York Region Reviews | Glassdoor

York Region Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
York Region CEO Wayne Emmerson
Wayne Emmerson
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unionized positions make it difficult to get a permanent position due to preference for seniority over fit(in 5 reviews)

  • "No cons to mention while working here(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at York Region

    Pros

    Never work over-time, fun meetings and awesome working culture

    Cons

    Project targets are a little vague and restrictions to use new analysis tools

    York Region2016-11-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great and they train you well. People are really friendly and nice and there is a lot of job security.

    Cons

    All the cons that come with working in a government position but since it is a government position it should be expected. Advancement based on seniority can be problematic.

    Advice to Management

    Keep showing your employees that you care!

    York Region2015-11-26
  3. "Lots of opportunity and lots of heart!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Client Services, Information Management in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -People are friendly, professional and collaborative -Good Senior Leadership Team that is committed to the Organizations values. - Organization is committed to creating an inclusive and diverse workplace - Very good benefits including flex time, compressed work week, telework, performance pay -Strong staff participation in the United Way Campaign -I have worked in Federal Government, For-profit, Non-profit,... Private Sector and this continues to be my favourite place to work. I really enjoy the people and the organizational culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Decentralized budget oversight amongst departments creates a two tier system which allows Departments to empire build - Systemic pay parity issues unintentionally create pockets of the organization that are "pink collar ghettos", particularly in support departments.

    Advice to Management

    HR policies and approaches could be updated More centralized control over how departments spend their budget to avoid creating a two class system of employees (haves and have-nots)

    York Region2019-06-28
  4. "Room to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RPN, RAI Coordinator in Maple, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you try hard you can move up in the corporation, they will allow for the training when they feel the position is required and your supervisor allows

    Cons

    The need to get along with your supervisor to be able to advance in your career

    York Region2019-06-24
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at York Region full-time

    Pros

    You feel respected & valued

    Cons

    The bureaucracy can be tedious.

    York Region2019-05-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Limited opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits, meaningful work for benefits community I live in

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement and growth are limited, change management is poorly orchestrated.

    Advice to Management

    Revise HR strategy and hiring practices; stop relying on temporary and contract workers to provide service - it results in cost savings at the expense of providing great customer service

    York Region2019-05-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of workplace politics and red-tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay and benefits - steady paced work

    Cons

    - Know your place and status here. It's all about who has more seniority than you. - limited innovation and creativity - poor communication as you have to cushion every comment/opinion you share

    York Region2019-05-29
  8. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at York Region full-time

    Pros

    Very nice co-workers, good pay

    Cons

    hard to move up or grow within the organization, customers can be really difficult, management comes up with rules that are inconsistent and doesnt apply to everyone. HR is difficult to communicate with.

    York Region2019-04-07
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at York Region full-time

    Pros

    Welcoming and friendly environment, great support staff!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    York Region2019-02-06
  10. "Analyst at York Region"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at York Region full-time

    Pros

    good pay, benefits, pension, support, bonus, expansion

    Cons

    over worked long hours management hierarchy no room for growth

    York Region2019-01-10
Found 61 reviews