KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yelp

Is this your company?

Yelp

Add a Review

Yelp Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 3,492 reviews

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
53 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Yelp and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice cultulre

    Jul 8, 2021 - Software Development Engineer (SDE) in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are helpful here. work life balance is good. Manager are transparent. I would strongly suggest others to join.

    Cons

    don't have lunch. affected by covid.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for your five-star feedback! It's great to learn that you're feeling supported in your role and that you're finding a healthy work life balance. We're proud of the work that we do here, and are glad that you're seeing the value of your contributions. Keep up the great work, we're glad you're here!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Jun 25, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Pom-o-sa Heights, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A+ work environment, smart coworkers, not overbearing management

    Cons

    Salary is low compared to industry

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for your feedback! Sounds like things are going excellent overall and that you're enjoying your colleagues. We appreciate your input around compensation and will be sure to pass it up to our leadership team so we can keep making Yelp a great place to work. We're thankful for your hard work and contributions, keep up the great work!

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to start a software engineering career, and that's about it.

    May 27, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy and work life balance

    Cons

    management, growth opportunities, inexperienced engineering org

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. It's great to hear that you had autonomy and a healthy work life balance during your time at Yelp! One of the best parts about working at Yelp is having the opportunity to be promoted within, and as a result we give some leaders the opportunity to do so for the first time in their career. We value training for all of our employees, including our managers, so training and coaching is an ongoing part of their career at Yelp. We appreciate your input and time with us!

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to work at

    Apr 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay considering the work life balance is great

    Cons

    Pay is not top of market but I think the culture and WLB makes up for it

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall good culture and people

    May 21, 2021 - Yelp Software Engineer - New Graduate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people - Great culture - Work life balance

    Cons

    - Company is not growing anymore - TC is not high

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fantastic People and Challenging Problems

    Sep 22, 2020 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Yelp is a really great company to work out. Some things that I value: * Genuinely nice, friendly people across the board. My employees are a pleasure to work with and are always looking out for each other. There's no backstabbing or competition like you might find in other companies. * Challenging problems to solve. The work is hard, and Yelp Engineering is constantly pushing the boundaries of what's possible. * Good work-life balance. There's no expectation that you work long hours or work on weekends, in fact it's actively discouraged. Management is very understanding of family needs and personal needs as well. * Trustworthy, transparent leadership. The leaders at Yelp have to make a lot of hard decisions, but when those decisions are made it's communicated clearly and with authenticity. * Remote-friendly. The company has been vastly expanding its resources for remote employees, and it has a good culture of communication to support remote employees.

    Cons

    * The stock price * Salary is probably not competitive with some of the bigger companies in the industry * Yelp is still going through a lot of growing pains as a company in terms of processes, structure, and scale.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    We truly appreciate your five-star feedback! It sounds like you've found plenty of things to love about Yelp, and we're so glad to hear you're enjoying being part of the team. We appreciate your suggestions on some of the things we can improve, and we will be sure to share them with our leadership team so we can continue to make things better. Keep up the great work, we're thankful for your contributions to the team and look forward to many more years of growth!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good work life balance

    Apr 28, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Nice people. Good opportunities for growth is you seek them out.

    Cons

    Pay is under market. Decision making is slow. Not a place to go if you want to be part of a high performing team.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing place to work

    Feb 16, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Competitive salary - Ownership of domains - Super supportive management and peers - Work life balance

    Cons

    - Maybe can start giving bonus

    1 person found this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    We're happy to hear you're having a five-star experience! It sounds like you're feeling the value of your work and enjoying your manager and colleagues. We appreciate your input and will be sure to share it with our leadership team. Keep up the great work, and we'll continue doing all we can to support you as best as possible. We're glad you're here!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Apr 10, 2021 - Software Engineer II in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good WLB, very nice culture

    Cons

    Relatively low salary, no free food

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for letting us know how things are going! It's great that you've found a healthy work life balance and are enjoying the vibrant culture at Yelp. We strive to offer world-class benefits to our employees and focus on total compensation. This includes stock incentives, cash bonuses, 401(k) matching, and employer-paid insurance to name a few. All told, our compensation package is based on what our employees value most - total rewards. We appreciate you sharing your voice with us, it's what helps make Yelp a great place to work!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love it!

    Jan 10, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - They have an amazing work-life balance - Their benefits are pretty good - Managers & teammates genuinely care about others

    Cons

    - None so far, like it all so far

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews

Popular Careers with Yelp Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yelp? Share Your Experiences

or