YP Reviews | Glassdoor

YP Reviews

Updated January 22, 2018
1,481 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
YP Chief Executive Officer Jared Rowe
Jared Rowe
140 Ratings

1,481 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • PTO time is great, work/life balance is great (in 85 reviews)

  • supportive managers that help you achieve your goals, cares about customers, good benefits, cutting edge (in 65 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management before the take-over was viewed negatively by virtually everyone (in 58 reviews)

  • Difficulty finding time to sell because of all the office work on the sales reps plates (in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "Change in Our Industry is inevitable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Reno, NV
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YP full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There are two things I know for sure:
    1.You can't change the direction of the wind, but you must adjust your sails to reach your destination.
    2. It's not the strongest of species that survive, nor the most intelligent. It is the one that is most adaptable to change that survives.

    I have been with this company through many phases for the last 17 years. Prior to that I was self employed for 16 years. At fist I have to admit I felt guilty for all the opportunity and pay that was available for those willing to roll up their sleeves and work. Being self employed for years that is all you get to do and you can't turn it off and go home when the bell rings at 6.
     Yes we have had challenges moving from a print centric model to a digital and print but we are doing it and now with more direction than in the past. Many companies trying the same have not done near as well. We have world class products that deliver a solid cost per lead that help SMB's grow their businesses.
    I have had friends and colleagues leave YP in search of greener pastures only after 6 months reach out and want to come back. It is a great place to work, if you want to work!
    Just remember the grass may be greener on the other side , however, it is not any easier to mow.
    We have an exciting future and great leadership team in place to lead us where we need to go.
     We own the best print products and online yellow pages hands down - so bundling those with our other offerings makes it exciting to get in front of clients and share the opportunities to grow their businesses!
    Thank You YP!

    Cons

    Honestly? Compared to the challenges you will face in the digital arena if that is where you are choosing to work, there are none.

    Advice to Management

    We are moving in the right direction! Thanks for your continued support.

    YP Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – Company Employee

    The voice of our employees is extremely important to us. Thank you so much for your feedback. We are listening.


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at YP full-time

    Pros

    The compensation package and leadership was great.

    Cons

    Since the acquisition, most of the leaders I knew are gone. Cannot speak to current management style.

    Advice to Management

    People are your greatest asset, stay focused on keeping them engaged.

    YP Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

  3. "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at YP full-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Bad management, no room for growth. Questionable ethics

    Advice to Management

    Value employee and listen

    YP Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    We hate to know that you feel this way. Thank you for your feedback.


  4. "OUTDOOR SALES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YP full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company for learning outbound and inbound sales

    Cons

    was micro managed but over all great energy and company with good products

    YP Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review.


  5. "Dex YP company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Detroit, MI
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YP (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very good print and digital marketing advertising products

    Cons

    Management unconcerned about employees training needs

    Advice to Management

    Recognize wood employees are in need of Advanced Training

    YP Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Employee feedback is vital toward the growth of any company. Thank you for sharing.


  6. "Good company if you want it enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at YP full-time

    Pros

    Great perks and even better bonuses.

    Cons

    Really heavy emphasis on bringing in new business. Very hard to sell the product.

    Advice to Management

    Interact with sales staff a little more

    YP Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your voice. We're listening.


  7. "It was good while it lasted .."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at YP full-time

    Pros

    Dex Media didn't waste time acquiring all media companies

    Cons

    Let go of old staff

    YP Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for contributions made to the company.

  8. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at YP full-time

    Pros

    The comission was pretty good

    Cons

    Micromanaged a lot and didnt like it

    Advice to Management

    Keep Good People


  9. "Sales Wxecutive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Dayton, OH
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at YP full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    No max on earning potential.

    Cons

    Weak Leadership at the local level.

    YP Response

    Jan 22, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for your years of service!


  10. "Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Florida, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Florida, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YP (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits including 401 K match.

    Cons

    Company was bought by Dex Media

    YP Response

    Jan 22, 2018 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for 8+ years of committed service!


Showing 1,481 of 1,527 reviews
Reset Filters