Young Living Essential Oils Reviews | Glassdoor

Young Living Essential Oils Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 213 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Young Living Essential Oils CEO Mary Young
Mary Young
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee benefits are great, get the free product through monthly employee points-- Also employees get 50-70% discount on the products(in 33 reviews)

  • "They take care of you and offer you a lot of great benefits(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Chaotic initiatives driven by reactive upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Unsafe information shared by company and distributors(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people, good culture, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Spanish Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, a lot of opportunity for growth in the company and willingness to reach out to co-workers. Very friendly/family oriented company.

    Cons

    Give employees more opportunity to contribute to the workings of the company rather than top down format

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-05-16
  2. "Fun Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Specialist in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have made great friendships with my coworkers and I enjoy coming to work everyday. The new building has a really great gym facility and cafeteria.

    Cons

    There seems to be a disconnect with upper management when it comes to product timelines.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the full development process.

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-05-16
  3. "YL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conduct Success Advocate in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Giving back, community involvement, nice people with great team support

    Cons

    salary was low compare to market value, only okay benefits, not much schedule flexibility, policies keep on changing

    Advice to Management

    be consistent and have a clear direction of where they want to go

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-05-08
  4. "Half-Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Knowledge Base Administrative in American Fork, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Free products (if you’re in to that) -Possible flexible hours -Good work atmosphere

    Cons

    -Pay is not competitive -No path for growth in the company -Little to no direction from top managers or corporate

    Advice to Management

    Management should have a vision of the future and be able to pass that on to employees and help them see their part in that future. Right now management does not have a clear idea if the future and therefore does not know who is going to help them get there.

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-05-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dont expect a raise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping Lead in Spanish Fork, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great Coworkers Simple but demanding work Assignment Diversity Benefits Holiday gifts Small bonuses (nothing to write home about) Work is monotonous so it's easy to zone out while listening to music or an audiobook

    Cons

    Some members of leadership are lazy, with the exception of poor attendance it feels like the lazy associates/ leads / trainers have to try to get terminated or quit out of boredom. Base pay in the shipping department varies from $12 -$14 an hour. Some senior (and I use that term loosely as hardly anyone makes it past 2 or 3 years) members of leadership make less than a dollar more than employees that just started yesterday....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Compensate associates accordingly. An associate that knows the ins and outs, can operate machinery, and shows exceptional leadership skills shouldnt be making as little as the guy that started yesterday. Stop screwing associates out of yearly merits through shady practices. An associate with multiple years of experience in your warehouse is more valuable than the person that looks good on paper

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-03-31

    Young Living Essential Oils Response

    April 29, 2019Global Talent Manager

    Young Living offers bonuses, merits, and promotions throughout the year and has had great success with this process. While the work my be repetitive at times, we strive on creating a good culture and environment for all YL employees. We offer many perks to make work fun and opportunities ...

    Show More
  6. "A company with heart and a mission to help others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Distributor in Galveston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Young Living Essential Oils part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    YL is a wonderful company to join. The support, information and help you receive is tremendous. I love this company and what they represent. I see myself here for a very long time. There are great growth opportunities, as well as a great pay structure. You get to work with great upline that is there to answer questions and help with training. You are part of something great, whether you choose to be a customer or...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you choose Young Living as a business, treat it as such. Love what you do, learn as much as you can and share with others. You get what you give to your growth.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the excellence going!

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-03-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Umm... Just don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Young Living attracts a lot of good people so chances are you'll be on an awesome team. Plus you have the potential for a bit of free product.

    Cons

    The members run Young Living. Therefore, the upper management has more focus and care for their own image and numbers than they do for anyone who works under them. There's a huge turnover rate from the stresses this brings. You'll probably get on a good team but it'll change crazy fast. Very little chance of moving up in the company or to other teams if you don't happen to like the management of the team you're on.

    Advice to Management

    You know, care for the people who work under you. They're the ones making you look good and getting you those numbers you so highly covet.

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-03-26

    Young Living Essential Oils Response

    March 28, 2019Global Talent Manager

    I’m so sorry you see it this way. Young Living really commits to a lucrative internal promotion from within model, for our top performers. Numerous people on our Creative team, and even the Director our Graphic Designers report to, started from the bottom and worked their way up! ...

    Show More
  8. "Passion Beyond Measure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Marketing in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Highly Passionate Executives Visionary Leadership Highly Efficacious Products Seed to Seal Commitment to Consumers Employees Who Want to Win

    Cons

    Communication Between Departments Employees Do Not Understand the Entire Vision Move so Fast that Strategy Sometimes Lacks

    Advice to Management

    Slow Down to Speed Up

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-03-15

    Young Living Essential Oils Response

    March 18, 2019Manager

    Thanks for the feedback!

  9. "Empowering Individuals to Succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of New Market Development in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young Living is a vibrant company with many talented and passionate individuals. People genuinely strive to do there best to help others succeed. There is a very collaborative culture, which is positive and infectious. Member focused and value what our members contribute to YL in a true partnership.

    Cons

    Fast growing, and with fast growth, some processes are not as efficient and stream lined, which can be frustrating at times.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to think globally striving to improve inefficiencies . Continue to partner with your lower level managers and directors on initiatives and strategy to avoid over committing resources and ensure we continue to deliver to our customers and employees expectations.

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-03-12

    Young Living Essential Oils Response

    March 18, 2019Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review, we appreciate it!

  10. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Services 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Young Living Essential Oils full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - There are some great people who work there - They feed you sometimes - The starting pay is a little above average

    Cons

    - I recently talked to management about rumors that there would be lay-offs. They denied them...and shortly thereafter they laid off a good handful of high performing employees - The company is expanding too quickly and is headed for financial instability - Very bureaucratic structure - A lot of the corporate executives lack business acumen and are there because they, with the founders, believe essential oils are God's...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - This is a nearly 2 billion dollar mom and pop shop, when will it start running like an actual business? - Put the business needs before your own personal interests. (Don't partner with a CBD Oil company just because Jared Turner owns half of it) - Run this like a business not like a cult.

    Young Living Essential Oils2019-04-16
Found 213 reviews