Yelp Reviews | Glassdoor

Yelp Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1,308 Ratings
  1. "Consider carefully"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, great people to work with

    Cons

    Management is terrible, very high stress

    Yelp2020-01-23
  2. "Fun place to work but they treat customers terribly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere. Free food. Great benefits. Potential to go big in sales

    Cons

    Lack of opportunities to get in to something other than sales. You are a cold caller and call people who have expressed disinterest in the business in past conversations with you. Their seems to be a bias going on as to who gets good leads

    Advice to Management

    Cut your workforce down. You have over hired and do not have enough quality leads for everyone. Stop trying to sell to everyone and focus on your target clientele

    Yelp2020-01-23
  3. "Numbers Driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Standard tech company perks: free snacks, onsite baristas, beer on tap, cool office, etc.

    Cons

    Being an AE is very hard because you have to hit a quota/target each month and if you don't hit it for a few months straight, you're let go -- plain and simple. The way they terminate people is very unprofessional and demeaning. People are hired in herds because the turnover and burnout rate is very high. Management knows most people will either quit or get fired, so they hire very large training classes. The entire office is very loud because there is always music playing and the culture is very sales-y/bro-y. Compensation is a joke if you don't make commission.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in a better sales training program.

    Yelp2020-01-15
  4. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Insurance, pay and they have free snacks and drinks

    Cons

    Pay, managers and commission

    Yelp2020-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic environment, horrible management, zero growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Operations Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable paycheck and adequate entryway into tech industry Decent benefits (health, dental, and vision insurance as well as others, small wellness stipend, pre-tax commuter benefits, free snacks, free coffee/barista, bread, and lunch meats, summer and winter offsites and smaller team offsites, accrued PTO, paid holidays and 5 sick days) Relatively flexible schedule (come in between 7-10AM, couple work from home days granted using loaners) Smart and friendly co-workers, although can be cliquey Two SF Yelp buildings have a great location next to the SFMOMA and Yerba Buena Gardens, but the main building is better than the other Despite the repetitive and monotonous nature of the work, the content is easy to get through, so personal browsing is definitely doable

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest downfall of user ops is bad management who treats associates more like sweatshop workers than people, and is unreceptive to criticism. Work is very repetitive, and if you do better and more work than the average worker, you will be told to do even more of the same work. There's zero acknowledgment of top performers, and people they do acknowledge in meetings are picked based on a popularity contest instead of actual merit or metrics. Several top performers within this department have been given more work to do, and threatened to be fired if they did not do more than the requirements for anyone else. If you take on multiple projects, roles, and teams, your pay is the same as an associate that just onboarded. Whenever there's a backlog, management simply tells everyone to do an extra half an hour of work with no compensation or reward. The personalities of people here tend to be more introverted, so people prefer to conform and be silent rather than dispute obvious oppression from upper management. There's rampant favoritism, and the main way to advance is to brown nose your way in to a higher role. There's a specific instance of this that occurred despite mass disapproval of the floor. Shady things occurred, such as when there was excess budget, teams were given a chance to have a free meal. However, one team had their treat reduced to just a drink and the rest of the money disappeared. Even though you'll be welcomed by many friendly faces, after the fanfare ends, everyone mostly keeps to themselves and no one likes communicating outside of short pings, if even that. Almost all associates are introverted, which makes forced social gatherings a little more awkward and stiff. Everyone likes to express their discontentment privately instead of sharing it in one voice, which could make a difference as opposed to the one or two associates willing to rise against unfair actions from management. I've been in several startups and tech companies smaller and bigger than here, and can say that this is the most toxic environment I've ever experienced. Low morale is rampant and consistently expressed in whispers. Managers contribute a lot to this due to their demands and two-faced attitudes. They'll say "We care for your mental health and well-being" but the next day, say "We have a problem because you didn't work enough for this one hour of the day". Yes, management keeps track of every action associates do every hour of the day, when it's clearly advertised upon the start of the job that it's a weekly quota that can more or less fluctuate each day. Guess they had to make up something to do to keep the job, but I don't think creating this inherent distrust between management and associates is a great way to foster happy and loyal employees. The micromanagement is severe here, which is unconducive to productivity. If you're driven and intelligent, this is not your job. You will thrive if you just want to keep your head down and have a mediocre-paying job where you don't have to think about anything really. If you really love Yelp and want to go somewhere with it, this is not your job. Preference is given to external candidates for management positions, and middle-tier positions don't pay much more. If you want to improve the Yelp community, this is not your job. They hired aggressively politically correct people to "improve" the rules and most people on the floor were never Yelpers or foodies to begin with. They're basically outsourcing this role now though, so my current advisal would be for SF associates to quit before the impending mass layoff!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn and actually do the workflows of associates so you understand what "burnout" means. The management at User Ops is so out of touch with reality and the type of attention and focus that is required for this role, that their solution for success is to squeeze as much work out of associates as possible. Multiple associates have had meetings with management to critique this draining and impractical expectation, and warned that there's a reason why there's high turnaround and top performers departing consistently. Can you now take a guess at why everyone has left or is dying to leave? Learn what makes a good lead and hire someone who actually works hard and can manage and handle power well, instead of someone inadequate who just bootlicks their way into power and then uses it inappropriately. Associates are told to "prove themselves and make their voice loud" to potentially advance, but isn't it a good manager's job to properly identify individuals who deserve merit? You need to overhaul your entire management ideology and treat employees like actual people who are capable of autonomy and being trusted. You need to recognize workers without needing them to wave their hands in the air, and implement a reward system to improve loyalty and morale. You also need to understand the actual nature of the role, and figure out how to prevent burnout, which can range from creating more side projects for relief from the grind, to just being more relaxed about treating associates like they're machines in general.

    Show More
    Yelp2019-12-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Better Options Available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Partner in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training program Company-paid benefits (this is going away) Fully stocked kitchens Co-workers

    Cons

    I spent five years with Yelp, which was filled with many ups and downs. I started my career as an Account Executive and quickly worked my way to the national side of the business. The company felt like it was in a slow decline throughout my tenure, which was consistently confirmed by taking a quick look at the stock price after earnings calls. The Account Executive role is challenging and continues to get harder as better advertising options (Facebook, Google, etc.) are available. You spend the majority of your day cold calling business owners who have been called HUNDREDS of times by past AE's which leads to plenty of rejection and negative days. I worked as an Account Executive for just about a year before moving to the national side of the business. You would think to move from local to national would result in a pay increase, and at Yelp, you would be sadly mistaken. The national business is broken, which has resulted in an exodus of many top reps over the years, and to be honest, it makes sense. Who uses Yelp to find a Subway? I was able to move out of the national business into a local client partner role where you work with business owners post-sale to upgrade their programs. This role was decent for a few years, but the management in that department became unbearable. You don't have to work somewhere where 30-year-old managers spend 6 hours instant messaging with each other. Also, you truly learn in that role that the Yelp advertising product isn't great, but you are forced to ask your clients to upgrade regardless. This message is for both people considering Yelp as a career and current employees. There are MUCH better options available. I have been so happy since leaving Yelp, and you can be too! I remember reading Glassdoor reviews of Yelp while I was an employee just for confirmation that I wasn't the only one feeling so down on the company. The Glassdoor reviews speak for themselves! You are better than a company that is about to drop below three stars. You don't need to be stressing yourself out every day because business owners have been called 1,000 times and don't care about your scripted sales pitch. You don't have to work for a company where managers instant message each other all day and then yell at your team when you are behind. Life is too short to be unhappy in the workplace.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's too late to save this sinking ship.

    Yelp2019-12-16
  7. "they're horrible. typical liberal run company. no ethics, no morals, just scum!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, absolutely none. The pay even stank.

    Cons

    Gotta drink their liberal bs coolaide and on top of that, not one of them actually has a moral bone in their body. All money hungry, lying typical God hating, christian hating scumbag liberals. I got into into it with a few of them here and there, which ultimately led to me leaving. It would have never worked out. I can't survive around bad juju like them. Their argument was "screw the company owners, they've screwed many people along their journey so we're just helping by taking some of that back and putting it on our pockets." Say what? So now you know every company out there that you're screwing b/c you... what? Worked with them? Know the owners on a personal level? Some of the companies they screwed were very good companies, you learn a lot about them and the owners when selling to them. Anyway, I can do go but what good is it going to do? Just stay away from yelp as a business owner, they don't care.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Oi... where do I start? So many terrible things with this place. How do they stay in biz???

    Yelp2019-12-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Do you even use Yelp?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office is great, free food, wonderful coworkers (mostly). The training is great.

    Cons

    Dead platform. Seriously ask yourself, do you even use Yelp? Yes everyone knows what Yelp is but how often do you even use it? My training class was 109 people and all the people I talked to couldn't say that they had ever used it. This office alone has 900 salesmen on the floor, and there are 4 other offices. So lets call it around 4,000 reps nationwide. That's 4,000 people making 80 dials each to a relatively finite amount of businesses. The leads you are calling have been called to death. You will often be told to "eff off" or "NO THANKS" and hung up abruptly. Yelp is on the decline...refer back to the question, "do you even use Yelp?". The management hires en masse because the turnover rate is ridiculously high. The training period of two months is great but once you're finished with that you are in sink/swim mode and that's when a vast majority of people in my training class quit. The thing about hiring en masse means you can let people go without thinking and therefore the employees are just numbers. You will be encouraged to skip your lunch, skip breaks, and come in/stay late. The compensation structure isn't great. You need to make 42k for Yelp before you see a nickel of commission. This company capitalizes on taking kids right out of college, working them to the point of quitting, and setting up a pay structure that ensure Yelp gets all the money. The people on the right of bell curve, i.e. the 1% earners are given the leads of people that leave the company, aka they have a way better chance of staying at the top. Again. This boils down to one thing. People don't use Yelp. Don't let them fool you. Seriously, ask 5 people you know if they use Yelp. They don't. If they do, it's for restaurants but guess what, 90% of the businesses you call do not fall in that parameter. You're going to be calling doctors, lawyers, roofers, cleaning services...etc. When was the last time you used Yelp to find a lawyer? Exactly, no one does. If you are looking to pad your resume, this is a great place holder. The 2 months of paid training is great and you will be able to find a job easily after that. I wouldn't stick around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The management is basically setup like "crap rolls downhill". The person in charge of you got yelled at and the person above them got yelled at, and the person above them, (so on and so forth). Stop treating your employees like cogs that you can grind down to the point of quitting.

    Yelp2019-11-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "There's a reason Yelp is 15 years old with no major gains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The cafe but no catered lunch

    Cons

    I worked in Business Operations and Strategy. The team and leader is generally rude and cold. Just a lot of bad energy and a genuinely unkind culture. Yelp isn't somewhere you grow

    Yelp2019-11-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t be afraid to quit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Avenel, NJ
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coffee bar was nice to have

    Cons

    DON’T BE AFRAID TO QUIT. Horrible work environment, especially if you’re in ad sales where you’re basically scamming people. Stay as long as you can bear if you need the money but don’t be afraid to leave the minute you can. And don’t bother giving them your time— they made a bunch of people, including myself, wait several hours when we indicated that we wanted to speak to our director about leaving. Just leave. Burn the bridge. You won’t need them. Everyone I know who has left is better off.

    Show More
    Yelp2019-11-10
Found 2367 reviews
</>Embed