KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yelp

Engaged Employer

Yelp

Add a Review

Yelp Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Nov 20, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 4,249 of over 4K reviews
3.5
62% Recommend to a Friend
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
79% Approve of CEO

Found 419 of over 4K reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1,995 Ratings

What people are saying about Yelp

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

works at 

Yelp

At Yelp we have “quarterlies” where we align with our manager on our growth over the quarter and if there is a “misalignment” in where we think I am then we chat about it to try and come to a mutual understanding. In my last two quarterlies I’ve felt like we’ve misaligned in multiple areas and I spent a ton of time explaining things that my manager didn’t know I did. So my question is… have you experienced something similar and what did you do to fix it. How can I gain visibility?

12

5 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and perfect for highly motivated outbound sellers or people who respond to high energy management.(in 376 reviews)
  • "the people there are great and it looks good to have Yelp on your resume.(in 375 reviews)
  • "Something that is so great about working here is the culture and investment the managers actually have in your life.(in 267 reviews)
  • "Free food and snacks which is important if you are on a fixed income at the beginning.(in 195 reviews)
  • "The Product! Yelp is easy to sell with their great training and proven product that works for small businesses.(in 179 reviews)
Cons
  • "Managers and Directors for the life of theirs do not admit there are better territories to call 2 than others.(in 240 reviews)
  • "Micro management, your boss is like a buddy and that can be complicated at times, it gets ridiculously monotonous and the pay sucks.(in 213 reviews)
  • "Low pay and not enough resources(in 203 reviews)
  • "I don't understand how they expect people to survive off such a low salary.(in 105 reviews)
  • "Also you don't make commission unless you're really really good and can hit their commission 'threshold' they have every calendar month.(in 82 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Yelp and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    AC YR

    Oct 10, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some great people to work with.

    Cons

    Did not get to work there long enough to experience the culture during normal times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for your five-star feedback! We're happy to hear that you had a great overall experience during your time at Yelp. We appreciate your input, it helps us know we're headed in the right direction. We wish you the best of luck in your next career move!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A bit of a grind but lots of benefits and great people

    Nov 20, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great people

    Cons

    A lot of cold calling

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company, Job Not for Me

    Nov 11, 2021 - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, the company culture is great. people are nice

    Cons

    Micromanagement style from managers to make sales during a pandemic Very high pressure to make sales Commission is not earned for every sale, you have to make a certain amount before you make commission Pay is low, commission makes up the rest if you ever make commission.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us! A great career is not only a healthy mix of challenging and rewarding work but also a great compensation package and a vibrant work environment where every person feels valued and heard. We're glad you found that at Yelp! The managers here are devoted to the career growth of each individual on the team. Sometimes that can look like various one-on-one conversations throughout the day, and setting sales quotas that encourage people to continually improve. While this environment is inspiring for most, we understand that it may not be for everyone. We're thankful for your time at Yelp and wish you the best of luck in your next role!

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great starting job

    Sep 24, 2021 - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, culture, a company I was proud to work for.

    Cons

    Wish there were easier paths to management and more structured way to get there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great place

    Aug 9, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    i love working here. I've met great people.

    Cons

    turnover rate is high but that's okay, sometimes it doesn't work out for everyone

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Yelp employee

    Jul 25, 2021 - Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great people and management who are always ready to push you to your to doing your best even when you think you cant do what others are capable of all the time

    Cons

    It is online so you stay at home and don't get the every day human face to face contact that a normal job would offer

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for your five-star feedback! Sounds like things are going great and that you're finding a support group helping you to grow professionally. We know working from home is a different experience, and can sometimes be challenging to not be among your peers. We encourage you to browse our Employee Resource Groups and joining any that pique your interest, as well as our internal Yelp virtual events for employees. These are a great way to stay connected even in a remote world. Keep up the great work, we're glad you're here!

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Review

    Jul 29, 2021 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great snacks, drinks, and great people to work with. Good benefits as well. Had a good time

    Cons

    Cold calling can be tough. Hitting quota is definitely challenging as well. Need yo have a good manager

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great time

    Jun 29, 2021 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun place. Great people. Nice time.

    Cons

    Hard to handle. It’s a grind. Pay more.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great for employees that are beginning their career directly out of college

    Jul 9, 2021 - Sales Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with great people Stocked kitchen Making an impact on small business owners Team Building events Initial training was decent

    Cons

    Territory issues Parking situation Communication issues Customers getting overcalled by multiple sales reps Unable to self prospect in terriotry

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It's great to hear that you enjoyed working with your colleagues and that you saw the impact of your work. One of the best things about the Account Executive role is that it offers an opportunity for success to people of many backgrounds and experiences. We have AEs that have recently graduated college, folks early on in their careers with 1-2 years experience, and seasoned sales veterans that find that the position offers a good mix of challenges, rewards, and opportunities for growth. Additionally, in recent years, we've made changes to overhaul our territories. These changes are designed to give each person a more balanced group of accounts and move away from a traditional "patch" of contiguous zip codes. All told, these improvements are creating a much more equitable and modern territory assignment system for our sales force. We will continue listening to our employee's input to make sure we're supporting our folks as best as possible. We appreciate your input and will be sure to share your feedback with our team so we can continue making Yelp a place to work!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall good culture and people

    May 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people - Great culture - Work life balance

    Cons

    - Company is not growing anymore - TC is not high

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 419 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Yelp Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yelp? Share Your Experiences

or

Yelp Photos

+ Add Photo
Yelp photo of: Yelp Sales Team
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Sales
Yelp photo of: Yelp Sales Team
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 4,249 Yelp reviews submitted anonymously by Yelp employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Yelp is right for you.