KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yelp

Is this your company?

Yelp

Add a Review

Yelp Sales Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 of over 3,492 reviews

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
49 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Yelp and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Constant Growth

    Jun 29, 2021 - Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -visibility and access to upper leadership (you truly have a voice and can get time in any of the VPs calendars) -you face challenges daily in the role (this allows for an environment where you never feel like you are at a stand still but rather constantly learning and growing) -support from peers is encouraged and real (you can always get the support you need really within an hour from a supporting peer or manager)

    Cons

    -larger team sizes (managing 10-12 people at a time)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company with lots of potential career growth

    Apr 5, 2021 - Senior Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are so many people that are willing to go above and beyond for you. Very team centric, so with work from home you always have a chat going and people to reach out to if you are struggling. Great commission structure. Lots of available training for reps and managers when needed. Great benefits and they really listen to their employees about how to make them even better.

    Cons

    This job is all about what you make of it. If you put in the effort, implement feedback, and have a good attitude, you will be successful. If you are scared of rejection, aren't willing to work hard, or tend to blame external factors when things don't go your way, you will struggle.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Working at a frat

    Jul 14, 2021 - Junior Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make a lot of money if you are willing to sell your soul and your brain

    Cons

    This is a male centered frat house. Expect drinking your way or flirting your way to the top

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thanks for taking a moment to give us some feedback. We're sorry to hear that you had to experience that. This is not the culture and environment that work so hard to cultivate. We want every employee to find a rich and vibrant culture of inclusion, belonging, and inclusivity. We will pass along your feedback to our leadership team so that we can continue making improvements and making Yelp a great place to work for all. We're thankful for your time with us and wish you the best of luck in the next step of your career.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Manager

    May 19, 2021 - Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training/culture/leadership - all great place to work and make day to day enjoyable! Lots of new exciting initiatives

    Cons

    less competitive pay than other Bay Area jobs. High volume, need to work on employee retention

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great learning springboard

    May 20, 2021 - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, lot to learn

    Cons

    Gimmicky, long hours, con artisty sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Incredible Culture of Tenacity and Transparency

    Oct 28, 2020 - Senior Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Tenacity is taught on day one. It's felt from the CEOs tenacity to fight for what's right (Anti Google, black owned biz, employee work/life balance, etc) to entry level AEs driven to hit their daily/monthly numbers - Everything is transparent. Yelp gives you the full playbook to succeed. AI driven leads vetted for you, data on the biz and marketplace, ability to see what the client sees, scripts, live streams of successful reps, commission sheets, promotion rubrics, etc. Everything is given to you. You then have to go out and use it to your advantage - A ton of support from leadership. Whether its personal matters outside of work, you need help closing a deal, or you want to pivot to another department you will have supportive managers and directors. - Benefits - Great for parents, great for short term (stocks), and great for long term (401k 3% match) - Community - Consumers, employees and biz owners all are aligned in the mission to connect people to great local biz (and to have fun while doing it!)

    Cons

    Promotion opportunities after 4 years are hard to come by

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for your thoughtful five-star review! It's so great to hear that you had such a positive experience during your 5-7 year tenure with us and that you saw many of Yelp's values in action. Our people are our greatest asset and we work hard to make sure that everyone feels valued and appreciated. We are so thankful for your contributions to the team and are happy to have had the opportunity to work with you. We'll be sure to pass up your feedback to our leadership team so we can continue to make Yelp a great place to work.

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great career starter

    Apr 4, 2021 - Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -sales education is amazing, especially for SMB, MM sales people -networking

    Cons

    -low pay. It’s a lot of work and long hours for a non competitive rate

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    We appreciate your five-star feedback! It's great to hear that you found your sales training valuable and had plenty of opportunities to network with your colleagues. At Yelp, we strive to offer world-class benefits to our employees and focus on total compensation. This includes stock incentives, cash bonuses, 401k matching, and employer-paid insurance to name a few. All told, our goal is to create compensation packages that are competitive in all of our markets and that are based on what our employees value most - total rewards. Your input is heard and we'll be sure to share it with our leadership team so we can keep making improvements.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    All the tools to succeed

    Sep 1, 2020 - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They will give you all the resources and help you need to succeed. All you have to do is ask. Successful people in your role or roles above ALWAYS make themself available to provide feedback as well as tips and tricks for you to excel. If you prefer not to be vulnerable with a peer or superior, they have online training and resources for mostly all scenarios. They only reason you might fail is if you are not willing to ask for help.

    Cons

    It is A LOT of recent graduates who are VERY entitled. They are not familiar with what it means to work hard and feel like they need their handheld for everyday tasks. People who fail there are either afraid to ask for help or do not care enough to actually take the advice of people who are trying to help them. It is frustrating to deal with people who need to be coddeled 24/7.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for your five-star feedback! It's always great to hear that employees felt like they had plenty of support in their roles and felt that they could ask for that support when they needed it most. On your advice to management, we work hard to ensure that all of our conversations among our teammates are as transparent and clear as possible, which includes setting clear expectations. We'll be sure to share your notes with our leadership team so that we know where improvements need to be made. We're all doing our best to ensure that Yelp promotes a positive environment where we can all thrive, and your feedback contributes to that goal. Thank you for your contributions to the team, we're glad we had the chance to work with you!

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay pay

    Mar 8, 2021 - Associate Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When in office, this was a fantastic community of grinding young sales people

    Cons

    Its a giant grind, and the combo of the grind and having to be a therapist for these early 20 year olds in the first sales job getting tons of rejections everyday is a drain.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Mar 25, 2021 - Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team, culture, work options, technology, environment

    Cons

    Not sure of specific cons that come to mind

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! It's great to hear that things are going well and you're finding plenty of things to love at Yelp. Keep up the great work, we're glad you're here!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 72 Reviews

Popular Careers with Yelp Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yelp? Share Your Experiences

or