Young & Rubicam Reviews

Updated May 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
76%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Young & Rubicam CEO David Sable
David Sable
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and overall culture(in 20 reviews)

  • "Smart, good people who generally support each other(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Miami office - Excellent culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Copywriter in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Young & Rubicam full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people to work with and great agency culture. Hours were good, only stayed late from time to time.

    Cons

    Salary was on the lower end for Miami

    Continue reading
    Young & Rubicam2019-03-15
  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Producer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Young & Rubicam full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong Leadership. Opportunity for advancement is there as long as you can prove you can do the work.

    Cons

    Long hours. You need to really enjoy the creative process to advance in the company

    Young & Rubicam2020-01-02
  3. "Good People. Slow to invest in digital tools."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Director 
    Recommends

    I worked at Young & Rubicam full-time

    Pros

    Good People. Good Strategic Process.

    Cons

    Y&R itself did not have good digital tools. That has likely changed with the merger with VML.

    Young & Rubicam2019-09-05
  4. "Account Supervisor"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Account Supervisor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Young & Rubicam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and overall culture

    Cons

    Promotion or salary increase difficult to achieve

    Young & Rubicam2019-05-10
  5. "Great place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Art Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Young & Rubicam full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great group of creatives, account management, and project managers.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency regarding the business health and on client relationships.

    Continue reading
    Young & Rubicam2019-01-27
  6. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Young & Rubicam full-time

    Pros

    Supportive managers, family-friendly, generous time off

    Cons

    Constant hiring and compensation freezes

    Young & Rubicam2019-01-08
  7. "Good experience and good clients"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at Young & Rubicam

    Pros

    Good remuneration and work and life balance

    Cons

    Work and life balance and lack of culture

    Young & Rubicam2018-12-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Does Y&R even exist?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Young & Rubicam full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Casual environment, good business location for commute, that's about it

    Cons

    Last I heard it got folded into VML and became something called VMLY&R. WPP bought Y&R in 2000, which was kind of the beginning of the end. Last year Sir Martin just got himself forced out of WPP the company he founded, probably for good reasons. In recent years, everybody is just there for his own, if he can keep the job keep it or move on, nobody cares about the company, maybe rightly so as the company sure doesn't care about its employees. I don't think there are enough new clients and old clients to grow or even sustain the business but hey what do I know? The fact is they try to reduce cost by lowering payroll and shift to consulting by gutting IT and hand it to Big Blue. I wonder how it is working out. If you ask Big Blue and YR management I am sure they will say it works out brilliantly. But that is like a joke or a nightmare.

    Continue reading
    Young & Rubicam2019-01-20
  9. "Small but good."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Young & Rubicam

    Pros

    Smart, small and nimble. Good people with talent.

    Cons

    Lack of new business growth and long term strategy.

    Young & Rubicam2018-12-30
  10. "Great Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Young & Rubicam full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Agency is working hard to transform and become a more modern representation of what the industry needs. Not an easy job when you are the size of Y&R and have the global footprint that they have.

    Cons

    With change comes uncertainty. In time, that will go away but for now it leaves many people uncertain about their roles and their future.

    Continue reading
    Young & Rubicam2018-12-06
Found 298 reviews