Young Harris College Reviews | Glassdoor

Young Harris College Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Young Harris College CEO Drew Van Horn
Drew Van Horn
1 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in North Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Young Harris College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful, peaceful area, two hours away from Ashville, Atlanta, and Chattanooga.

    Cons

    The nearest airport is about 2 hours from the city of Young Harris.

    Advice to Management

    Do everything possible to attract and retain faculty.

    Young Harris College2019-03-26
  2. "Future is not looking good for YHC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Young Harris College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Beautiful campus -Decent paid vacation/time off for holidays

    Cons

    -lack of strong/efficient leaders -no strategic plan, certain VPs did not know how to lead their respective departments/areas -petty office politics abound (serious problem) -lack of transparency (is YOUR job safe? Who knows?) -pay could be better, compared to other schools in area -lots of turnover, nobody seems to want to stay and work at YHC -cutting benefits that were available when hired

    Advice to Management

    -be transparent, especially if you are going to claim to be transparent -be professional, don't allow personal circumstances to dictate office actions -be authentic/honest/no BS, in general, don't be fake -figure out how you want the actual internal structure of the college to be, so employees don't have to worry about their jobs being removed/changed. -learn to communicate like adults, not like we're all in... middle school

    Show More
    Young Harris College2019-04-19
  3. "Great place for student workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends

    I worked at Young Harris College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible, great bosses, everyone's nice, great for some extra cash

    Cons

    if there is more than one student worker, things can get boring because jobs are split up

    Young Harris College2018-05-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Young Harris College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people around you make it a positive work environment

    Cons

    Very under paid compared to other schools

    Advice to Management

    Better salaries

    Young Harris College2018-04-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Faculty Member 

    I have been working at Young Harris College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Recent hires in the administration and faculty have been excellent. It's a small college, so your contributions make a real difference.

    Cons

    We're coming out of a period of radical instability (President, Dean of Faculty, VP of Student Development all left within the last year; we have new leadership in Admissions as well). Recent hires are excellent, thanks to the tough job market. There is a marked difference in quality between newer faculty and older faculty. We have not had raises in several years, though this is supposed to change.

    Young Harris College2018-03-04
  6. "yhc ITECH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Help Desk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Young Harris College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Convenient working hours, nice staff

    Cons

    activities may be a little boring

    Young Harris College2017-05-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Young Harris College full-time

    Pros

    Tremendous growth potential, tons of outdoor activities

    Cons

    Rural setting may be an issue

    Young Harris College2017-04-20
  8. "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Hiawassee, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Young Harris College for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with excellent benefits

    Cons

    There are no cons. It is a wonderful place.

    Young Harris College2016-04-29
  9. "Assistant Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Young Harris College full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice time off, beautiful area

    Cons

    Old fashioned, stuck in their ways, negativity abounds. Mostly my current coworkers, but there is an unwillingness to do anything about it.

    Advice to Management

    Break walls! Try new things and take risks.

    Young Harris College2016-04-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Young Harris College full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, Beautiful Campus, gym on site, good events and sports, dining hall and "fringe" benefits are abundant.

    Cons

    Very small town. Lots of good-old-boy politics. Hard work is not rewarded well. Staff and faculty are completely different pay scales. Pay is very bad for staff. Benefits are good, but worse for younger/new workers and more favored towards workers who have been here for a long time.

    Advice to Management

    Spend considerable time reviewing your employee retention policies or the college will continue to be a revolving door of talent. You get good people, and they leave for the same reasons your students leave. Now that the college is the size you need you should concentrate on making it the quality you need by spending the time and money on people instead of facilities.

    Young Harris College2016-03-10
Found 18 reviews