York Region Reviews | Glassdoor

York Region Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
95%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
York Region Chairman & CEO Wayne Emmerson
Wayne Emmerson
19 Ratings
  1. "Payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Payroll Administrator 

    I worked at York Region full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, management is helpful

    Cons

    None. I really enjoyed working there.

    York Region2019-12-05
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Assistant in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job life balance, good pay

    Cons

    Lack of growth, career advancement

    York Region2019-11-23
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Early Interventionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, employers cares about you, training, salary

    Cons

    Government cuts, job freeze due to cuts

    York Region2019-11-08
  4. "L&D Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee engagement programs, lots of opportunity to move around, support growth and development, work life balance

    Cons

    Seniority comes into play a lot working in a union environment

    York Region2019-10-29
  5. "Large office, small town feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great learning environment. Potential for growth.

    Cons

    Some confusion between the responsibilities of corporate IT and the various integrated business services.

    Advice to Management

    Centralize IT

    York Region2019-10-06
  6. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sergeant in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Respect, values, variety, benefits and challenges

    Cons

    As far as a working environment goes, I have no cons. Every job has its good and bad. I’m a retired police officer and I had an excellent career.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    York Region2019-09-16
  7. "Lots of opportunity and lots of heart!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Client Services, Information Management in Newmarket, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Region full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -People are friendly, professional and collaborative -Good Senior Leadership Team that is committed to the Organizations values. - Organization is committed to creating an inclusive and diverse workplace - Very good benefits including flex time, compressed work week, telework, performance pay -Strong staff participation in the United Way Campaign -I have worked in Federal Government, For-profit, Non-profit, Private Sector and this continues to be my favourite place to work. I really enjoy the people and the organizational culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Decentralized budget oversight amongst departments creates a two tier system which allows Departments to empire build - Systemic pay parity issues unintentionally create pockets of the organization that are "pink collar ghettos", particularly in support departments.

    Advice to Management

    HR policies and approaches could be updated More centralized control over how departments spend their budget to avoid creating a two class system of employees (haves and have-nots)

    York Region2019-06-28
  8. "Room to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RPN, RAI Coordinator in Maple, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you try hard you can move up in the corporation, they will allow for the training when they feel the position is required and your supervisor allows

    Cons

    The need to get along with your supervisor to be able to advance in your career

    York Region2019-06-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of workplace politics and red-tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at York Region full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay and benefits - steady paced work

    Cons

    - Know your place and status here. It's all about who has more seniority than you. - limited innovation and creativity - poor communication as you have to cushion every comment/opinion you share

    York Region2019-05-29
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at York Region full-time

    Pros

    You feel respected & valued

    Cons

    The bureaucracy can be tedious.

    York Region2019-05-23
Found 67 reviews