KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages Counselor Reviews

Updated Dec 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 173 of over 741 reviews

2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
78 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Fine but stressful

    Aug 4, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food, kids are fun! Cool hours iand three days offo. Great coworkers

    Cons

    Stressful and always on call. Terrible leadership and very unprofessional management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We take your concerns very seriously and will work to get them addressed. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good for the experience/pay... terrible company.

    Aug 19, 2021 - Senior Behavioral Youth Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved working here simply because I love mental health counseling of any sort. This was my first job out of school and experience wise-- definitely worth it. I loved watching kids progress and help them through trauma. I gained a lot of knowledge about different therapeutic approaches and therapies that I can apply to real life. My schedule didn't interfere with my social life and worked to my advantage more times than not. Best pay for this field of work in Georgia hands down!!

    Cons

    Unsafe/unpredictable environment and TERRIBLE UPPER MANAGEMENT!! The people who really make this job hard are the people who don't work on the courtyards and who probably don't even know your first name (or care). We deal with kids who have extensive trauma history and disabilities (physical or intellectual) so I don't expect them to not act out, however, they often times put staff as risk by attacking them and upper management does not care. I even witnessed them try to persuade my co-worker to not press charges on a kid because "it's a bad look" but if a co-worker needs to defend themselves, they don't think twice. They also will fire people with no hesitation and have no replacement so staff is often times overworked. They look at their staff as numbers rather than actual people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working with us. At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first, but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A stepping stone but be careful

    Dec 17, 2021 - Behavioral Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with the youth is fantastic. Good hours. Watching the youth progress is great.

    Cons

    Too much staff turnover. Staff members are too punitive rather than therapeutic. The staff members are too quick to physically restrain the kids instead of choosing other de-escalation options.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We take your concerns very seriously and will work to get them addressed. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Interesting place to work

    Nov 30, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Co-workers, Overtime hours

    Cons

    Toxic management, understaffing, dangerous situations

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first, but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bad

    Dec 29, 2021 - Teacher Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are a pro

    Cons

    They don’t take care of you if you sick with covid

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! Youth Villages is continuing to monitor the developments around the COVID-19 pandemic. Several of Youth Villages' values guide our response to the virus – "Kids' needs come first… always;" "We provide a safe place;" and "We are committed to our staff," - as well as established health protocols and procedures provided by the CDC and health departments across the country. As we are months into the pandemic, Youth Villages has detailed infectious disease protocols that meet Joint Commission and individual state regulations. In some cases, states are issuing new restrictions and recommendations around the virus, particularly as cases climb, and we are following those. As always, our focus is on the health and well-being of the children, families and young people we serve, as well as that of our dedicated staff. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not for everyone

    Oct 16, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and lots of overtime

    Cons

    Hardly ever get a break. For me the staff is what makes the job so stressful. Mostly everyone is only there for the money so it lacks the love actually needed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work p

    Nov 2, 2021 - Family Counselor in Greensboro, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive work environment and great benefits

    Cons

    Intense workload and a lot of driving

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for working with our youth. Working with the children and families we serve is very rewarding but has its challenges. We’re glad you were part of a strong team that worked to help you improve the lives of our families. Best of luck to you, and thank you for sharing your time and talent with Youth Villages. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    YV

    Nov 1, 2021 - Counselor in Douglassville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers make the job Staff is usually close

    Cons

    Kids are a true headache They are bad, point-blank.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you! Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  9. 3.0
    Former Intern

    Ok

    Oct 27, 2021 - Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was decent enough to live on

    Cons

    The managers would play favorites

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    First Job

    Sep 16, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Welcoming community, good training, friendly staff

    Cons

    Tough work environment, stressful, poor work-life balance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 173 Reviews

Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

or