit" Reviews | Glassdoor

YMCA Employee Reviews about "non profit"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
YMCA CEO Kevin Washington
Kevin Washington
1,868 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Part time employment does not suit everyone(in 307 reviews)

  • "low wage due to it being a non profit organization(in 281 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "non profit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Chickasha YMCA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Chickasha, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely friendly staff and flexible hours

    Cons

    It’s a non-profit, so not too many hours are able to be distributed

    YMCA2019-05-29
  2. "Overall good, but a lot to work on still"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at YMCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Get a free membership - There are good employees there who are serious, but down to have fun and joke with each other - Do a lot of non-profit work that is great for the community - Management is trying to improve the work atmosphere

    Cons

    - Not paid enough for the amount of work put into the job - Management is constantly changing their mind about something after a decision has been made - There are a lot of people in director's positions that don't do work or anything to help the organization - If I had a ton of work to do, supervisor has no clue how to do the work we do and wouldn't be able to help pick up slack.

    Continue reading
    YMCA2019-11-12
  3. "Not a Bad Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Camp Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at YMCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like kids/are interested in youth development it a good job.

    Cons

    Miscommunication between supervisors and specialists were frequent. The training was pointless unless your kids were angels. The pay was low, but that happens when you work for a non-profit.

    YMCA2019-11-08
  4. "WORKING EVERY POSSIBLE POSITION WITH NO APPRECIATION OR PAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Allapattah, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YMCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting/interacting with different people of all ages.

    Cons

    I started off as a part-timer which it wasn't bad very flexible but once I transition to full-time, I automatically became a slave to the company. The Y has lost its identity and all it stood for; now its just a business stealing from families with over priced programs and memberships and are EXTREMELY low quality programming. They attract low income families with the false pretense of financial assistance when in reality they are being low balled (I would know, I was trained to subtract at least 10-15% of what their actual needed assistance it). The company has became a money driven business that is NO LONGER for the community. Upper management doesn't praise or even bother to acknowledge staff. I have been to multiple corporate meetings and training where senior directors, CEO, presidents, don't even bother to acknowledge your presence. The CEO, Sheryl Woods is just a "trophy" CEO for pictures and appearances; she has no actual knowledge of what the Y's core values are or what it really is to help those in need. Executives and managers take you and your work for granted; they only scold instead of helping you grow. There is DEFINITELY no growth within the company like they claim. Association rather hire someone from the outside, train them little to none, and set them up for failure so it is easier to blame their skills then what is ACTUALLY wrong with the toxic company. The salary is the absolute WORST!!! With the whole "non-profit" title they justify their low pay. You'll be over worked and under paid. It'll take 2-3 years for a 30 cent raise. Due to their poor treatment with employees, the company is ALWAYS under-staffed. However, when someone is finally hired it;ll take over 2 months to actually start because HR does absolutely NOTHING.

    Continue reading
    YMCA2019-10-23
  5. "Low pay for an all-around job title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthy Lifestyles Counselor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Get to meet many ppl from different backgrounds

    Cons

    -Low pay for a job that has so many responsibilities -Expensive memberships, not community-friendly costs -Not fulfilling the Non-profit role

    Continue reading
    YMCA2019-10-13
  6. "Pretty good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - YMCA Lifeguard 

    I worked at YMCA part-time

    Pros

    Nice people in a nice place

    Cons

    very low pay because they are non-profit

    Continue reading
    YMCA2019-09-20
  7. "Promotes a great, friendly, working atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teen and Youth Department in Stevens Point, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time

    Pros

    Free membership, very supportive and friendly staff

    Cons

    low wage due to it being a non profit organization

    YMCA2019-08-28
  8. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist 

    I worked at YMCA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues, non profit organization, promote within

    Cons

    No work life balance, expect a lot for little salary

    YMCA2019-08-16
  9. "Great place to learn not work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at YMCA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great programs and great experience to learn about non profit management

    Cons

    Poor management and growth opportunities are extremely limited

    Continue reading
    YMCA2019-07-18
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at YMCA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, supportive atmosphere, helping others achieve their goals.

    Cons

    Because it is non-profit the pay is lower than I need

    YMCA2019-06-07
Found 372 reviews
</>Embed