YMCA "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

YMCA Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
YMCA CEO Kevin Washington
Kevin Washington
1,868 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Part time employment does not suit everyone(in 307 reviews)

  • "low wage due to it being a non profit organization(in 281 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work with a good culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Coach 

    I have been working at YMCA part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and gratifying results from daily tasks.

    Cons

    Part time. Low Pay.

    YMCA2019-11-30
  2. "No raises or room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Services in Augusta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at YMCA part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free individual membership Flexible hours

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities No raises with no explanations Part time shifts Training is at minimal wage No internal promoting Low recognition

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees by doing some type of audit to ensure pay is equal to time and performance. Offer internal promotion and raises. Received only $2 over 12 year span of employment (no yearly raise, but you are yearly evaluated). Offer recognition.

    YMCA2019-11-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN

    I worked at YMCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Free gym membership Reasonable hours

    Cons

    Pay could be higher More benefits for part time staff

    YMCA2019-11-05
  5. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - YMCA Camp Counselor 

    I worked at YMCA part-time

    Pros

    Fun, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Not a career, good part time job.

    YMCA2019-11-07
  6. "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great company to work for part time

    Cons

    reasonable pay not exactly feasible income

    YMCA2019-10-19
  7. "YMCA Childcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preschool Teacher in Portland, OR
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The families and children were great, I enjoyed making an impact for them.

    Cons

    Working the maximum 39.5 hours a week so you don’t get any full time benefits. They offer part time plus benefits but it’s expensive for the amount you make an hour.

    Advice to Management

    Offer full time benefits for teachers and better communication at the time of hiring.

    YMCA2019-10-26
  8. "flexible and family orientated job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Engagement in La Crosse, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -great for a part time job -super friendly staff -great to build experience -vertical growth possible -interact with members of the community

    Cons

    -low wages -not a bad thing, but need to mentally prepare to interact with children with behavioral problems

    YMCA2019-09-28
  9. "be ready to be swept under the rug, underpaid, lied to, and shamed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Development Specialist in Grover Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to help kids who need help

    Cons

    everything else. Being paid minimum wage even with a college degree, promises for promotion that never happened, authoritarian female supervisors, supervisors that don't even the Y's own policies. I was part time and they ended up cutting my part time hours to give to a new hire just so they would take the job. Only work here if you are desperate and almost homeless

    Advice to Management

    Promote people within. Give raises when minimum wage goes up. Don't lie to your people. Fire supervisors who are bullies. Stop cutting people's hours and benefits. The top leadership is paid way too much. When I was there we had former HR manager and CFO quit for our local branch and then the CEO finally left ship too.

    YMCA2019-11-02
  10. "Very Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YMCA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly co workers, free gym membership

    Cons

    low pay but that is somewhat expect for entry level part time work

    YMCA2019-09-18
  11. "Demoralizing Place Where Incompetence Rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at YMCA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Members when they're not throwing their money, or weight around to get what they want.

    Cons

    Only a handful of employees will ever be full time. Part time employees making minimum wage are expected to donate money out of their checks to United Way, work fundraisers for free and donate items out of their own money for free for events and threatened with punitive action if you don't. Zero opportunities for advancement and raises. Employees are brought into the manager's office and called out loudly for... "mistakes" with the door open to the lobby so that all other employees and customers can hear and know that they are being put in their place. This humiliation ends when the employee finally cries. Many employees have gone decades without raises. Patriarchal environment in which men are promoted, and management opportunities are given based on who you know, not what you know. Management does not have a business background yet leads a multi-million dollar facility. This is demonstrated in their violation of employment laws and ignorance of employee management skills.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Educate yourselves about basic business principles, especially in the areas of human resource management and employment law. Treat employees with respect.

    YMCA2019-10-23
Found 471 reviews
</>Embed