York Risk Services Group Reviews | Glassdoor

York Risk Services Group Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 357 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
York Risk Services Group CEO Thomas W. Warsop, III
Thomas W. Warsop, III
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is of the upmost importance(in 24 reviews)

  • "Flexible work environment, work from home, but still feels like my team is my family(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management leaves lower management out of the loop which affects the employees under them(in 20 reviews)

  • "There are no concrete metrics which means there isn't much accountability on other adjusters(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Growth, Family Environment, & Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with York for almost 2 years now. During my time here York has offered me opportunities for growth, welcomed my ideas and shown me a sense of "family" which is what I was hoping for. Though there have been some changes, it has challenged me in my position to stretch my abilities and use the tools I've learned here. York seems to really care about the moral and balance of the lives of their employees.

    Cons

    If I had to choose a "con", I would say there aren't enough offices to share the opportunities, to others searching for a company like York.

    York Risk Services Group2019-04-12

    York Risk Services Group Response

    April 12, 2019

    Thanks for sharing the love! Our associates are our most important asset. Molly, HR Team

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company To work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Jersey City, NJ

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    We were just acquired by another company and some people might lose jobs.

    York Risk Services Group2019-08-29
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Dublin, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sometimes there is autonomy, sometimes not. It's great when there is.

    Cons

    So much turbulence in this company. Always trying to get acquired. Just got acquired by Sedgwick, so we'll see where that goes. Guessing more of the same. IT Cost Center inside of a stodgy insurance company, so not expecting any kind of vibrant tech culture.

    Advice to Management

    Technology matters, so stop treating your entire IT function like a contractor.

    York Risk Services Group2019-09-14
  4. "Nice people, Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time off is AMAZING. They have perks for leaving early the day before holidays and your birthday and anniversary.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive enough.

    York Risk Services Group2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Claim Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Benefit Coordinator/Claim Adjuster in Richmond, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working for a Client with state holidays off.

    Cons

    No growth within the company to current office or other offices.

    York Risk Services Group2019-08-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "York is a wonderful company that takes care of its employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Property Casualty Claims in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Remote working, flexible work schedules, incentives given for good work, recognition given for exceptional work, HR/Payroll/System Platforms are user friendly, York has never downsized in the 3.5 years I have worked here, opportunities for promotion are available, surveys taken quarterly to pulse check employee feedback and changes are made based upon the feedback given.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits could be more competitive. Communication from upper level management to middle management had been a challenge in the past but has gotten so much better in the recent months.

    Advice to Management

    Work to make our pay and benefits more competitive with the market

    York Risk Services Group2019-07-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A collaborative place where results matter."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A number of the work environments foster a collaborate approach to problem solving. Even if client service requirements are rigid, creativity is encourage to clarify the best way to do things. The culture in these locations is open and transparent. Results matter. They are rewarded and recognized.

    Cons

    There is an opportunity to improve communication/coordination between corporate departments that overlap.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain continued individual accountability at all levels and places throughout the organization. Be cautious about centralizing power in non-client facing departments that do not have a direct tie to our customers.

    York Risk Services Group2019-07-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed workplace, can wear jeans and work remotely, progressive, management can be approachable

    Cons

    Need more of a unified structure

    York Risk Services Group2019-07-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sigh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse Case Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work remote, PTO is good.

    Cons

    York does not practice what it's mission statement says. Its all about the QA score, not about what you did to bring the case to closure. Expected to work TCM and FCM and held to the TCM standard. Expected to be on the phone working TCM files when you are driving down the interstate. Senior manager placed in a position she is not qualified for, when you ask a question or need help her answer is I don't know, not... I don't know but I will find out for you. Bonus plan is horrible, you never get your final numbers to know if you made bonus. If you get a bonus it will just show up on your check several months later. You have no idea what numbers they used to come up with it. You ask for your production report and you never get it, told I don't know how to get that report, never once says let me find out for you. As you can tell most of this comes from York placing a senior manager in a position that she is not qualified for, and then not following up with the staff that she supervises to see how it is working out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's all about the QA scores, NO focus or recognition on moving cases forward. Unbelievable the amount of managers in this company but NO focus on what is really the driving force, your great employees that get the job done. NO recognition by anyone for a job well done.

    York Risk Services Group2019-08-27
  10. "York as an Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at York Risk Services Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized onboarding and HR process Sr. Leadership I trust Well organized tools and brand Good benefits

    Cons

    Some unorganized processes across business sectors The long tenure of teams makes change an uphill battle

    York Risk Services Group2019-07-22
Found 357 reviews