KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yapstone

Is this your company?

Yapstone

Add a Review

Yapstone Employee Reviews about "close to bart"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 295 reviews

3.1
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Yapstone Chief Executive Officer Frank Mastrangelo
Frank Mastrangelo
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am optimistic about where Yapstone is and where it is going(in 56 reviews)

  • "Close to Bart and freeway in WC(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Yapstone treats its employees with so much disrespect(in 41 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making on the part of upper management and bad breaks from the travel industry and overall economy doomed this company(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    929

    88 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "close to bart"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Contractor

      Great group of people

      Aug 19, 2016 - Anonymous Contractor in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Collaborative environment - Interview process is seamless , the team left a great first impression - Leadership team is committed to take things to the next level - Office is conveniently located, close to BART& freeway - Employee morale

      Cons

      There is no company out there that does not have growing pains, a lit bit more process in place would just elevate things to the next level.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Stay away from this mess of a company

      Jun 6, 2019 - Anonymous in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work life balance -Close to Bart

      Cons

      -They’re probably gearing up for a sale; they sold off a major portion of the company with no transparency to the employees, and it's increasingly clear they're getting ready to sell the rest of it soon -No equity or annual bonus unless you are at Director level. I'm sure there are a few exceptions but I haven't heard of any in my 2 years here. -No opportunity for growth. -It seems like their biggest client is getting ready to leave them

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful

      Yapstone Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for providing your inputs. At Yapstone, we strive to create a great working environment where people can do their best work. Based on your perspectives, it appears this may not be the case for you. We prefer to address employee concerns through constructive internal dialogue rather than through social media posts. In reviewing your comments, it appears that you have made some assumptions and may be reacting without accurate information or certain context that would aid in your understanding. I would like to share some of that context with you. Yapstone is gearing up for a great future! In March, we held a company-wide town hall meeting and explained that – as part of our efforts to better focus our business – we launched an operating partnership for a portfolio of contracts and licensed a platform, but that we would also continue to provide debit and credit processing services for PRET, an entity in which we have an ownership interest. Of course, Yapstone won’t be posting its exciting future plans here but shares business updates in our all hands or via YapZone. However, in regards to our business, we continue to develop our sales team and to pursue new opportunities with our growing sales team, which is hiring, to expand into a variety of marketplaces while also maintaining a working partnership with HomeAway and their parent company, Expedia, and other new marketplaces with which we have closed deals. In regards to the employee compensation practices you raised, we are not sure how you can comment on merit increase, number of employees who have left the organization or how equity grants are implemented when not having visibility to that data. It is absolutely not true that 30 employees have left in the past month. We are experiencing industry average attrition and manage compensation based on performance and departmental budgets, seeking to ensure that employees are fairly compensated with a compensation range based on industry research. The voice of our employees is what has provided us many of the transformation tools & experiences we have in our work place. For example, our intranet, YapZone, was created from employee feedback. Revising a more transparent and inclusive performance management process was a result of employee feedback. Yapcares social hours where our employees come together at social hour to do group activities for homeless initiatives was developed from employee feedback. Yapstone leaders very much value employee feedback and put that feedback into use daily. During my 4 years at Yapstone, I have never seen an employee receive negative consequences for raising concerns or providing feedback in an appropriate fashion. In fact, through Yap Awards and other tools, we have celebrated and rewarded employees who take the next step and brings forward solutions on how to improve business process and the work experience. I encourage you, if you wish to constructively address your concerns, to engage in a discussion with any member of the senior leadership team or to email culture@yapstone.com

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Can't Stop This

      Jan 14, 2016 - Bean Counter (Accounting) in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, who enjoy a challenge. Hard workers who also have fun together. Good perks for H+B, 401-K match, weekly breakfast, weekly happy hours, and snacks-on-snacks. Close to Bart and freeway in WC. Opening a SF office soon, but everyone knows WC is the place to be. The payments industry changes constantly, YapStone gives you the opportunity to grow your career within a growing industry. No matter the role, you have a voice to impact the product or process. There are lots of room for advancement and growth as the company continues to smash annual revenue projections. Over the last 3 years I have seen a lot of change, growth and innovation. We currently have the best leaders in place and are getting stronger each day. Communication is at an all-time high and the plan could not be more clear. This company will never stop moving forward, I can not wait to see what challenges are around the next corner.

      Cons

      Company is going through some growing pains. Not enough policies to streamline operations, room to improve in our process. Many manual processes that need to be automated.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Candidates Beware!

      Nov 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to bart. Thursdays social hour and 3 days dinner. Great Product/Engineering lead with solid vision. But cons out weigh pros.

      Cons

      Highly disconnected CEO. Recent same day layoffs. Ready for another round? High employee turnover due to variety of reasons like poor immigration handling by HR, dumb execs, old school business team, finger pointing engineers, disconnected teams. 30% poor compensation compared to market. People quitting everyday.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Starting to see progress

      Dec 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      close to BART, great snacks, 401K match (finally), very good people, gym membership, stock options, happy hours, company picnic and company holiday party, free parking for employees who drive, casual environment, monthly all-company meetings - keep those up. highlighting employees every month.

      Cons

      some turnover this year created conflict, more paid holidays, not enough lunches brought in for employees.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Yapstone Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the progress that is being made at YapStone! It's a great company and a fantastic place for folks to expand their career. It's great to see our employees taking the time to provide their positive experiences and recommendations for improvement. Thank you!

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Yapification is not helping

      Feb 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Every day is a new challenge. Close to BART. Beer is served on Thursday afternoons. Some room for advancement, if you stay at the company.

      Cons

      Every day is a new challenge. However, more often than not obstacles are ones that could have been circumvented with better planning. Oppressive branding. The prefix Yap- is in front of everything. This might be appealing to some employees (aka Yapsters) but I find the practice somewhat juvenile. Working remote is not permitted. Attrition rate is high. I've watched plenty of great employees become disgruntled and leave. Few employees stay for more than a year or two. Managers seem to let politics and egos get in the way of solutions to simple problems.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Yapstone Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your feedback. I've been with the company for about 18 months as the Chief People Officer. Since you are a current employee, I encourage you to come speak with me directly so I can learn more about your concerns and we can discuss solutions. As you know, the leadership team is committed to continuing to enhance our great place to work culture. We have made a lot of significant changes in the company over the last year and a half: implemented pulse surveys, launched an intranet, launched YapU for employee development, launched management training & the "manager toolbox", launched 401(k) match, launched pension match in Ireland, revamped & enhanced our global benefits, launched employee self service, launched monthly all hands where we have peer recognition and there is more! But, at the end of the day, it's not just "what" we do, but it's "how" we do it that really has the most impact on the culture. The "how" refers to the values you mention. Values are our behaviors. At Yapstone, we are committed to treating each other with dignity and respect, being passionate about customer excellence (both with our external and internal customers) and to be passionate about what we do. Through our transparent communications we show we trust the employees and have a high level of integrity. Counter to your perceptions, our voluntary attrition rate has decreased to within industry norms the last year and a half. In addition, over 50% of our employees have been here greater than 2 years. This isn't surprising given that in 2016 we doubled the size of the company to over 400 employees globally. I'm not sure what department you work in, but we do have employees who telecommute and have a policy in place. Telecommuting is dependent on the nature of the role, whether the business can accommodate an out of office worker and the capabilities of the employee. I'd encourage you to discuss this option with your manager. We are working hard to constantly enhance the work environment and I'd value your input. Please send me more recommendations at culture@yapstone.com Thank you!!

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A movie comes true

      Jul 24, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to Bart (across the street), the only reason they may attract you to come to their game. What game? see below.

      Cons

      I remember long time ago, I saw a Japanese movie in which a group of people went to an island and the rule of the game was to kill one person each day. That is exactly what has been happening here. On my first workday, I had a question, the company has been over 15 years, but why so hard to find a person worked for 3 years. I should have said 2 years because I didn’t find one initially, and that was also a tough same question for the rest because they are all new. After few months, my rough observation is that 50% disappeared (for whatever reasons) less than 1 year, 30% after 1 year, 20% after 2 years. So there may be less than 1% over 3 years because of the inaccuracy of my observation. People said it is messy in this company, you would see the management team is consistently changing like a repeating cycle. I saw all my seniors left one by one, the president, VP, director, manager in sequence within 4 months. I happened like a living movie.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Do yourself a favor, and stay away from this company!

      Sep 3, 2015 - Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      --Friendly coworkers who are willing to help. --Free breakfast on every Wednesday (Note: no free breakfast on the rest workdays, no free lunches, no free dinners). --Close to Bart ( 2 blocks away, 10 minutes walking). --Free basic 24 hour gym membership (no access to 24 hour super sport center). --401K without matching. --15 PTO days.

      Cons

      --no work from home days, unless you have a medical reason or emergency, and needs approval from managers. --must come to work before 9:00 am every day (standup meeting starts at 9am in lobby, so if you are late, enjoy your walk of shame into the office), and leave work no earlier than 5:00 pm. --engineering directors expect engineers to work after business hours, which result in over time working constantly. ( do not go home until you tasks are complete). There were 2 rounds of lay-offs, and both lay-offs have given no advanced notices, so it was a shock to everyone in the company. After seeing many fellow coworkers had been laid off, I decided to quit. The executive management team has zero transparency. Every engineer came to work in fear of being laid off every day. It is absolutely a nightmare to work in the office.

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful

      Yapstone Response

      Chief People Officer

      We appreciate you providing your inputs. In April a new CTO joined YapStone to scale the engineering organization. In doing so, new engineering disciplines and metrics have been established. We release code daily now vs. prior to the new CTO we released about every 4-6 weeks. We have our stand-up meeting at 9am to ensure that everyone starts the day on the same page. For some engineers who got into the habit of coming in very late or never showing up in the office; working from home 5 days a week, this change is uncomfortable. However, it is a new discipline that is helping us to increase our quality and timeliness of releases and has been well received by most employees. If you have more recommendations for areas of improvement, please send them to culture@yapstone.com

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cultural Suicide

      Aug 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great CEO & President - Great HR Function - Great Individual Contributors (Lot to learn from them) - Challenging work - Company is in transition period, great opportunity to learn if you are in the right group and with the right people. - Close to BART! - Free snacks, weekly social hours, company all-hands YapStone could really be a 4 star company but turning into 2 star company because of some repetitive mistakes!

      Cons

      YapStone's company culture runs like a Snakes & Ladders game where as ladders are the great employees and snakes are part of exec level management - CTO and his minions that came from Western Union. Now, let's get into Before & After Facts! Before this CTO joined - YapStone just recovered from the damage done by our ex-CTO. The CEO, President & HR committed to improve the company culture and they have been significantly successful. While there are exceptions, employees are highly valued in most teams in the organization. After CTO joined - Within few weeks, CTO hired his minions from his past company Western Union in the roles of VPs and Directors. All these people were hired without proper interviews or with some nominal interviews. Most of these people are not worth what they are hired for. They act like they control the company, and talk down of the current systems & current employees. Hello, the company has been running successfully for 18 years! Leave your crowns in the parking garage, and come out of your past and contribute for company's growth if you have anything to chip in. Apart from this, there is very high employee attrition rate in the company. Big politics in a relatively small company that creates high levels of frustration to Individual contributors. Compensation is not competitive compared to similar companies in Bay Area! Career development or promotions depend on the group you are in or how good you are with your manager.

      Continue reading
      41 people found this review helpful

      Yapstone Response

      Chief People Officer

      I do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. However, I am concerned that your comments referring to “fact” are actually not factual. I value your perceptions of the company, and encourage you to come talk to me directly since you are still an employee of Yapstone and seem to be engaged to want YapStone to continue to be a great place to work. I’m the Chief People Officer and have been with Yapstone for almost 2 years leading our cultural transformation. As you acknowledged, a lot of work and energy has transformed Yapstone into what over 75% of our employees on our June 2017 employee survey stated as being a place they are very satisfied to be working at. Yet, you stated that our technology attrition is high. Actually, that is not accurate. Our attrition rate is trending the lowest it has ever been and is under the industry norm of 18-20%. You also raised concerns about the new CTO bringing in only his leadership team which impacts long term employees. Unfortunately, this is also an inaccurate statement. He has 6 direct reports and 2 are new hires while the other 4 are leaders have been with the company prior to the CTO joining. Also, there have been over 25 technology hires since our new CTO joined who have no association with him. What I personally found disheartening is that you state we didn’t have an interview process for any of these new hires. I own the interview process and drive the implementation of it. All candidates have had interviews with a minimum of 4 people prior to any offer being extended. Again, I don’t know where your data is coming from but I hope you see that we do have processes that we follow. Our new CTO is a very compassionate leader who very much cares about the personal development of each technology employee. Since his joining we have implemented new technologies in addition to monthly rewards and recognition programs. I understand that the change of leadership can be difficult for some, yet, we hire people who have experience not only in their technical areas of expertise, but their people leadership abilities too. Our CTO is committed to not only building the most innovative payment technologies on the plant, but to lead and develop the best technology talent. I encourage you to come and talk to me directly with your concerns, or to provide further feedback to culture@yapstone.com

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The worst company I've ever worked for.

      Apr 4, 2017 - Software Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Snacks, happy Fridays and close to BART.

      Cons

      I have been in this company for less than two years. YapStone is a low-tech company and don't know how to handle its high-tech department, engineering section. As a consequence, the management is in chaos. I have seen three Engineering VPs(some time called CTO). The management are clueless, so they monitor employee like in a slave house. Employee are asked to write daily report for what they are doing. Schedule planning has to be in granularity in a daily base, sometime even in detail into half-day. The management is like a headless chicken, just running without a direction. CEO keeps saying that we are hiring like crazy in monthly all hand meeting, but the fact is that the turnaround rate is irrational. It could not keep talent employee and the company is like a training campus for new hiring. And there came the position, CPO(chief people officer) which is rare in other companies.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful

      Yapstone Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your inputs on Glassdoor. It's unfortunate that your experience at Yapstone was counter to our current employees' experiences and that you and I didn't have a chance to work through your concerns while you were an employee. I am the Chief People Officer that you reference in your comments. I joined the company 18 months ago to assist in the hyper growth and organizational transformation that comes with an organization that is scaling as fast as Yapstone. In the year and half that I have been here, we have doubled the size of the company and are over 400 employees worldwide. In the last 12 months, we have averaged about 20 new hires a month announced and recognized at our monthly all hands meetings. Counter to your opinion about attrition, our voluntary attrition rate has reduced since I have joined the company and runs within industry average. We have a complete leadership team of industry experts who have lead within organizations such as PayPal, FirstData, Western Union Digital, Merchant e-Solutions, BlackHawk Networks, WorldPay and Bank of America. These are industry leaders in payments fully committed to lead Yapstone to the next stage of our journey to revolutionize the payments industry. Our leaders are focused and transparent on the product roadmap for the technology organization. We have technology governance meetings weekly where key stakeholders participate to manage expectations and delivery to commitments on the roadmap. There are monthly technical all hands to review the roadmap, discuss cross functional projects and answer questions. In addition, we launched "lunch and learn" sessions that occur monthly where product leaders and technologist discuss projects they are working to enhance learning and transparency. All these sessions are recorded and placed on YapU, our online employee development site, on YapZone, our intranet. Yapstone is a company that is clear on its goals for 2017 and have consistently communicated our direction to our employees in a variety of ways. We have a management team who are focused and aligned to deliver on the goals which includes continuing to see unprecedented global business growth while enhancing our great place to work culture. If you have more data you would like to share regarding your experiences at Yapstone, please send them to culture@yapstone.com Thank you!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Yapstone Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Yapstone? Share Your Experiences

    or