Young Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Young Life Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Young Life President Denny Rydberg (no image)
Denny Rydberg
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love this ministry and how relational It is(in 31 reviews)

  • "flexible hours, great people surrounding you, supportive company(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Experience not necessarily useful outside of ministry-related career(in 17 reviews)

  • "With any ministry job, there can be long hours(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful Ministry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Young Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great culture, values, insurance, relationships!

    Cons

    sometimes tough to balance home and work life

    Young Life2020-01-15
  2. "Young Life is an incredible organization to work for until you have kids."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Young Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, incredible benefits, wonderful community.

    Cons

    Terrible compensation, lack of organizational structure, not much room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Young Life should take steps to paying their staff who desire to be career staff with the organization and more competitve salary as well as develop a better organizational structure that encourages mentorship and leadership development.

    Young Life2019-12-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Love the Mission of YL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Area Administrator 

    I have been working at Young Life part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, great people surrounding you, supportive company

    Cons

    salary is just extra cash, not living wage

    Young Life2019-11-23
  5. "I love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in San Marcos, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Young Life part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love this ministry and how relational It is.

    Cons

    Some love young life more than Jesus

    Young Life2019-11-20
  6. "Great Ministry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Young Life full-time

    Pros

    You will receive the best training to be a missionary. A lot of freedom to create your own culture in your ministry

    Cons

    More supervision early on would help for more success

    Young Life2019-12-04
  7. "Great work little life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Young Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with Kids and helping them know Jesus is incredible.

    Cons

    Raising your own salary and always being on call.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more.

    Young Life2019-11-17
  8. "Dynamic work & excellent training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Director in Ojai, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Young Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a team of people committed to investing in our younger generations was some of the most rewarding work I've done. There were so many relationships built at a bunch of different levels: locally, regionally, nationally, even internationally. The potential for networking and creating support systems are amazing and broaden a community's capacity to change for the better.

    Cons

    The donor fundraising model seems outdated and also struggles to work in a non-profit saturated society (the United States that is). Most, if not all staff positions requires the individual staff member to fundraise their own salary. This is neither sustainable nor viable - again, we've hit a societal saturation point in asking people for money.

    Advice to Management

    There is room for out-of-the-box thinking and creativity in how to fund the mission of YL. So much potential to be innovative and avant gard - especially with the people that YL attracts. Building teams and brainstorming how each community can support YL has great potential.

    Young Life2019-09-09
  9. "Working with Young Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Young Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top notch hospitality and working outside are bonuses

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities are limited in most jobs

    Young Life2019-08-12
  10. "love YL!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Salinas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Young Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the ministry of YL! Powerful and transformational!!!

    Cons

    I loved my years on staff!

    Advice to Management

    More attention to spiritual care

    Young Life2019-07-31
  11. "Great part time role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Young Life part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and meaningful work

    Cons

    Fundraising for your own salary seems like it isn’t the best use of ministry time

    Young Life2019-07-31
Found 200 reviews