Youth Marketing Connection Reviews | Glassdoor

Youth Marketing Connection Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Youth Marketing Connection CEO Ben Varquez  (no image)
Ben Varquez
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "YMC has been so great to work for(in 7 reviews)

  • "Being able to represent a brand is a really cool opportunity for college students who are still exploring possible career paths(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Requiring lost of social media posting can cause us to look unauthentic(in 7 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about this internship(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brand Ambassador interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Youth Marketing Connection part-time

    Pros

    Talked to a very nice woman, was not too long.

    Cons

    nothing, it was a short and easy interview.

    Youth Marketing Connection2019-07-26
  2. "The best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Youth Marketing Connection full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership is invested in your growth, and actually cares about you. Really positive atmosphere. You get to work with awesome brands and execute really fun campaigns for them. Travel every so often, work with a bunch of different people, and the work is never monotonous. Tasks range depending on the time of year. Never too stressful and work is manageable. Excellent unlimited paid time off policy and really fun trips + activities planned for team bonding. Managing Director is truly a good, genuine person and incredible boss.

    Cons

    Working with college students, small dramas seeming big even though they are not the end of the world, some clients are difficult to work with and please. After a few years I no longer felt challenged enough or felt like I was growing + learning as much as I wanted to.

    Youth Marketing Connection2019-04-08
  3. "Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Youth Marketing Connection

    Pros

    Teaches you how to engage in teamwork around canpus

    Cons

    Can be very unorganized at time,

    Youth Marketing Connection2018-08-27
  4. "Junior Program Strategist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Youth Marketing Connection part-time

    Pros

    Everyone was so nice and welcoming to me. I enjoyed every single one of my tasks and completing my final presentation. I learned a lot and had a great time.

    Cons

    None! I had a great time.

    Youth Marketing Connection2018-05-03
  5. "Express Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Express Brand Ambassador in Athens, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Youth Marketing Connection part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very welcoming and interactive team! I always feel like I have a support system who encourages my work and helps me strive to become better.

    Cons

    There are no current cons.

    Continue reading
    Youth Marketing Connection2017-12-11
  6. "Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Youth Marketing Connection part-time

    Pros

    Great communication and benefits.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Continue reading
    Youth Marketing Connection2017-12-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Peabody, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Youth Marketing Connection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for recent college grads hoping to hold onto their heyday. Relaxed work environment and good work-life balance. Good for entry-level promotions professional.

    Cons

    You'll have work (and a job) if mgmt can maintain clients. Typical for agencies. Role mostly manages college student brand reps and light reporting. Micromanagement and lack of transparency were sometimes an issue.

    Continue reading
    Youth Marketing Connection2017-08-16

    Youth Marketing Connection Response

    August 22, 2017Managing Director / Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working for Youth Marketing Connection in Peabody, MA. We did want to note that you were actually an employee of StudentCity.com, and Youth Marketing Connection was a trade name. Since then, we've actually taken the company private, moved the office to Boston, and have changed substantially in the past 8 years. We're sorry that you didn't love your experience and felt like it was only worthy of 2 stars on Glassdoor. Without knowing your specific issues with StudentCity.com management, but we can say that being part of a publicly traded company does mean a certain lack of transparency is necessary and required. We are certainly happy that you enjoyed the relaxed work environment and work-life balance.

    Continue reading
  8. "Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Youth Marketing Connection part-time

    Pros

    Freedom to create events and schedules free gear looks good on resume

    Cons

    loose schedule Change of management when I was working No real professional experience

    Continue reading
    Youth Marketing Connection2017-04-26

    Youth Marketing Connection Response

    May 1, 2017Managing Director / Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review your position at YMC. We're very glad that you were able to enjoy the flexibility in schedule and ability to create events hand-in-hand with us and our clients, and that the experience is a good addition to your resume. We are sorry that you don't believe you received any professional experience, however. Of the thousands of students we work with each year, countless of them provide direct and immediate feedback that they learned more in a semester with YMC than in several of their courses, including skills pertaining to Event Production/Manager, Brand Marketing, Social Influencer Marketing, and Project Management. Additionally, students that have worked with YMC often provide feedback that they were able to land an enviable entry-level position and excel because of the skills acquired with YMC. Finally, as you'll certainly experience soon in your career, young professionals do change jobs and/or in YMC's case, receive promotions often and quickly. That will occasionally result in a change of management. We do everything in our power to make it as seamless as possible for those we work with. We appreciate the advice to "be more strict" and are always trying to find the right balance.

    Continue reading
  9. "Brand Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Youth Marketing Connection part-time

    Pros

    They are very friendly when it comes to their managers for the program. They are very experienced when it comes to leading the programs and they are very well structured. They make sure that you, as a brand ambassador, are taken care of (lots of product from the brand and you are paid mid semester and at the end of the semester) but also that you follow all requirements for the program.

    Cons

    They expect a lot of you as a brand ambassador and have strict deadlines. This poses as a problem when you have a lot of events and promos that you need to advertise while also fulfilling your responsibilities as a student with school and other organizations

    Youth Marketing Connection2016-10-06
  10. "Internship Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Boston, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Youth Marketing Connection for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! Their clients are fun to work with and YMC really knows how to market a brand to college students!

    Cons

    None, it's a great place and I have learned a lot!

    Youth Marketing Connection2016-04-19
Found 25 reviews