Yell Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "This really helps with my work life balance(in 34 reviews)

  • "fantastic working hours that allows me to balance my work and family life perfectly(in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Web Support Specialist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Higher pay than other employers

    Cons

    No work life balance and lots of management transfers

    Yell Response

    December 10, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi, Thank you for the review, it isn’t clear from the review when you left the business, but we are pleased to hear that your experience was a positive one. In terms of your feedback one of our key focuses this year has been on facilitating employee’s with managing their work- life balance and where possible we now offer agile-working and home-working across the business. Thank you again for leaving your feedback.

  2. "Quality co-workers sinking together at a company with no future and no leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Here are some of the good things: Good work/life balance High quality co-workers who care about the business Nice office park Lots of jokes can be made about working for the phone book

    Cons

    Here are some of the bad things: Print advertising is dead No faith in new company direction Leadership not innovative - their "new" direction is just copying other people Secretive about future changes Did not leverage people to improve company

    Continue reading

  3. "A total rollercoaster"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Specialist in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary and benefits and the line managers are great

    Cons

    Absolutely zero work life balance. Long hours and constant stress.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    November 20, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We are pleased you are happy with your salary, benefits and you mention our managers as being great which is really good to hear. It is a concern to hear you feel your work/balance and hours aren't suitable so I would recommend speaking to your Manager directly to see if he/she can help accommodate this better for you. Work/Life balance is a big part of every role at Yell so it is important to us that you feel you have this too.

  4. "Pretty Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Reading, England

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great location Flexible homeworking Good work/life balance

    Cons

    All meaningful work has been outsourced

    Yell Response

    September 17, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We are pleased you feel you have flexible working and a good work life balance, a healthy work life balance is extremely important to use, given the current times even more so!

  5. Helpful (3)

    "hell"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay is okay, work/life balance okay

    Cons

    micromanegement to the net level, managers throwing other managers under the buss, don't care abut their employees, paid peanuts for doing a lot, vieo training sessions and expecting people to become experts overnight after watching 2-3 videos

    Continue reading
  6. "Supportive Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - L&D Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent team work, supportive with work/life balance and generally a really good environment to work in.

    Cons

    Corporate bonus scheme and benefits previously weren't great, however this year seem to have much more opportunity and much fairer in line with sales.

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    August 5, 2020Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We are really pleased you are enjoying your career with us. Collaboration is one of our new values so it is great to hear team work as one of your pros! Our people make Yell an even more enjoyable place to work. We have recently changed and improved our Corporate bonus scheme to align with our new internal "Hartley Awards" and to make the bonus more substantial to our employees meaning there is a higher bonus earning potential for all. We are very excited to see our new scheme in action and to celebrate the success of our employees in the near future.

  7. "Great people, benefits and flexible"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am trusted by my Manager to work flexibly, which for me often means working from home when I need to at little notice. This really helps with my work life balance! The business has been through a lot of change and we are starting to feel like a brand new company, and the buzz of excitement is contagious. We have a refreshed Senior Leadership Team and we are all excited for the future of the business. I work with some great people and the discount hub is great - I often get cheap cinema tickets and discount retail vouchers, which are nice.

    Cons

    In the Reading office we don't have parking which is a shame, but the train station is so close that it doesn't really matter!

    Continue reading

    Yell Response

    March 6, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to learn that you feel trusted and have the ability to work flexibly, which suits you. We are aware that not all of our roles are able to have the same level as flexibility, but as a Company we are starting to move into this space and have recently introduced compressed hours and split shifts, as well as homeworking, to a team - which is great for them, and our customers!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work !!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ive been working for yell for 17 years and couldnt imagine working anywhere else Career Opportunities, ive been lucky enough to work from home for 10 years, which helped with by work life balance and family Great Uncapped Bonuses very rewarding !!! Great Recognition Events The yell People ( Family :-) )

    Cons

    Targets can be stretching if having a long holiday but other than that nothing!

    Yell Response

    February 14, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to have you as a member of our team!

  9. "Still Here 20 Years Later... Say No More"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Birmingham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Opportunities for promotion

    Cons

    The office environment needs improvement. Sometimes too cold, sometimes too hot and lifts have been poor but are improving

    Yell Response

    February 18, 2020Telesales Director

    Thank you for your review. It is important that people do have a work life balance so it's great to see if referenced in your review.

  10. "Good commision"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Yell full-time

    Pros

    Healthy work life balance at this company

    Cons

    Pay scheme changes every quarter

    Yell Response

    January 8, 2020Telesales Director

    Work/life balance for our people is important to us as we want to provide flexibility in the workplace whether than is in one of our offices or at your home. It is great to hear that you are highlighting this as one of our pros.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 English Reviews
</>Embed