Yelp Reviews | Glassdoor

Yelp Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2109 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Yelp CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1192 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Yelp is GR8, not for everybody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trendy tech office with all the perks; food, baristas, ping pong, video games, after hour kegs. Decent base salary, generous commission, Cadillac medical plan, dental, flex spending, 401k, stock plan with options, vacation. Great culture, progressive, tolerant, celebrates all successes, super limited overtime (they just don't wanting you working past 5:30), happy hours, outings etc... Youthful office with high energy.

    Cons

    Pretty much everyone starts as an AE for SMB. It's hard. It's a high volume sale with high metrics. You can't slack off on this job. There is favoritism and it's unchecked. You can switch teams but you need a mentor in-house or you can't move up. Executive management is not transparent enough. Anyone who Googles Yelp gets more information from Yelp management than employees do. It can sometimes be frightening so you have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, don't be afraid to tell your employees everything, even the bad news, we can take it and we read about it anyway. Find a better pathway out of Local Sales, the one you have now is cliquey and some immature ones get promoted over more qualified candidates.

    Yelp2019-06-13
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Support in the Roles from Upper Management

    Cons

    Noise is too apparent when you are trying to work a account

    Advice to Management

    Explain that each employee should be conscious of their neighbor and the noise levels because clients could hear background noises

    Yelp2019-06-17
  3. "Best Job I've HAd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Directors, flexibility, trust in leaders, and more!

    Cons

    The only downside in my opinion is that we are not able to interact with more business owners face to face

    Advice to Management

    The more time, effort, and pride you invest in your career, the more you will get out!

    Yelp2019-06-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Current Manager WDC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I look forward going to work. The people here are great to work with. From the office head to the AE’s. The hiring does a great job in finding some genuine authentic people. A lot of sales jobs have unhealthy competition but the top producer from this office talks to anyone and everyone trying to bring them up with him. Everyone wants success for each other. There is an open door policy of all communication providing...

    Show More

    Cons

    Stressful but what sales job isn’t, just find your outlet. More planning of direction and how to hit it (clearer goals for career planning). Turnover could be better but I think career planning and goal setting could be one of the causes.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to whoever is reading this. Stick in your seat! Being such a big business and continuing to grow.. opening up offices, hiring tons of people, new products, don’t ask what seat you’re on. It’s a rocket ship. I’ve yet to see someone here for 4+ years and not be in a higher position making a lot of money.

    Yelp2019-06-16
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Ability to build a career -Care about their employees -Great team of humans

    Cons

    -Sales are drive through cold calls, you'll need to have a growth mindset -Could be more transparent with their employees

    Advice to Management

    Liam is an all-time legend. The Chicago directors are amazing. Great group of leaders.

    Yelp2019-05-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Growing Quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    The company is growing fast. You would assume that hiring 30+ per month would mean they are over-hiring in order to weed people out, but there's plans to grow the salesforce to a few hundred more. With a fast growing company comes the natural growing pains, but I've alway felt Yelp has been very transparent on areas of improvements and genuinely care about making changes in attempt to make the day to day and overall job...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's challenging, particularly early on when you don't know how to handle the tough objections on the phone. Example: "We've already been called by Yelp for 5 years". If you lose engagement in growing your career and getting better at what you're doing, it's very hard to find motivation.

    Advice to Management

    Solutions are needed to work with/talk with business owners that already made up their mind about if they want/need Yelp. Many feel like they are banging their head against a wall on that one. If you're good you can handle that objection, but 80% cant.

    Yelp2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "What you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Meritocracy. You control your destiny for the most part. It's a place where hard work is recognized. 40 hr work week. No less, no more. Amazing work life balance.

      Cons

      -Not a large amount of smart individuals. -Sometimes immature culture -Directors are all very cliquey - They are all rich, white and inseparable (best friends) - Diversity is a big miss.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your managers and top performers more. You should want people to stay at Yelp for 10+ yrs. Not 3. You are losing talent to competitors because this generation has an emphasis on money now, not later.

      Yelp2019-05-21
    • "Amazing Place!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Account Manager in Omaha, NE

        I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great people, great leadership, laid back environment, all around great

        Cons

        communication is somewhat hard with members of upper management

        Yelp2019-05-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Hard Work Pays Off"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Yelp full-time

        Pros

        Supportive culture that promotes growth. People above you truly care about your ascension. The leadership team is exceptional in their expertise and willingness to walk the walk. Office Heads and Directors take time to speak/invest in brand new employees. Rejection is difficult to deal with, but it helps build out tough skin and expert communication ability. In my time at Yelp I have only witnessed rapid growth both...

        Show More

        Cons

        When in a sales rut, the days can get away from you and seem monotonous.

        Yelp2019-05-20
      • Helpful (4)

        "I've worked a lot of place. Hands down best experience I've ever had"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The environment is amazing. So much energy and friendly competition. It's a big family that constantly holds me to a higher standard and pushes me to be better daily.

        Cons

        The job itself can be exhausting. You have to have a strong will and choose to make it fun.

        Advice to Management

        Keep on doing what you're doing. Your job is hard too. Creating a fun, exciting atmosphere needs to be a priority. Management @ Yelp is fantastic. When you interact with leadership, you can feel that they truly care for you and your growth.

        Yelp2019-05-14
      Found 2109 reviews