Yahoo Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Yahoo Intern Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Yahoo CEO
3 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I worked at Yahoo

    Pros

    Great people, great leadership, lots of perks like gym and food

    Cons

    was far away from home, but that is obviously dependent on the person

    Yahoo2019-07-09
  2. "Yahoo is what IBM was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PM Intern 

    I have been working at Yahoo for less than a year

    Pros

    Great food. Great work. Good product.

    Cons

    Too intense. Management needs to chill.

    Yahoo2019-08-06
  3. "Technical Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice company, people and work. Professional and relaxed

    Cons

    limited choices of lunch food

    Yahoo2018-09-23
  4. "Sick Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits with very friendly people

    Cons

    Slightly unprofessional atmosphere, predominantly male

    Yahoo2017-10-02
  5. "Technical intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Intern in Sunnyvale, CA

    I worked at Yahoo

    Pros

    food is good, only two round interview

    Cons

    less than average salary and do one project in company

    Yahoo2017-09-17
  6. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo for less than a year

    Pros

    Awsome perks and benefits, tough and challenging problems to solve.

    Cons

    Some teams are not that great, and can sometimes have lots of politics

    Advice to Management

    Remove the politics, focus on employees and giving them the freedom to work on things!

    Yahoo2017-06-03
  7. "Comfy but slow-paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful colleagues, great free food, beautiful campus

    Cons

    Slow-paced, bureaucratic, lacking in agility in spite of all the buzzwords being thrown about

    Yahoo2017-02-05
  8. "Summer Intership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is pretty good. Nice working environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes it is a bit noisy for working.

    Yahoo2017-01-06
  9. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo for less than a year

    Pros

    Interns get to work directly with the full-time employees and get a real feel of how full timers work.

    Cons

    I think a significant con would be the general lack of innovation from the company. People may not be connected to their products.

    Advice to Management

    Think of products that are significantly different from whatever exists in the market today and innovate instead of building apps that are already dominated by other companies.

    Yahoo2016-10-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Had a really good time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo

    Pros

    The intern experience can vary widely depending on what team you're on. I was lucky enough to be placed in a team with: - Really fun people who I'd hang out with outside of work - Challenging, meaningful work > High user impact > Large revenue generator for Yahoo - Chill managers who still had high expectations In general: - Free food breakfast/lunch/dinner - Decently fun intern events - Gaming PCs...

    Show More

    Cons

    - We all know Yahoo's in some kind of mess right now - Perks are being slowly cut (food quality, swag, events, etc.) - You really only get to know the interns who work on your floor

    Yahoo2016-10-17
Found 64 reviews