KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yapstone

Is this your company?

Yapstone

Add a Review

Yapstone Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 295 reviews

3.1
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Yapstone Chief Executive Officer Frank Mastrangelo
Frank Mastrangelo
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am optimistic about where Yapstone is and where it is going(in 56 reviews)

  • "Close to Bart and freeway in WC(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Yapstone treats its employees with so much disrespect(in 41 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making on the part of upper management and bad breaks from the travel industry and overall economy doomed this company(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    929

    88 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Change is on the way

      Apr 4, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I came here after reading the Glassdoor reviews because I believed that the company has potential to become something amazing. I wanted to be at a place where I could make a difference and in the time that I've been here, I came for the right reason. In the time that I have been here, I have seen senior leaders try to bring positive change to the company. The company is currently undergoing a re-brand, which should help send the message that YapStone is trying very hard to change it's old reputation. Although the hours are long, this is not a high pressure environment or a workhorse factory. Many people are given projects that allow them autonomy and independence and many of us manage our time as we please, without micromanagement. I enjoy the people I work with and have found that most people are very bright and want to help the company grow.

      Cons

      A lot of the disgruntled reviews have come from people who have been loyal to the company and not been rewarded. Upper management could definitely take time to have current employees feel as valued as incoming new employees.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor upper management

      Sep 28, 2020 - Senior QA Engineer in Walnut, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team was very kind and open. You learn a lot about REST api and micro service architecture.

      Cons

      Poor decision making on the part of upper management and bad breaks from the travel industry and overall economy doomed this company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic Working Environment, Run!

      Feb 28, 2019 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to WC Bart Station

      Cons

      People in the upper management are hired because they are part of the clique, and don't have a clue what they are doing. Your achievement is measured based on how close you are to the inner circle, not your contributions. It's real life version of "The Office" and "Silicon Valley". Office managers are weird. HR thrive in the toxic environment.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Yapstone Response

      Chief People Officer

      We appreciate you providing your input. I see you are still an employee of Yapstone and encourage you to meet with me to share more of your perspectives with examples of how the environment is not conducive to you doing your best work. It looks like we both have been with the company for three years. Therefore, you should be very aware of the cultural journey Yapstone has been upon. I joined the company to partner with the leadership team to create an environment where employees could do their best work. Being that I lead the HR function, I can tell you that the HR function does not thrive in a toxic environment, but that our focus is to work with leaders to create an environment where employees feel valued for their contributions, have the support to work on projects that expand their skills sets and that reward & recognition programs are in place to foster skill development. Our last employee survey showed that over 2/3 of the employee population is satisfied or extremely satisfied with the work environment. If you personally feel otherwise, please do speak with your manager, myself, the HR business partner, the CTO or the CEO. I can also say that no individual or leader is perfect, yet, it is how we learn from our mistakes & move forward in the spirit of creating a healthy and productive work environment. A company is an accumulation of individuals working together as a team to make amazing business contributions. And, together, being part of the solution, is the only way we can continue to enhance the work experience at Yapstone. So, I very much encourage you to come and meet with me to share your feedback or to email culture@yapstone.com to provide more specific feedback. Thank you.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A good job if you're on the right project

      Mar 9, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My coworkers were always willing to help out when I had a question or problem. There are some new projects that can provide some interesting opportunities to work with newer technologies.

      Cons

      The constant churn in the upper management has resulted in a lack of consistent direction. Projects are often started, abandoned, restarted, etc. A lot of time is wasted. The legacy code base can be difficult to work with.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      online fraud analyst

      Sep 28, 2015 - Fraud Analyst in Walnut, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free snacks, paid vacations, good location

      Cons

      have to work weekends, upper management sucks, no tuition reimbursement, ghetto employees.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      to be avoided...

      Aug 17, 2015 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The quality of the engineering staff when I started working there 3 years ago was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and we all worked together. However the high turnover rate was always alarming. Many of those excellent engineers were gone by my 3rd year of employment. There aren't many 'pros' left in this place...if any at all. This is not a place that fosters satisfying employment. It should be avoided.

      Cons

      The latest CTO was hired this spring and he has added to the chaos as evidenced by the latest reviews and the plummeting overall rating. - Very high turnover. - No clear vision from upper management. It's very chaotic. - Work life balance is nonexistent which in turn leads to that very high turnover. - There is no transparency in the decision making process. Everything is secretive. As an employee, you have no idea what is expected of you.

      22 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      High turnover rate

      Jul 6, 2015 - Intern in Berkeley, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Perks aren't bad and the people are nice.

      Cons

      Upper management seemed disorganized and not invested in the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Loved My Job!

      Mar 12, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable, challenging, good people, lots to learn, fast paced. Did I mention great people? There is always some culture committee event in the works or planning. Lots of fun in the work place but lots of change and hard work to be done. It's certainly not a place for a slacker. If you're willing to do the work and go directly to management yourself with ideas, it can be a rewarding place to be. Only reason I resigned was because I had an opportunity come my way that was a once in a lifetime chance and I had to take it. I hope in five years Yapstone might consider hiring me back! :)

      Cons

      Communication has been challenging in the past between management and employees. You have to be willing to step up and go to them because they typically didn't come to you. Be brave. Be bold and work hard - Step up or be stepped on was sort of how it felt. However, just as I was leaving there was a new upper management person who seemed like he was really going to listen and work hard to make things better. So, that's really a Pro :) I think more could be done to provide healthier snacks around the office. There is far too much junk food. Perhaps alternate fruit/veggie trays for the donuts/bagels every other week or something?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Dont get sucked in

      Mar 12, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free Coffee and next to the Bart

      Cons

      The upper management writes their own review here to help boost their actual ratings. All of the top echelon has abandoned ship faster than Yapstone can update their website. When a company loses a COO, VP of Ops, 3 Director of Human Resources, and there CTO within a 16 month period it should throw extreme red flags. Most of the other employees leave once promises have been broken and the blinders are lifted. The owners have been bound and determined to run the company into the ground since they received their money from Accell Partners. If you don't want to believe that it could be this bad look at all the positions available on the corporate site at any given moment. As far as a "great" Christmas party... They can afford it since they pay all employees slave wages to do three people's jobs.. STAY AWAY AT ALL COST

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's all a facade

      Mar 4, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is very profitable..

      Cons

      Nepotism, sweat shop environment. Employees normally work through lunches, and there are no breaks. Beyond the Pres and VP of Operations, upper management churns very quickly. Work benefits are not equal or fair. Different rules for different people. This is very discouraging.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Yapstone Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Yapstone? Share Your Experiences

    or