KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yodle

Part of Web.com
Is this your company?

Yodle

Add a Review

Yodle Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated Oct 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 625 reviews

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Yodle Chairman, CEO and President  David L. Brown
David L. Brown
43 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

4m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great and friendly.(in 61 reviews)
  • "Great culture and entry level position for starting out young professionals trying to get into the marketing field(in 45 reviews)
  • "training was great... it was a month.(in 34 reviews)
  • "The managers are great and really supportive.(in 27 reviews)
  • "They paid great commission.(in 24 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Yodle and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Ups & Down. More Ups than down. In this economy without a degree, i know i couldn't make this much money anywhere else

    Nov 1, 2011 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You are paid what you are worth, and thats has it advantages, because i hate working at a pace where the losers get paid what i get

    Cons

    I' m not a machine. turnover rate is high, which i been here 2 years prob seen 1000 people walk in and out, and i don't get the respect as i think i m deserved

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Dreaded going to work every day

    Nov 7, 2015 - Lighthouse 360 Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In the beginning you feel like they are really investing in you. They training is a month long, and you learn all about the software system, competitors, and company sales script. I did learn a lot from my experience here, and despite all the negative things I have to say about my experience, it made me a stronger candidate for other jobs after I put in a couple months here. I didn't stay in sales when I left, but pretty much any field is impressed when they hear you can stand to call your required 90 prospects each day. Friday happy hour is nice, I made a couple lasting friendships, and if you are into having really loud music blaring constantly, that's fun too.They provide lunch, so that's helpful. This job built up my threshold for boredom and tolerance for focusing on repetitive tasks for long periods of time with no break. Having just graduated from college, it was quite an adjustment because in school, your day is broken up by your various classes and subject matters. So in that regard, this job prepared me for my "real adult job" that I took when I left Yodle.

    Cons

    Where to start... You are treated like a child and completely micromanaged. Managers will dial into your headset in the middle of a conversation with a prospect, and then will start 'parroting' you- you have to repeat what they say into the phone. This is a problem when they actually haven't been listening from the beginning, and they make you say things you've already said. I saw some google or yelp reviews of prospects complaining about the parroting, and the Yodle rep responded and denied that being a company sales tactic- totally threw those employees under the bus. If I would try to ignore my manager when he did this (if what he was saying didn't make sense in the context of my conversation), he would whack my chair until I paid attention. I really did not appreciate that. 80% of the prospects are completely horrible to deal with because we've been cold calling them for years. (You have to get three 'No's' before you are allowed to give up on a prospect). Training managers try to hype you up by saying there are people making 6 figures on the sales floor- I'm going to have to call B.S. on that. The recruiter that had interviewed me over the phone told me the average person makes 45-60K their first year, B.S. as well. I calculated that if you are consistently just meeting your quota for a year, (and most people are not consistently hitting the minimum) you make in the low 30's. But again, most people do not make minimum performance standard every month in their first year. The base pay averages to $9.62/hr., or 20k a year. When you really think about how much money the prospects you are selling bring in to the company during their lifetime (in dental), the commission structure is a joke as well. Butch in upper management said himself that they underpay dental. You are discouraged from using your PTO, and guilt-tripped when you do use it. I will say, Eric was really nice from what I could tell. All the training managers are nice. On my last day there, I was so fed up with the poor management and quality of life, I was strongly considering just up and quitting so I could devote more time to finding a better job. Then, my phone rang and it was someone I had interviewed with before even accepting the Yodle role, offering me a job because the position I was interested in had finally opened up. I accepted immediately. Yodle told me to just leave when I tried to put my two weeks notice in, everyone knows not to bother with that. They are dealing with a really high turnover rate right now.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Yodle Response

    We are sorry to hear you have been unhappy with parts of your Yodle experience. We strive to maintain a positive, fun culture but we recognize our sales environment is not for everyone. We have invested in manager training so that our leaders are skilled at sharing feedback and developing, motivating and supporting our employees. We are proud of our total rewards package which includes not only base compensation and an uncapped commission structure, but benefits, incentives and recognition as well. If you have a few minutes, we would like to hear more from you so we can continue to improve and to specifically hear more about your experience. Please contact Sandy Matus, HR Manager, at 512-730-4031 or smatus@yodle.com.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good First Sales Position

    Oct 29, 2013 - Sales Development Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Let me start off by saying there is a difference between 'Sales Representative' & 'Sales Development Representative': - If you're looking for a career in sales, this place will toughen you up - Co-workers are great & everyone is approachable(including the CEO) - Free lunch everyday - Everything is electronic & easy to use - Management is great and really want to help, so don't be afraid to ask them anything - If you succeed and enjoy being an SDR at Yodle, you should do well at any inside sales job - Happy hour every Friday

    Cons

    - As an SDR your sole duty is calling 90-100 small/medium sized businesses a day using a list given to you at the beginning of the day - Since so many SDR employees call 90-100, high-earning sectors become saturated and run out quicker than other sectors - You set appointments for the sales reps and never close the deal - Building a relationship with a customer is useless since you'll never talk to them again once the deal is completed - You're taught 70-80% of the product (that's for the sales reps to know) - Structured 15 minute breaks everyday the day - Not as stressful as being a sales rep (that's not top 25 in the company), but still very stressful - REALLY high turnover - Base pay is very low - In the end, your commission is based on the sales rep closing the deal

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Better than average as mass market telemarketing job

    Aug 1, 2016 - Sales Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good about giving recognition and finding way to keep sales employees focused on calling. Opportunity for good income in Max Division by selling to lawyers. They'll hype reading the script, but never complain when you're selling and representing the firm professionally.

    Cons

    Extremely high turnover due to stress of cold calling by telephone 100-200 dials per day. Within 6 mos., I was only one remaining from 30 person training class. Favoritism, and buddy system clearly in play. They claim as a motto 'take problems to the next level', but don't make the mistake of believing your immediate manager won't takes issue with any comments or suggestions made to the man above, no matter how helpful or innocuous you think you're being. Very poor customer retention due to lack of product performance. Standard operating procedure for all customers: sell highest priced package possible, then attempt to retain customer at lower tier until they succeed with their attempts to cancel.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    AWFUL

    Feb 9, 2022 - Software Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is decent, free lunch

    Cons

    No flexibility, micromanaged, unstable, has a high turnover

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Sales Rep

    Jun 16, 2016 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well structured training and excellent trainers. Team environment makes it competitive and supportive at the same time. Thorough sales scripts and coaching on delivery. A pretty cool product. They are upfront about how challenging the job is.

    Cons

    The soul-sucking knowledge that you are doing one of the most hated jobs in America- do you like getting cold-calls? I didn't think so. The fact that you are starting every conversation trying to mislead someone. The incredibly high turnover and extremely low average income that is glossed over by the company.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Company to get sales experience

    Oct 9, 2013 - Sales Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company, good management, great opportunity to make money. Company is growing very quickly so opportunities for advancement are there if you excel.

    Cons

    Cold calling, bad reviews, high dollar segments are saturated from yodle reps calling. Low base pay and very high turnover.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    R.I.P. Yodle welcome to Web.com New York

    Aug 12, 2017 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some roles can work on teams with cool technologies to learn and play with For the most part people are not working crazy hours except for certain teams/people The high turnover also brings opportunity

    Cons

    Many meetings just to have meetings A lot of politics and posturing Very hard to get things done on infrastructure since Web.com took over Turnover is high, most of the best people are moving on Extremely corporate environment Pay is on the low side compared to other tech companies Cramped floor is extremely loud and distracting There is a push towards devs taking more and more on call responsibilities and responding to things faster

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Cold-calling, selling advertising.

    Aug 12, 2013 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, fun culture, nice rewards, free meals and happy hour.

    Cons

    High turnover, like any other cold calling job, the stress never ends.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Avoid

    Aug 20, 2016 - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people you meet here will become your friends. Through training and the 9 months I worked there, I got to know many people very well and became very good friends with many of them. Happy hours on Friday, and plenty of (almost too many) contests going on every week to incentivize performance. I will say that my manager genuinely cared about seeing me succeed, however a lot of times his methods were not the best.

    Cons

    They will tell you during your interview that you can expect to make between $60-$80k. What I saw personally was that after 6 months of working there, I was tracking towards around $30k. Technically $60k was achievable, however that is not something that I witnessed on my team of 15 or so, even the ones who had been there over a year. It's simply a figure that is only achievable for 1% of people who go through this cold calling factory. Cold calling is BRUTAL. You will make between 80-120+ cold calls per day, and if you're on your game then you can set around 2 demos per day. By your third month in, you will hate it. By month 9, I was making more dials than ever before and yet was making less demo sets. It's all about the numbers here (according to management), and if you can't handle being micromanaged and having every tiny detail scrutinized, then this is not the place for you. The music, at least in my bay, was awful. Every single day was a mix of rap and house music, and I heard just about the same songs every day. It's usually very loud as well to get you 'amped' up to make more dials. You will see an insanely high turnover rate. I had a training class of around 15, and by month 3 maybe 5 of us were still there. By the time I left at month 9, only 2 of us remained. It's that way and worse across the sales department, and that is no exaggeration. This isn't a sales job. You will learn sales techniques, but they generally only apply to phone sales. You will be reading from a script, and your entire cubicle will be covered in scripts, rebuttals and other various papers. You will get burned out, everybody feels it at some point. Finally, I got tired of hearing motivational speeches every day. There's only so many sports-themed videos I can watch about Michael Jordan not making his high school basketball team that I can handle.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Yodle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yodle? Share Your Experiences

or

Yodle Photos

+ Add Photo
Yodle photo of: Recruiting team representing Yodle at SXSW!
Yodle photo of: Recruiting team representing Yodle at SXSW!
Yodle photo of: just some friendly competition
Yodle photo of: Yodle employees enjoy lunch in Austin, TX.
Yodle photo of: Yodle Austin
Yodle photo of: Yodle New York
Yodle photo of: Ready to start the day
See All Photos