Yahoo Reviews | Glassdoor

Yahoo Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3689 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Yahoo CEO
147 Ratings
  1. "Awesome people, mediocre work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Video Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and awesome rates with a lot of consistent work.

    Cons

    Some of the producers have far less experience than they should which can be frustrating. Nonetheless, a really great position for a contractor.

    Advice to Management

    Working with less-than-sophisticated producers can be a real pain, though I give them credit for trying.

    Yahoo2019-04-15
  2. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-I 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work culture, growth based on ownership and contribution

    Cons

    Management could have been better

    Yahoo2019-04-26
  3. "Rewarding, exciting and collaborative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge work, fantastic culture of inclusion and collaboration, impact on huge customer base

    Cons

    Instability in management; Lack of market capture

    Yahoo2019-04-10
  4. "No contractor conversion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Playa Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo

    Pros

    Free lunch, good pay, there are some truly good people ... cons sadly outweigh the pros

    Cons

    - no conversion of contractors who are valuable members of the team. - no rewards for good work, the team is mostly NY based, if you are in the LA office you are often forgotten about - upper management picks favorites and if you are not one of them... good luck - lots of layoffs (multiple acquisitions in 2 years -- Oath, then Verizon) - no benefits or 401k if you are a contractor - no one really feels safe, lots...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See value in an LA team. Stop favoring only a few people. Don't make empty promises to bring on contractors full time if you are just going to let them go. It's sad to have to leave a place where I like what I am working on and like my team, but I can't stay where I am not valued for my work.

    Yahoo2019-04-22
  5. "Best company to work for until bought by Verizon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture was supportive, inspiring and not micromanaged.

    Cons

    after the acquisition, Yahoo became just another corporate cold environment

    Yahoo2019-04-06
  6. "I love my company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yahoo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and very good 401K plan and health care benefits

    Cons

    Remote management . Executive staff is in remote ( east coast)

    Advice to Management

    Move head quarters to Sunnyvale so that we can bring back excellence

    Yahoo2019-04-05
  7. "Known as Verizon Media in 2019, Oath in 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo

    Pros

    Free lunch. Macbook for work. Read more on teamblind dot com.

    Cons

    layoffs, too much paper trails to target relatively low performance, internal politics, inflated titles, poor revenue, declining real users, smart people already left for bigger companies.

    Advice to Management

    Have a flat hierarchy in each of engineering, management, executives, recruiting and sales.

    Yahoo2019-04-17
  8. "Brilliant intentions while merging long-time iconic brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior CRM Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An organization with a great mix of young driven-energy and wise-experienced know-how. A few senior leaders in product marketing had a great tenacity for business growth, balancing legacy challenges while taking steps to innovate and leverage technology to improve customer response.

    Cons

    Merging Yahoo and AOL brands proved challenging as the attention turned-up politics and competition in an unhealthy way. Dated tech stack didn't allow for nimble and timely innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Prioritize the product road map that will enable retained happy customers, increasing active and lifetime use.

    Yahoo2019-04-02
  9. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Yahoo for more than a year

    Pros

    Best at work Provides good environment

    Cons

    Always look into the work which creates issues sometimes

    Yahoo2019-04-02
  10. "Bitter sweet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising Account Representative in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yahoo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and people. Best years of my work Life. Fostered a culture of learning and fun

    Cons

    Can’t believe what it has become. There was so much miss management. The products were not packaged and sold correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t let the legacy die

    Yahoo2019-03-16
Found 3689 reviews