Cover image for Yapstone
Logo

Yapstone

Engaged Employer

Yapstone

Add a Review

Yapstone Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated Jan 7, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 315 of over 315 reviews
3.1
44% Recommend to a Friend
Yapstone Chief Executive Officer Frank Mastrangelo
30% Approve of CEO

Found 31 of over 315 reviews

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Yapstone Chief Executive Officer Frank Mastrangelo
Frank Mastrangelo
15 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

2m

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

39

12 Comments

Finance

140K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Yapstone~349726
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Yapstone? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Yapstone employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Yikes!

    Aug 13, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good snacks and good coffee

    Cons

    Everything else not mentioned in the 'pro' section. The company had good people in place on the management team and then got rid of them. The CEO needs to leave and have the good people take over. Don't get me wrong, there are definitely SOME good people on the management team. The CEOs passion for his company is outweighing the good for his company.

    16 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Work

    Jun 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people and good for experience !

    Cons

    They definitely pay below the average

    5 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Yapstone team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Headed in the right direction

    Oct 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has hired the right senior leaders and is focused on fixing its shortcomings. I've only worked here for a short time, but other employees feel the same way. The culture is fun and casual - almost like a throwback to the dotcom boom era. We've just moved into a new office building, so the crowding that some people had mentioned on Glassdoor is a thing of the past. The new office space feels open and modern and has some nice touches. The company has stated they've fixed their salary structure to make it more competitive and I can attest to that. My salary is definitely comparable to what other companies would pay for my position. There are some really good people who work here and everyone has a positive attitude. The employees are dedicated to making this a great place to work.

    Cons

    The recent turnover of senior leaders and disgruntled employees has left some knowledge gaps and created a little disorganization, but these are necessary growing pains.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not the same anymore....

    Aug 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some - good People to work with. - Paycheck - Location close to BART - Breakfast and happy-hour every week

    Cons

    The company was beginning to march in the right direction until a slew of Management departures earlier this year. Morale is pretty low and there is almost no transparency on the direction the company is heading. Attrition rate is increasing

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful

    Yapstone Response

    Chief People Officer

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments. We agree with you that the company is changing, however, we believe it is improving upon the great foundation that was established with past management. Since you posted your comments, we have hired a President and I have joined as Chief People Officer to help enhance our culture and have us evolve into a truly great company. We know that communication is the foundation for successful organizations and we have made a commitment to our employees that we will have a company all hands every 30 days. Through consistent and timely communication we can ensure that all employees are aligned to our business direction and know the focus for the company. If you have more recommendations on how to enhance our employees’ experience at YapStone, please email culture@yapstone.com

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Yapstone has gone downhill since the new CTO joined.

    Jul 22, 2015 - Engineer in Walnut, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Yapstone is a good platform, and there are many smart people working hard everyday. Many product teams servicing different products, e.g. mobile, international business, vacation homes etc.

    Cons

    Yapstone has gone downhill since the new CTO Daniel Issen has joined. The nicest way to put him is that he is a genius jerk, period. He manipulates everyone who works under him. Engineering managers and top executives have been quitting since he joined. He basically turned this place to a sweat shop. One example would be: everyone has to come to work before 9:00 am. There is a meeting scheduled every morning with your respect managers every morning, so you can't really miss it. And nobody is allowed to work from home.

    Continue reading
    44 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Nice place but No Vision

    Jan 7, 2021 - Principal Group PM Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good People in general who are helpful

    Cons

    No vision from the leadership especially the previous CEO

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Literally a "sweat shop".

    Nov 28, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can walk to BART in 5 minutes from the Walnut Creek office.

    Cons

    I saw some pretty 'guano-esque' stuff go on while working here. Here's some of it; hope it helps: The air conditioning was turned off on the weekends to save money when the officers and management typically weren't there. Customer service personnel answered phones in sweltering summer Walnut Creek heat and stale air in other seasons (same in SF, but not as bad). Whether this is still the case or not isn't the point; the same people that allowed that to happen are still in charge of this company. Yearly reviews are not handled on time, and there is no rule they have to be... so don't count on that raise. But don't worry, you probably won't there be long enough to get one. If you think conversations you have with HR about your health or work status are confidential, you'll need to think differently while working at YapStone. HR might not discuss these issues with your fellow coworkers, but there's a good chance your departmental officer will. Why? Well... you won't be making enough money to justify your workload or the impact on your personal life, so expect 'encouragement' in ways you've never seen before (especially from one officer). If the manipulation doesn't work, be aware that YapStone favors the stick, not the carrot. Your job will be threatened and/or taken for ridiculous reasons with little to no warning. Fear, particularly in the Engineering department, is a primary motivation tool once manipulation fails. If you do happen to put enough time into the office to get noticed, you might get a bottle of nice tequila... but don't expect much more than that. At least the tequila will go down well with your new friends you met after your wife kicked your butt onto the street for being derelict in your household duties. However... if you are the 'perfect' YapStone type and you put in 80-hour weeks for months on end performing miracles, you might be rewarded by being dragged in front of the company and given a $5,000 bonus! Wooo Hoooo !!!! /s Most people won't put up with these conditions for long, so they leave and pass their massive workload on to already overburdened and underpaid coworkers who are not given additional compensation. The vicious cycle continues, affecting other departments. Morale sinks. Good people go away. What a mess! You could, of course, complain to HR... but here's the catch (besides getting fired): YapStone doesn't have a dedicated HR person, as of this review post date. They didn't for most of the time I worked there, and they don't now. It is my guess that the last Human Resources professional didn't want to be associated with this company, and they're having a difficult time getting a new one that will put up with the revolving door and the backlog. How would you feel speaking with someone, who isn't Human Resources, about your HR issues? I think that's a fairly good gauge for how you'll feel at YapStone... uncomfortable.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Very demanding place to work

    Jul 20, 2011 -  in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company has some really good people to work with.

    Cons

    Too demanding no accountability need better management

    9 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Would Not Recommend

    Oct 9, 2019 - Underwriter in Drogheda
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of the people working there are great. The people doing the work bring a good atmosphere to the place. I had a good relationship with numerous people across various departments. For me personally, it was in a great location. This is relative to each person however with others living closer or further away.

    Cons

    More or less everything else. If you have a second language, you are bullet proof. People that do far less work, at an extremely poor quality, can continue to coast by with little to no effort. While people that consistently go the extra mile get absolutely nothing to show for it and see then just expected to do more and more work. When they don't then, it becomes an issue. QA is non existent. There is 0 QA done across many departments. This leans in to what I said above. People can consistently do a terrible job and nothing is done about it. Even when you report it, nothing gets done. There are 0 bonuses or incentives also. Leadership is very poor. Very little of feedback you give gets taken into account, they aren't anywhere near as transparent as they think they are. There's constant misinformation and more or less lies told to employees. They pretend to care about the people working for them but the constant tone deaf announcements, treatment of staff, below average salary and other factors prove otherwise. The business is on a downward trend at the moment with staff leaving for various reasons. I cannot recommend working here.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Underwriter

    Jan 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people and they gave us a lot of food

    Cons

    Awful management that helped personal friends rather then promoting people who actual work hard

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Yapstone Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yapstone? Share Your Experiences

Yapstone logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Yapstone Photos

+ Add Photo
Yapstone photo of: Yapstone - Tenth anniversary in Ireland
Yapstone photo of: Yapstone - Tenth anniversary in Ireland
Yapstone photo of: Yapstone - Tenth anniversary in Ireland
Yapstone photo of: Yapstone - Tenth anniversary in Ireland
Yapstone photo of: Yapstone - Tenth anniversary in Ireland
Yapstone photo of: Yapstone - Tenth anniversary in Ireland
Yapstone photo of: 2016 Company Picnic
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Yapstone Job Seekers Also Viewed

Workday Logo
Workday

4.3

2,899 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 315 Yapstone reviews submitted anonymously by Yapstone employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Yapstone is right for you.