Yosemite National Park Reviews | Glassdoor

Yosemite National Park Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Yosemite National Park CEO  (no image)
0 Ratings
  1. "Fun summer job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Backpacking Guide 
    Recommends

    I worked at Yosemite National Park

    Pros

    Spend the summer outdoors working with kids and adults through challenging yet rewarding backcountry expereinces.

    Cons

    Nonprofit so admin is a bit short staffed and can be unorganized at times

    Yosemite National Park2019-10-11
  2. "Great people, Great Experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in El Portal, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yosemite National Park for less than a year

    Pros

    I was given a variety of different task throughout my time at Yosemite to both expand my knowledge of civil engineering and to introduce me to different opportunities within Civil Engineering. I was tasking with surveying, AutoCAD use for trail bridge drawings, helped with electrical drawings, standard drawings with use of AutoCAD, introduced to NPS polices and procedures, and so much more.

    Cons

    The engineering department is understaffed but seem to keep up pretty well. They could have used a few more employees while I was there but I didn't experience the full effect of this as an intern. They were working on hiring a few more engineers, which is great.

    Yosemite National Park2019-04-05
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Yosemite National Park, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Yosemite National Park for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people. Great paid time (holidays) off and hours earned for time off. There are many protections for employees and everyone has to be treated fairly.

    Cons

    Not many. Only one I can think of is uncertainty with Trump admin and government shutdowns and lack of funding.

    Yosemite National Park2018-01-17
  4. "Roomskeeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Roomskeeper 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Yosemite National Park full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fun place to work. Employees are a community. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Far from populous areas and limited transportation out of the valley.

    Yosemite National Park2017-07-12
  5. "Park Ranger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yosemite National Park part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work if you love the outdoors, engaging with people, and protecting our natural resources. Best job ever!

    Cons

    Sometimes the bureaucracy does get in the way, and even if you have a great idea it might take months to come to fruition, if at all.

    Advice to Management

    I wish they could be more responsive to new ideas and suggestions from employees. Also, not to treat seasonal rangers as expendable.

    Yosemite National Park2016-12-15
  6. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Intern in Merced, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Yosemite National Park for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amount of professional contact you have all around you - Professionalism from each Park staff employee - Significant opportunity for growth with the various branches of Yosemite - Able to gain extensive knowledge about Human Resources related topics

    Cons

    - If you do not enjoy being in an office all day, this is not the position for you.

    Yosemite National Park2015-07-15
  7. "Best outdoors company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Associate Systems Analyst in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yosemite National Park for less than a year

    Pros

    It was one of the best jobs that I ever had. The people where amazing and the scenery and being out doors in one of the worlds greatest national parks was awesome.

    Cons

    There where lots of dangerous things to watch out for such as rattle snakes or falling rocks. But if you an outdoors person you understand that this is just part of the territory.

    Yosemite National Park2015-06-12
  8. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visitor Use Assistant in Yosemite National Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Yosemite National Park full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a wonderful feeling to meet people who have traveled from all areas of the world just to briefly visit the place where I was living. That's how beautiful Yosemite is.

    Cons

    The actual job can be a bit mundane. It was important for me to provide great experiences to others to keep my own morale up.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management is a definitely a distant entity when working for NPS :)

    Yosemite National Park2015-03-17
Found 8 reviews