Cover image for Yelp
Logo

Yelp

Engaged Employer

Yelp

Add a Review

Yelp Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 27, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 4,533 of over 5K reviews
3.5
61% Recommend to a Friend
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
74% Approve of CEO

Found 267 of over 5K reviews

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
2,125 Ratings

What people are saying about Yelp

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

works at 

Yelp

At Yelp we have “quarterlies” where we align with our manager on our growth over the quarter and if there is a “misalignment” in where we think I am then we chat about it to try and come to a mutual understanding. In my last two quarterlies I’ve felt like we’ve misaligned in multiple areas and I spent a ton of time explaining things that my manager didn’t know I did. So my question is… have you experienced something similar and what did you do to fix it. How can I gain visibility?

12

5 Comments

Tech

635.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Yelp~43314
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Yelp? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Yelp employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "the people there are great and it looks good to have Yelp on your resume.(in 397 reviews)
  • "Great benefits and perfect for highly motivated outbound sellers or people who respond to high energy management.(in 396 reviews)
  • "Something that is so great about working here is the culture and investment the managers actually have in your life.(in 287 reviews)
  • "Free food and snacks which is important if you are on a fixed income at the beginning.(in 206 reviews)
  • "Great training and intro to telesales... if you make sales here you can probably make sales most places(in 183 reviews)
Cons
  • "Managers and Directors for the life of theirs do not admit there are better territories to call 2 than others.(in 244 reviews)
  • "Poor management and tough clients(in 224 reviews)
  • "Low pay and not enough resources(in 220 reviews)
  • "I don't understand how they expect people to survive off such a low salary.(in 109 reviews)
  • "Also you don't make commission unless you're really really good and can hit their commission 'threshold' they have every calendar month.(in 83 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Yelp and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    associate

    Mar 28, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice people that go the extra mile

    Cons

    long hours that can make work and life balance hard

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Idk

    Jul 2, 2019 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Met a lot of great people. Happy hours were fun.

    Cons

    Very cliquey, felt like a cult at times. A healthy work/life balance was frowned upon and meant you “weren’t a team player.” Promotions were given to favorites - not the best person suited for the job.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Yelp team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great first sales job out of college...

    Oct 27, 2015 - Account Executive (Sales) in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ah Yelp.. what a roller coaster you are. While deciding whether or not to work here after college I relied on these Glassdoor reviews quite a bit, so I feel it is necessary to share my experience for the next graduate deciding whether or not to take the leap and hop in the sales trenches at Yelp. Pros: It is quite possibly the most fun work environment that you will ever experience throughout your career (provided you are not too far removed from college and are into the whole work hard play hard atmosphere). Most of your colleagues will be in their 20's and you will meet some of your best friends here in a short amount of time. Perfect if you are looking to move to a new city (We have offices in Scottsdale, SF, NYC and Chicago). You are recognized for your efforts/success and senior management really does care about you (unless you're a turd nugget, then you get fired/quit). After working for Yelp for a year (If you are successful), you will have companies practically begging you for an interview as the training program is industry leading and you are trained to wheel and deal on the phone. I have the utmost respect for the YSDP (Yelp Sales Development Program). You also have the ability to transfer offices after about a year on the job. Overall, the best parts of working at Yelp is the culture, the experience and the doors that open after you are successful in the role. Not to mention they do not let you work more than 40 hours a week so the work/life balance is great.

    Cons

    Compensation. The base salary is lower than just about any other comparable role at any other company. This is especially true for NY and SF. A 36k base salary is insulting in those cities. The ramp up is way too long as well. If you are a consistent producer you should not have to wait an entire year to receive a decent base salary increase. The companies growth is causing territories to shrink and many accounts are being touched too often. This results in more animosity from local business owners and people producing less revenue than in, say, 2013. Territory distribution is disparate between tenured vets and rooks, but that's to be expected in just about any sales role. Overall, great first job our of college but I would get our after a year or 2 unless you are looking to get managerial experience or have aspirations of making a career in an environment like that.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stay away

    Oct 29, 2018 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, base salary, pto and benefits, snacks, free coffee.

    Cons

    This job is extremely mentally draining. You’re literally cold calling places in the middle of nowhere that mostly hate yelp because they have been called 5,000 times over already. They wont change your terriotory so your calling the same businesses repeadelty for 6-7 months. Your life is literally cold calling 40 hours a week. Nothing like getting hung up on and cursed out by people first thing in the morning and having to be the fool calling from Yelp. Most of the businesses that sign up cancel from not seeing results after a period of time so that makes you feel even more like a scam telemarketer. Making a dime of compensation is unrealistic for most as you have to close a ton of revenue frequently to even crack 100 extra dollars on your check. Very high turn over rate from burnout. I would suggest anybody with any type of anxiety to stay away from this job because it is a lot of stress to call people out of the blue over and over again and pressure to perform well as your revenue numbers and pitches are posted up for everyone to see. No work life balance because you are drained from talking all day and bring work home with you and the weekends fly by. Your manager will also hop on your calls and be extremely rude and aggressive to the business owners and try to force advertising down their throat until you have really pissed them off and hang up on you. You have to say whatever they tell you to say while the person on the other line doesnt know your being fed lines so they are basically just using your voice. Im going to leave it at that because what it comes down to is unless you are really serious about a sales role this job is a waste of time and im sure you could do better.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The Most Honest Review You Will Read On Here

    Apr 14, 2018 - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - If you stick around long enough you will become great friends with the people around you. The people you meet at Yelp will be your friends throughout your career - Great Benefits package, Free Healthcare, Gym Reimbursement (Up to $60), Pre-Taxed Commuter Benefits, 401k, Employee Stock purchase plan - The managers I had were great at holding reps accountable and teaching reps how to be good at the job while also being down to earth - Great happy hours and camaraderie (Expect to go out and drink with your team/neighborhood anywhere from 1-3 times per month) -Fully Stocked Kitchens (Which is good because if there was not, since the pay is so low, some of the employees would probably have to get a SNAP card) -Craft Beer Kegs on the 16th Floor -Excellent 2 Month Training Program where you will learn how to sell (If you are good at selling Yelp Advertising you will be good in any sales role) - I learned how to use Salesforce and made many effective vetting reports (Until AR came along of course) -Growth Potential to Management and Mid- Market within 12-18 months is reasonable (But be sure to be in the top 5%-10% of reps) - Good Work Life Balance Do not expect to be working over 40 hours a week here) - When applying for careers opportunities outside of Yelp some companies will love the hustle that you have put in at Yelp

    Cons

    - The job itself is very monotonous (Unlike what the recruiter and training manager will tell you, you are not making open/warm calls these are cold calls) -If Mom and Dad are still paying for your rent and other living expenses you might be able to stomach how much you actually make here. A $40,000 starting salary is not enough to cut it. The Account Executive role is a sales role that excludes the words On Target Earning's in the job description (OTE... most sales jobs have that in the description), which makes sense because a vast majority of reps are not hitting target month-in-month-out. Also reps who are promoted do not see much of bump in pay, only a mere bump in title. In conclusion you do not have to look over the river and through the woods to find a company that is willing to pay you noticeably more - The product is painfully ineffective for a vast majority of businesses that you sign up. If you sign up 10 businesses maybe 1 or 2 of them will actually like the product, the other 8 will probably hate it and cancel, or stop paying altogether and sign up for TrueAccord (That's Yelps outsourced collection agency by the way). Towards the end of my tenure at Yelp I was actually starting to feel sorry for the businesses owners that I signed up. At times I basically felt like a scam artist looking for someone gullible enough to give me their credit card and would pray that they would atleast pay their first bill (So I would atleast get paid). If you are a purpose driven person and not purely a money driven person you might find it hard to last here. Yelp also makes it very difficult to understand the effectiveness/ROI of the advertising program by having a heavily watered down analytics report (more watered down than the Vodka bottle I would steal from my parents in High School). The business owners account is not even willing to point out unique traffic to business owners (so the 18 Clicks a Business had to their Yelp page last month could have been from 10 unique people). Management knows that the product is questionable and has a high churn rate so they resort to sending mass emails of "success stories" or " #YelpAdsWork". In the NYC Office you cannot even sit in a bathroom stall without seeing a "Success Story" to your Left, Right, and In Front of You. It's kind of sad in a way, if the product is so good you shouldn't have to spoon feed it to us, we should already know. - Account Recommendations (AR) has severely limited the reps ability to learn the power of Salesforce and understand their territory/accounts. AR was dubbed as a silver platter serving up the hottest leads, but in reality calling a lawyer who has been dead for the past 8 years who happens to have a Yelp page or a B2B Logistics company who has no business being on Yelp is quite the contrary. AR has gotten so bad that managers (Who have full access to Salesforce) are resorting to emailing reps Vetting Reports or Pinging Reps potentially hot leads. Although a majority of reps have an issue with AR, upper management seems to have turned a blind eye to any concerns. - Although some companies will LOVE your Yelp background on your resume other companies will be completely turned off by it.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Account Executive

    May 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance 40 hours except last week and day of month

    Cons

    Super intense and religious preaching Yelp is life.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Jul 15, 2019 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture and really nice office

    Cons

    Hours and work life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to start a software engineering career, and that's about it.

    May 27, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy and work life balance

    Cons

    management, growth opportunities, inexperienced engineering org

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Yelp Response

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. It's great to hear that you had autonomy and a healthy work life balance during your time at Yelp! One of the best parts about working at Yelp is having the opportunity to be promoted within, and as a result we give some leaders the opportunity to do so for the first time in their career. We value training for all of our employees, including our managers, so training and coaching is an ongoing part of their career at Yelp. We appreciate your input and time with us!

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Account Executive

    Nov 11, 2015 - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture and benefits are great to include a fully stocked kitchen and full medical. Company sponsored and paid for outings as a sales team.

    Cons

    The sales jobs are over worked with no change in the job to add variety. Expected to work overtime to hit minimum metrics but management preaches work/home life balance where you shouldn't work overtime.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome People!

    Aug 22, 2016 - Junior Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good work/life balance..He get in what you put out as it is a sales job. It is a cold calling job. It is not for everybody, but the people and environment really pick you up when you are having a rough day.

    Cons

    If you don't sell. You don't make a lot of money.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 267 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Yelp Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yelp? Share Your Experiences

Yelp logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Yelp Photos

+ Add Photo
Yelp photo of: Yelp Sales Team
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Engineering
Yelp photo of: Yelp Sales
Yelp photo of: Yelp Sales Team
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Yelp Job Seekers Also Viewed

Zenefits Logo
Zenefits

4.2

668 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 4,549 Yelp reviews submitted anonymously by Yelp employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Yelp is right for you.