Yext Employee Reviews about "upward mobility"

Updated Sep 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 559 reviews

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Yext Chairman & Chief Executive Officer Mike Walrath
Mike Walrath
361 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

388

57 Comments

Tech

211.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Yext~312260
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Yext and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upward mobility"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    yext software engineer

    Jul 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *unlimited pto *fun working environment *competitive salary

    Cons

    *nothing comes to mind right now except for low upward mobility

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fine for a year or 2

    Sep 1, 2021 - Client Support Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and the product suite. The people on your immediate team are exceptionally smart, hardworking, and supportive. The products/services that Yext builds have a place in many businesses and are quite cool and useful. You can get good experience in the tech world as well (exposure to industry standard software).

    Cons

    senior leadership and the executive team have completely lost touch with their employees. attrition is at an all time high for several reasons including but not limited to lack of upward mobility (it's a popularity contest for who gets promoted), zero working flexibility, and low compensation for an NYC-based tech company. It unfortunate to see so many bright and talented individuals leave due to things the company could have addressed and worked to remedy.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Run Away

    May 3, 2021 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's just not what it used to be at Yext. No one is happy. It's sad, 3-4 years ago Yext was a GREAT place to work, amazing people + leadership BUT they have all left/are in the process of leaving - feels like your inbox is filled with "Last Day/Goodbye" emails at all times.

    Cons

    - Pay is under market across for all sales roles - Upward mobility is nonexistent - Morale is at an all time low, no one is happy - Lack of direction with product/company vision - Howard Lerman + executive leadership are completely disconnected from everyone else - spend every zoom call showing off their mega mansions and telling stories about partying in miami - "hiring aggressively" is because attrition is at an all time high from all levels - sales executives, front line managers, individual contributors, CS, Sales - you name it - you will always be seen as a number here + replaceable - lack of diversity is an understatement - their diversity "initiatives" are just to check a box and for the press releases

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Where to begin...

    Dec 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A lot of the people I've had the pleasure of working with here are incredibly intelligent and an absolute pleasure to be around. I genuinely feel the people I'm closest to are like family and not seeing some of them regularly is definitely the biggest downside of having to work remotely. - I'll also give it to Yext that when it comes to working arrangements even prior to covid they were pretty flexible. - Some of the benefits and perks such as free meals, snacks, happy hours are cool, though the pandemic has put a halt to that for now.

    Cons

    - We've struggled to maintain the culture that made this an appealing place to work 3-4 years ago. Some of this is to be expected as we scale and lose some of that start-up charm, however, I think a lot of this tied to how we hire. It seems as if the last few years hiring managers have not taken team chemistry into account when hiring especially at the managerial level and it's led to some huge misses. - Speaking of hiring, let's talk about diversity! Did you go to Princeton, Cornell, UVA, or Duke? Did you previously work at Salesforce or do consulting at Deloitte? Is your idea of small-talk discussing your vacation homes, luxury cars, and boats? Are you a middle-aged white dude from a waspy background with a total lack of self-awareness? Great! No need to apply, the job is yours! Seriously I would say a good chunk of Yexters (especially senior leadership and sales) fit at LEAST one of those criteria, if not most. - While we're on diversity; or lack thereof, if you're a POC, think carefully and ask the right questions before choosing to work here. If you’re Black and insist on working here do yourself a favor and have a timeline and exit strategy in mind. Despite the extraordinary performances put on by our CEO and CHRO this past June in response to the recent uprisings and civil unrest; to quote Kanye West: YEXT DOES NOT CARE ABOUT BLACK PEOPLE! Like so many other companies this was all talk and virtue signaling. Six months later nothing substantive has been done. We still haven't hired someone for the Diversity and Inclusion role, which allegedly is because we're taking time to find the right person...sure okay. About a year and a half ago our CRO decided he wanted to hire a former colleague as an EVP after running into each other at an event. Just to make room for him several teams worked together to restructure our revenue teams, reset targets, and a ton of other operational labor. We did all this to accommodate this man in less than a month. It's been almost seven since initially having these conversations. When leadership wants something done they don't drag their feet, Diversity and Inclusion is clearly not a priority for them. - Back on track! Yext's philosophy for their Black employees seems to be to hire them in junior positions, help them develop, and promote them upward. It's been alluded to that this is because finding qualified black candidates for senior roles in the tech space is difficult. I'm not going to get into how lazy that mindset is, or the fact that hiring the same profile for all your management roles ensures you'll just continue hiring more of the same, but okay, developing talent internally seems like a sound philosophy! Except that's not how it works in practice. On top of there being a general lack of diversity, people of color; but especially black folk, are generally promoted with less frequency than their white counterparts. Just as an example in a global company of ~1400 employees there is ONE black people manager. We're not talking exec level, not even VP or Director level, but just first-line managers. There are already so few black people at Yext, but the lack of upward mobility makes it even less likely to find a black person with over 2-3 years of tenure. Most eventually realize they can't grow here and end up searching for greener pastures. - While inequity is most apparent for POC, don't worry as long as you're not on the Sales or Engineering teams you can probably hop on the undervalued bandwagon as well! This company LOVES to dump money into Sales; which to be fair makes complete sense, they generate revenue. However, our Sales org has continued to scale, but we haven't really scaled all the other teams that support their efforts. Operations, Strategy, Enablement, Support, HR Business Partners, these teams have stayed roughly the same over the years and in some cases even downsized. So if you are in a position that works adjacent to our Sales org you're usually going to be overworked and probably not compensated for your extra effort. Any budget that may have been used for a raise or promotion is likely being funneled to the Sales org. - Speaking of Sales there's definitely some dead weight in that org, particularly in the higher rungs and more ill-defined "sales'' teams (e.g. Strategic Alliances). Everyone can see it, but unfortunately, they're usually a referral from someone in senior leadership. So fortunately for them, but unfortunately for their direct reports and everyone who has the misfortune of working with them, they get to squeeze this meal ticket for all it's worth. That's not to say we don't have excellent sellers who are great at their jobs. Just that there's a decent amount of unproductive people, who aren't necessarily a great fit skills-wise, just eating up resources that could be going elsewhere. - Yext’s refusal to scale and invest in anything that isn’t Sales or Engineering also means most other orgs get shafted when it comes to career advancement. At other places, you might expect as the company grows, different arms of the company scale to meet their demands, which leads to opportunities for promotions popping up organically. However, this is not the case at Yext, most promotions happen as a result of someone leaving. This is not to say these promotions aren’t deserved, in fact in most cases they’re long overdue, but the thing is a lot of people don’t want to play the waiting game with their careers. So usually after being stagnant or being passed by once or twice; whether it be the position going to a colleague or more commonly being backfilled by an external candidate, folks end up leaving. I remember earlier in my tenure during our weekly townhall an Exec was running through our plans of scaling and explained to make this happen he would need every single one of us in the room to eventually take on roles as Directors and VPs. At the time I lapped up all the Kool-Aid, but my time at Yext these last few years has made me less naive and more skeptical of grandiose Exec speak. -Finally, let's talk execs. I actually think our Exec team is a pretty bright bunch. However, that doesn't mean they always make the brightest decisions. I feel like we are constantly pivoting to something new or changing our strategy. Change isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it seems like Execs just want their direct reports to be "yes-men", rather than consulting them on the viability and potential ramification of changes. Instead, they decide they want to do something, and we worker bees are expected to do it ASAP. On a bit of a tangent, the vast majority of the exec team often lacks self-awareness. In a recent meeting to discuss, our low employee satisfaction survey results; of which Yext foregoing raises this year was one of the biggest pain points, some Execs decided to make small talk; the topic being about boats none of us could ever hope to afford. Faux pas like this are not an uncommon occurrence, it's actually almost routine for a leader to say something thoughtless during an All-hands or company-wide town hall.

    Continue reading
    51 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Proceed With Caution

    Dec 9, 2020 - Consulting in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are amazing and some of the smartest people you'll meet. The team members that have been around since before Covid are some of the smartest most wonderful people which is the hardest part about the decline of the company

    Cons

    You will be asked to do 2-3x more of th ework that was originally part of your job description and will not get paid for this. I have been at Yext for close to 2 years and I am still at the same salary I started at on day 1. Also, if you're looking to move up or get a promotion get in line. The way people are considered for upward mobility is laughable as they basically will promote someone who just has been at the company the longest with no consideration if they even deserve the role. There is a ton of turnover as the only way to get a raise or a promotion is to leave the company.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Nov 18, 2020 - Business Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good products and solutions, good culture

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward mobility

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great if you love micromanagement and being underpaid

    Sep 25, 2019 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No pros at this time.

    Cons

    Yext used to be the happiest and best place to work. Management cared about you on a personal and professional level took time to get to know you, your strengths and weaknesses, talk about long term career growth, and properly train you. There was upward mobility, transparency, and work life balance. I genuinely wanted to come to work every day and looked forward to it. Yext is still a great place to work if you love micro management, unqualified and unhelpful new sales leadership who never meets 1:1, and huge pay gaps between team members (up to 40k difference in OTE salary because of personal ties). When you start you will receive no training because both enablement and sales leadership do not know the job or how to sell. At Yext, you are a number and you are disposable no matter how long you have been here or how well you perform. It seems like everyone in revenue is interviewing elsewhere, even AEs who have been here less than a year. No one is happy, no one is successful. Yext is a fundamentally different company than it used to be. There are better software companies to work for with a better product, better marketing, enablement, and leadership, work life balance, where you are not a number and will get paid way more.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Yext Great work Culture

    Apr 10, 2018 - Operations Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is very young smart and intelligent and works hard. They work really hard to provide a great work culture and they succeed.

    Cons

    Downsides are there isn't a ton of upward mobility. A lot of people move to new roles within the company if they get bored, but if you don't want to do that than it seems that your lifespan at the company is short.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great first job out of school

    Dec 13, 2015 - Yext Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun culture. Good people. It seems that the company has a definitive direction, and the leadership has a good handle on keeping the course while looking for opportunities to innovate, which is a tricky balance to strike.

    Cons

    Seemingly limited upward mobility from entry level positions, but they've been making strides to develop from within recently which is really good to see. Leadership can be somewhat inaccessible at times. Revolving door.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun Energetic and Positive Atmosphere

    May 5, 2014 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working at Yext for about 2 years and I've seen the company grow and mature. This a fun and happy place to work with young and motivated people. Plus, you get free lunch and snack kitchens! Sales incentives make you work harder and it makes your job more enjoyable.

    Cons

    There seemed to be a lack of organization, when I first started, but that has really changed. Since this company is still growing and changing there isn't a direct path for upward mobility, that being said, hard work is rewarded and although there isn't a direct path, there are plenty of ways to grow within the company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Yext Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yext? Share Your Experiences

or