Younkers Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Dec 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
30%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Younkers CEO & President  Kathy Bufano
Kathy Bufano
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "they offered a good employee discount of 25%(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great discount, flexible hours, easy money(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "difficult customers with coupons and holidays seasons(in 24 reviews)

  • "Asking people to create store credit cards(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "employee discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales Associate

      May 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great coworkers and management, flexible hours, compensation for credit cards, great employee discount

      Cons

      bad customers (sometimes), pay could be better

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Retail Job

      Dec 3, 2020 - Retail Sales Associate in Cedar Rapids, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      they offered a good employee discount of 25%

      Cons

      not flexible hours during holiday season

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      poor pay, decent atmosphere

      Jan 19, 2020 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      employee discount, decent atmosphere if everyone in your department can get along

      Cons

      can be clicky, supervisors that are unprofessional

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company

      Sep 22, 2019 - Human Resources Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employee discount, flexible scheduling,

      Cons

      working holidays, CEO didn't connect with employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent part time job

      Jan 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexible hours -Holiday pay -Bonus for each credit card opened -20% employee discount -People are great to work with

      Cons

      -Minimum wage -Coupon policy is awful, which leads to rude customers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      2017

      Dec 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employee discount is great - generally 20% but there are special periods where it increases to 30%. When you sign someone up for a credit, it helps to boost your pay.

      Cons

      A lot of pettiness between coworkers, the management views everyone merely as bodies, communication is often lacking, and not a lot of consistency across the board.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Shoe stock associate review

      Nov 28, 2017 - Stock Associate in Grandville, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The other employees treat you like family if you work hard and act like a decent human beings. Discount is 25% after a year of working there, 20% up until a year of employment. Occasional employee discount weekends where the discount is 35% on top of coupons.

      Cons

      No room for growth, you're stuck at the position you're in. Management takes advantage of hard working people quite frequently. It is very hard to remain happy with the way you're treated for long unless you are a managers "favorite". No pay raises unless you threaten to quit. No real changes unless you complain and threaten to quit.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Don't waste your time

      Nov 10, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the employee discount is literally the only decent thing about working here, and it's still not that great. but it bundles with coupons, so i guess that's cool.

      Cons

      I was told i would work in cosmetics, then was put in fragrance. whatever. then i said i needed $15 an hour, and was told that with commission that it would make up the difference. so when i ask how much my hourly is going to be, they tell me minimum wage. I broke down the numbers and told them exactly how much i would have to sell in order to make up for the $6 hourly defecit, and they could not have cared less. The location I was hired in, as I assume many others are, was extremely low-traffic. there was no way i could make up for that. to add on to that, the management team was almost non-existent. I understand it's a big store, but i feel like i should be able to touch base with a manager at least one per 8-hour shift to make sure i'm on the right track, especially since i had no training whatsoever and was just completely winging it and hoping for the best. if i hadn't had the previous retail experience that I did, i would have run screaming from the building during my first week because of the lack of guidance. i taught myself literally everything and had almost no help other than from the girls in cosmetics. Speaking of the girls in cosmetics, i have never met such a petty, unprofessional group of women in my life. they go out of their way to make people unwanted. i accidentally befriended the wrong person on my 3rd day working there and the entire cosmetics team shunned me for the whole day. i'm talking 3rd grade girl levels of immaturity. i can't believe i even went back after that. it took me 8 days to find a manager to try to quit to. they gave me a hard time about not giving them a full two weeks notice, and i tried to explain that i literally couldn't find a manager to give it to for a full 8 DAYS!! after i left that night the general manager TEXTED me and told me not to worry about the 3 shifts i had left, and that she didn't like my attitude and didn't think i would be productive enough. what the heck ever. this was the most ludicrous retail experience i have ever had. I only stayed there for 4 weeks, and I am still baffled that a store in this bad of shape still has its doors open.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Part Time Employer

      May 24, 2017 - Retail Sales Associate in West Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed working at the Valley West Mall location. As long as you can keep up with customers and keep your department presentable, management was happy. The employee discount was generous and a nice perk.

      Cons

      Communication wasn't always the greatest. If you weren't at the morning meeting, you missed out on things.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales Associate

      Apr 3, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, great employee discount

      Cons

      Horrible pay, want you to do everything from taking freight off truck to selling it

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 English Reviews

    Work at Younkers? Share Your Experiences

    Younkers logo
    or