KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yapstone

Is this your company?

Yapstone

Add a Review

Yapstone Employee Reviews about "yapstone"

Updated Sep 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 of over 295 reviews

3.1
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Yapstone Chief Executive Officer Frank Mastrangelo
Frank Mastrangelo
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "I am optimistic about where Yapstone is and where it is going(in 56 reviews)

  • "Close to Bart and freeway in WC(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Yapstone treats its employees with so much disrespect(in 41 reviews)

  • "Poor decision making on the part of upper management and bad breaks from the travel industry and overall economy doomed this company(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    929

    88 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "yapstone"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people and fun work environment!

      May 4, 2019 - Office Administrator in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      •Friendly and approachable leadership (including CEO and executives) •Positive energy and work environment •YapCares- a program designed for the company and employees to give back to the community •Small company means that each employee has the opportunity to have a huge impact •Yapstone believes in celebrating their employees and not just their work success, but also their birthdays, work anniversaries, the birth of children, and so on •Located in the East Bay •Weekly social hour with food and drinks and other fun social events for employees •Nearly 20 years of history and experience in online payments •Flexible time off policy

      Cons

      •In my opinion, about 95% of the people managers are wonderful, 5% need improvement

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Horrible. Run for the hills

      Sep 2, 2020 - Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people within the company, but pushed out by politics and toxic work environment.

      Cons

      Where to start....this company is horrible! Yapstone treats its employees with so much disrespect. It's such a sad work environment especially since Yapstone used to be filled with truly great, hardworking, genuine employees. The people that are left are overworked and stressed. The never give out raises or promotions unless you are in the 'inner circle'. The executive team keeps everything quiet and are very shady with both employees and customers. They straight-out lie to customers just to get more money from them. They love to use the word 'transparency' in everything and its an absolute joke. I have never worked for a company where I was so blindsided and forced to do things I did not agree with. The company is run by politics and friends of the former CEO. It's a toxic work environment. I understand layoffs at a company happen, but Yapstone does not handle them well. They lay off people in the worst way possible and don't care about anyone's feelings. Once you are laid off, they have you train people your job in 2 weeks that are in a completely different role/field. It's insulting. I cannot express how much this company will suck the energy and happiness out of you. Stay away.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Significant Changes Made-Better Outlook

      Jun 17, 2020 - Risk Management in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has gone through a tremendous amount of changes over the last 3-4 months, all for the better. The leadership changes have been dynamic and the current EC team is the best we've had in a very long time, if ever. The level of transparency , open dialogue, plus the care and thoughtfulness for employees is so unbelievably different from years past. We have gone through extraordinary difficulties, but there is a BIG glimmer of hope peaking through. I am optimistic about where Yapstone is and where it is going.

      Cons

      The amount of work to employee ratio is a bit overwhelming. There is a feeling of pressure wearing many hats, HOWEVER EC and HR are aware and doing their best to work employees on time management, encouraging time off ,etc.....positive spin -this does give a sense of inclusion and accomplishment.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wasted Opportunity

      Nov 26, 2019 - Engineer in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay was competitive, layoff terms were generous. Free snacks in the office.

      Cons

      The CTO has been allowed to destroy the company. Left in charge of the Product and Engineering organizations, he immediately brought in a small group of this own guys (they're all men), none of whom proved remotely qualified for their jobs. They proceeded to disregard anyone not a member of their little club. Two years later, the people responsible for all the key aspects of the company have been driven away. No part of the organization has escaped. The Product team has been gutted, the Ops and Security teams marginalized. The Engineering team is working overtime on a "new platform" so poorly planned that it will be unmaintainable. Sales is no longer able to paper over the increasingly unreliable product and critical customers are fleeing. The Yapstone I joined was fast-paced, diverse and had seemingly limitless upside. The Yapstone I left was none of these things. It's crushing to realize that so many years of hard work were wasted by the actions of the CTO.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      They shot themselves in the foot

      Nov 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None anymore. There were great people working here but most of them left.

      Cons

      Low hiring standards Hiring offshore and visa laborers Questionable hiring practice and total lack of diversity. See the pictures on their website and make your own judgement. Extreme cronyism Short-term vision for product platform Lack of technology leadership Not too long ago, this company was going somewhere and it was going to be something greater than it deserved to be. A spirited engineering team was created under the strong technology leadership of the then VP of Engineering. As it turns out, this company didn't have the vision to appreciate what they had in their midst and brought in a new regime. This new management team damaged the company so severely that the company went from upcoming contender to one on its last leg. Simply put, there is not enough talent in the engineering leadership to take Yapstone to the next level. Talking loudly, reading a few books, modeling after another company's API, or going to a few conferences is not going to get you there. No one has built anything substantial and yet they spoke like they knew what they were doing. Yapstone had its chance but now it's just a visa mill; dilapidated and tired.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working at Yapstone

      Jun 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyday that I come into work, I am surrounded by passionate, caring people. Yapstone provides an environment where your voice can be heard. There is a lot of growth in this business and of course, there have been & will be growing pains, but that's just how it is. Not every Executive leader is perfect but they work very hard, day-in and day-out to grow our company and our people. Yapstone also provide dinners 3 days a week, breakfast on every Wednesday, and every Thursday there are social hours. They are big on giving back to our community so we have special events sometimes during our social hours to give back, one way or another. The 24 hour fitness membership is also an amazing perk!

      Cons

      Compensation isn't too competitive

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Exciting place to be!

      Apr 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is growing fast which means lots of new opportunities for learning and growth. Everybody I've encountered is very friendly and proud to work here.

      Cons

      It is hard for me to think of a con, because I love working here so much...maybe it could be that the company is growing quickly so we might take a little while to get the cutting edge technology like the newest cell phones, computer, and data tools. ...but the company works very hard to get up to speed and I fully believe Yapstone is going to do big things!

      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Stay away at all costs.

      Feb 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good location in the East Bay

      Cons

      Everything but location Yapstone will wear you out then kick you to the curb, and someone else will take credit for your work. If you are looking for immigration status they may help and keep you there. Indentured servitude seems to be what they like. All of the good, reasonable people move on.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A lot of “opportunities” ... not in a good way

      Aug 29, 2018 - Senior Product Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is genuinely great folks that work here. Tight relationship with my engineering, client service, compliance, legal, sales, operations, and NOC counterparts that I was able to leverage into actions and collaborations that yielded tremendously positive results in a short time. A great direct boss and team that made coming to work a fun experience with them, and a genuine bond that will last beyond Yapstone.

      Cons

      The senior leadership level is old-school, and not in a good way. Think “micromanagent from afar.” The company is about as flexible as a fossil: PTO is not unlimited, it is rationed unofficially, working from home is discouraged, and generally the company doesn’t live up to the expectations I had for a Bay Area company as such. Ironically, for execs that haphazardly interfere in your day-to-day, there is no real leadership when you face an actual challenge that requires escalation or executive finesse. Bonus and comp are not in line with the market actuals I got offered interviewing when I decided to leave. Promotions and career development are not really a thing here on some teams. For a payment company, outside of a few key folks there was not much end-to-end depth of understanding of payments, which is ironic.

      Continue reading
      35 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best all around company I've ever worked for in my entire career!

      Jul 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers/teams; casual atmosphere; vision of company; salary; food perks; East Bay location, but next to BART for those who do not live within driving distance.

      Cons

      Absolutely no cons. Compared to other companies I've worked for in my career, Yapstone is the best!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Yapstone Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Yapstone? Share Your Experiences

    or