YouGov Reviews | Glassdoor

YouGov Reviews

Updated January 25, 2017
39 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
YouGov CEO Stephan Shakespeare
Stephan Shakespeare
23 Ratings

39 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Organization on the Rise"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YouGov (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    YouGov rewards its stars. If you find ways to add value and go above and beyond the call of duty, you'll see yourself rise quickly. If you want to do the bare minimum, you might want to do it elsewhere- you'll go nowhere fast if you're the "punch in and punch out" type.

    YouGov's syndicated products and custom research offerings are becoming recognized by the business industry nationwide. Often, when we visit clients or prospective partners, they're aware of our organization before we even step foot in the door- and our company name has cachet behind it.

    Cons

    Team building can get better across the organization. Global connectivity between hubs and standardization of work processes can also be improved. Turnover ratios within certain verticals should be given a harder look by senior management.

    Advice to Management

    Workplace happiness is important and should be curated. Also, continue to mine the lower ranks and identify stars; give them a clear path to success within the company.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Worst employer I've worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Palo Alto, CA
    Former Employee - Analyst in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at YouGov full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Convenient location? In some specific instances, felt encouraged and supported by

    Cons

    Thinking about my time at YouGov still fills me with anxiety. Although there are *some* smart people working here, the management is toxic, the products were of questionable value, and the culture was pretty non-existent. Work-life balance was hard, as I was often expected to work nights and weekends (often >60 hrs/week). My manager was known for being abrasive, but concerns raised to HR were dismissed, as nothing he was doing was *illegal*. I developed an anxiety condition from the overwork, constant criticism, and gaslighting.

    The technical infrastructure wasn't well-maintained, and I was frequently unable to complete my work due to non-functioning pipelines. Engineers were understaffed and often grumpy, occasionally refusing to do work for folks they didn't think paid them enough respect. It was weird.

    I never really bought into the value of YG's syndicated products, as I came to realize that the data they were based on was problematic, and we couldn't deduce any real insights (even internally) from it. The sustainability of the business model seems to be to constantly attract new clients to replace those that have left (in droves). As a result, salespeople have a VERY hard job, and are selling a product without clear value to their clients.

    When I left, I got a similar job in the area with a salary nearly twice what I made at YG. No longer having to deal with the toxic culture has greatly improved my quality of life.

    There's really no "culture" across the company. There was no "teambuilding", training, or "all-hands" in the US to keep folks up to date.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect. Do MORE than the minimum legal requirement to ensure a good experience. Do 360 manager reviews, so that bad managers have feedback (and complaints are on the record). Consider removing notoriously difficult managers.

    YouGov Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Sr HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. We have not been in Palo Alto for over a year so I am not certain if this review was written very late, or if the city was just entered incorrectly. Regardless, I am ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Development Culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Working remotely has its perks and developers on the teams are all great people. There are some interesting problems to solve with opportunity to work with new technology.

    Cons

    Development management is non-existant. As roles become available, they are filled by other developers without actually defining a new role. The result is that some developers become managers and see the promotion as a means of having others code for them. Project management techniques are absent in favor of the "manager" defining whatever sort of goals he/she wants.

    Advice to Management

    Great developers have left the company. These sorts of people really could have made a huge difference, but they quickly recognized the toxic software development environment and left. While the company may not be a "software" company, the emphasis on technology has been thought of as a competitive advantage. If there is a desire to increase the impact of technology in the company, invest finding real development managers that can help increase velocity and create high functioning teams.

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, we have a very strong tech offering now and brought in senior experts to spearhead our development functions. This is a real focus for us and is being driven by industry ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love YouGov"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Collaborative workplace and great team

    Cons

    UK-focused at time and not on the US

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, I take onboard your comments and can assure you that with our new structures we are a much more globally focused business.


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great work place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great co-workers, very knowledgeable and willing to help. Flexible work place, can work from home, if necessary.

    Cons

    Need to invest in computer more often. Also, have more rewards for employee like lunches. More organization to deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Organize project deadlines, have more "reward" lunches for employees.

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.


  7. "Great culture and work ethic"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YouGov full-time

    Pros

    There is a great work ethic across YouGov, specifically the NYC office
    Dedicated and talented work colleagues who seem to genuinely care about each other and the work they are doing

    Cons

    None that i've seen so far

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for sharing.


  8. "Growing Company, great culture in NYC"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Growing, successful businesses within the company. Young team that cares about each other personally and professionally. Opportunities to learn if you are interested in doing so.

    Cons

    With a fast moving business transparency and direction can be challenging and can get lost in the shuffle. More career development would be helpful.

    Advice to Management

    Reward most loyal employees, celebrate successes more

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    This is very useful, thanks for sharing.


  9. "YouGov California"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Vice President in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at YouGov full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Smart people and a flexible organization; good work/life balance, fun and engaging work, long-time team team members. Many folks have done various jobs in the organization so the breath of knowledge across teams is unusual.
    California group is about 30, just the right size so you can know everyone. Compensation is good. Unusually good benefits include 401k match and Caltrain pass.

    Cons

    If you expect the structure of a company like Oracle you will disappointed. The California team is more agile and flexible- less stiff. The culture is more start-up than stodgy.

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share.


  10. Helpful (7)

    "Sink or swim, lack direction and integrity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    every one goes out drinking and comes in late, they seem to have no problem with that

    Cons

    NO TRAINING, they gave me all these different things to research and nothing ever led to me understanding my job. NO structure in the company and everyone is for themselves!

    Advice to Management

    Compile a training program to help your employees understand what they are supposed to do and what they are selling. Manger your time to speak with your employees instead of asking to have a "chat" when it is convenient to you!

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for sharing, you will be pleased to hear that we now have dedicated learning and development resource across the globe.


  11. "Overview"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good culture, and good work/life balance. Also really innovative and pushes the boundaries.

    Cons

    Communication isn't always the best

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication company wide

    YouGov Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for sharing and work is underway to improve company wide comms.



Showing 39 of 45 reviews
Reset Filters