KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Yodle

Part of Web.com
Is this your company?

Yodle

Add a Review

Yodle Employee Reviews about "yodle"

Updated Sep 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 of over 625 reviews

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Yodle Chairman, CEO and President  David L. Brown
David L. Brown
43 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

4m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great and friendly.(in 67 reviews)
  • "Great culture and entry level position for starting out young professionals trying to get into the marketing field(in 45 reviews)
  • "training was great... it was a month.(in 32 reviews)
  • "Great commission plan with sales.(in 28 reviews)
  • "The managers are great and really supportive.(in 27 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Yodle and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "yodle"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Yodle is now web.com

    Sep 12, 2018 - Sales Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was a fun place to work.

    Cons

    web.com is a shell of the old yodle.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A great place to develop and perfect sales skills

    Nov 18, 2011 - Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Yodle has a great emphasis on developing reps sales skills to give them the foundation to succeed at the company and after they have moved on. Everyday is a learning opportunity to get better at the job and develop long term abilities to take throughout your career. This is a great place to build sales experience. The main focus of this job is selling. Accounts are managed by a customer service team, allowing the reps to come in every day and try and close deals. There is a great energy to the sales force within the company creating an enjoyable place to come in to every morning. There is always a chance to get promoted and everyone is judged on the same criteria. Any rep can get promoted by hitting the next levels monthly goals. In under a year I am getting my first shot at the trade show circuit. The company is growing so fast that new positions are always available.

    Cons

    This is not an easy job. Most of the day is spent cold calling and it can turn in to long hours. No one here is to make the base salary. If you want to be successful you have to work hard and be prepared to come in with a good attitude every day. There can be a lot of pressure if you are behind on your numbers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    There are few places in the business world that offer the opportunity to succeed that Yodle does.

    Jan 25, 2010 - Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is really unlimited opportunity at Yodle. You yourself control your own destiny and there are really no impediments to success except your own desire to succeed. Other sales environments I've been exposed to have been very much "you against the world", but at Yodle we are truly a sales TEAM. We help one another succeed. We support one another in all facets of our work and are actually happy for each other's successes. The energy at Yodle is positive and contagious. A strong work ethic is rewarded handsomely via compensation and the quickest promotion schedule I've ever seen in business.

    Cons

    If you're not willing to work hard and apply yourself to improve then Yodle is not for you. If you feel it necessary to always concentrate on the negative rather than the positive, then Yodle is not for you. If you have no cold calling experience and feel that you aren't up to making the effort necessary to succeed, then once again, Yodle is not for you. Yodle is a place to distinguish yourself positively or negatively. The enviornment is one for winners, not losers or victims. If you have what it takes, then there is no better place to work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Experience

    May 6, 2012 - Sales Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was there for a year and a half and learned a lot about selling and the industry. Yodle has a great reputation from the outside for developing good sales talent, as was evident in my LinkedIn getting blown up 4-5 times per week with job opportunities. The atmosphere was fun and they fostered the startup mentality even as we grew. My direct manager was one of the best I've ever worked for. In the end, even though it wasn't with Yodle, the experience helped me take the next step elsewhere.

    Cons

    Unless you are in Austin or NYC, there isn't a lot of upward mobility. There was a lot of customer churn, which made developing your book of business (part of how I was paid) near impossible unless you are significantly above quota every single month. I had plenty of months where I would bring in 9-10k of new business to my book and lose 12k (or something similar... bring in 7k and lose 8k, etc). Also found out that they were not very up front about information about our specific products that we passed on to our clients. Without mentioning details, after seeing things from the outside, I realized that I was lying to some of my customers simply b/c of what we were told to say in regards to certain aspects of our product.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Yodle for Brand Networks - Customer Success Team

    Jun 29, 2016 - Customer Success Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers, good office morale, promotions generally within 2 years, competitive pay after being there a few years, quarterly bonuses, fun/vibrant office environment with occasional snacks/pancake breakfasts/charity lunches, great place to get your foot in the door in digital marketing.

    Cons

    The Yodle product lags in innovation and the sales team is often selling false promises of a product that is going to do this or that, when may be years before some aspects of the product go live. The Customer Success team is responsible for resetting client expectations, while the sales team continues to sell something that doesn't quite exist. Focus on YBN is constantly pivoting from one internal product to the next. I think this has caused many members of the product team to leave over time. Timelines for new products are often very behind schedule. Top level manangement (those in NY) don't really seem to care about many employees, ie work-load, bonuses, raises. Yodle was recently acquired by Web.com - not necessarily a con, but the company will change.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    sales rep

    Mar 3, 2016 - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros of this place all depend on the manager you get when you come out of training. There are some amazing sales people but very few can actually teach. I was very fortunate with a great manager who taught me, they actually adapted their sales ways to cater to my strengths and weaknesses. No person sells the same. Yodle gave me confidence I can actuality sell.

    Cons

    There are some great managers at yodle but the bad eggs ruin it and these bad eggs seem to run rampant on the lighthouse side.. Either they bang their reps and get fired or they micromanage you until you just quit...(to the just bad managers) They are so caught in their ways they refuse to adjust their own methods to actually help others. For example 1 manager couldn't close on their own. Every time you looked up that so called manager had a top rep doing their job and parroting the lesser experienced reps. Another manager could close but again refused to actually adapt to their reps. This one had the worst people skills ever, zero clue how they made it through an interview with senior management.. I watched several hard working people phase out because of management refusing to actually do their job. Trust is also hard to find up there. Nothing is transparent, everything is a secret. Yodle may of been great a few years ago but it has definitely fallen from grace (if there is a such thing as grace for pressuring someone until you literally feel like you are robbing good hard working people)

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Well, it WAS a great company to work for...

    May 26, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company was great to work for before the acquisition by web.com. They had a great culture with good perks and were very innovative in technology, HR, culture, etc.

    Cons

    Every day since the acquisition by web.com is more and more grim. The things that made Yodle great are slowly being torn down. And all the really smart people that made Yodle awesome are all leaving.

    Continue reading
    26 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Senior Sales Executive

    Jun 18, 2015 - Senior Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company in a lot of ways. They have a good product if it is tweaked on the customer service end. NO doubt they are sitting on a golden opportunity. I personally just think it was better when it was smaller and before they made it all about more numbers. From a profitability stand point & from an investor stand point...great. From an employee perspective it is a call center now...it's lost it's personal appeal,.

    Cons

    I think back when they started the SDR program it was a great program. I think when they implemented the scripted proticol it wss very effective for the "green peas" but not quite as effective for the senior execs. They lost a lot of good employees when they implemented fines for closing scripts & became too scripted. Yodle will always make money because they have a great inside sales floor implemented...they will always do a lot of units...but I think they lost their customer service and good accounts by getting too big too fast when they acquired outrank. I know if was from an income perspective but I think it isn't always about the quantity but a lot more to do with the quality.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Churn product out on a broad, but tech-debt heavy stack.

    Nov 15, 2014 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some decent perks, including free food on a semi-regular basis, snacks, beverages, and a developer budget. Occasional game nights. You're surrounded by really smart engineers, who are learning all the time. The tech stack is really broad, it was a blast learning and interacting with all of it. The QA practice is one of the best I've seen in the industry, and is the main reason how Yodle has been able to scale their product suite.

    Cons

    Developing engineers in Yodle == "sink or swim." Engineering managers themselves are often too busy with their own technical tasks to really help develop team members. Some technologies chosen are not given the full support they need in the technical ecosystem. Many tasks just data pushing, refactoring service code. Work life balance is supported in word, but in reality long hours are required to get ahead. Even from day one, felt very corporate, despite the façade of a "startup" feel. Yodle is nine years old, it can't be young forever. Not sure how effective the product is for most small businesses.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    If you want sales/cold calling experience then give it a shot because they will hire you.

    Apr 19, 2017 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The free lunch is decent. The lunch lady recycles about a dozen different entrees and they are reasonably made for being cafeteria food. Sometimes it's best just to get the grilled chicken though. The salad is bar is also fresh so that's good. - The bathrooms are surprisingly clean. They have this repair man that always keeps up with reparations around the office. - There is plenty of transparency. You are given a fair chance to reach goals and they will give you a heads up as to when you will get fired if your aren't being consistent. - Web.com is bringing some better, less hated products to the table.

    Cons

    - People usually quit before they are fired. About 20% of the people they hire find some success. After 7 months of being there I was the longest serving employee (apart from my manager) on my team. - High pressure sales with a very mediocre product. The Yodle product is hard to believe in as it has not been updated in years and doesn't perform as prommised. - Clients churn all the time and you have to pay back your commission on those sales. Those who are very successful (because they pressure sell and get fed leads) end up having to work just to pay back their commission. - It get's boring when you aren't selling. - Unless you are a top performer who gets fed leads you probably won't be making much more than $35k-$40k per year.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 100 Reviews

Popular Careers with Yodle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Yodle? Share Your Experiences

or

Yodle Photos

+ Add Photo
Yodle photo of: Recruiting team representing Yodle at SXSW!
Yodle photo of: Recruiting team representing Yodle at SXSW!
Yodle photo of: just some friendly competition
Yodle photo of: Yodle employees enjoy lunch in Austin, TX.
Yodle photo of: Yodle Austin
Yodle photo of: Yodle New York
Yodle photo of: Ready to start the day
See All Photos