Yahoo Reviews | Glassdoor

Yahoo Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3385 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Yahoo CEO
129 Ratings
  1. "Known as Verizon Media in 2019, Oath in 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo

    Pros

    Free lunch. Macbook for work. Read more on teamblind dot com.

    Cons

    layoffs, too much paper trails to target relatively low performance, internal politics, inflated titles, poor revenue, declining real users, smart people already left for bigger companies.

    Advice to Management

    Have a flat hierarchy in each of engineering, management, executives, recruiting and sales.

    Yahoo2019-04-17
  2. "Brilliant intentions while merging long-time iconic brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior CRM Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An organization with a great mix of young driven-energy and wise-experienced know-how. A few senior leaders in product marketing had a great tenacity for business growth, balancing legacy challenges while taking steps to innovate and leverage technology to improve customer response.

    Cons

    Merging Yahoo and AOL brands proved challenging as the attention turned-up politics and competition in an unhealthy way. Dated tech stack didn't allow for nimble and timely innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize the product road map that will enable retained happy customers, increasing active and lifetime use.

    Yahoo2019-04-02
  3. "Bitter sweet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising Account Representative in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and people. Best years of my work Life. Fostered a culture of learning and fun

    Cons

    Can’t believe what it has become. There was so much miss management. The products were not packaged and sold correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t let the legacy die

    Yahoo2019-03-16
  4. "STILL Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits (free food), shuttle, pay, life-work balance

    Cons

    Products still need to be advertised to gain traffic. Too many chances with management

    Yahoo2019-03-14
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 

    I have been working at Yahoo full-time

    Pros

    Come to work any time just as long as meetings are attended.

    Cons

    The food is found outside in the courtyard

    Yahoo2019-03-13
  6. "Not a technology company anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Yahoo - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    stable, friendly, beautiful campus, free food

    Cons

    mobility, no stock option, low morale

    Yahoo2019-03-27
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yahoo full-time

    Pros

    Good team to be working with

    Cons

    Not much of development work

    Yahoo2019-03-11
  8. "na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great experience in terms of developing and testing systems on large dataset

    Cons

    takes time for techniques to move from testing env to full fledged deployment

    Yahoo2019-03-19
  9. "WorkLifeBalance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free lunch and gym. Good technology.

    Cons

    No focus on company vision

    Yahoo2019-03-01
  10. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Yahoo full-time

    Pros

    pay was good, I had lots of vacation time

    Cons

    work life balance was poor

    Yahoo2019-02-28
Found 3385 reviews