Youth Villages Family Intervention Specialist Reviews

Updated May 10, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 of over 791 reviews

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
46 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

29.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Youth Villages~101573
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great company to work with

    Apr 18, 2022 - Family Intervention Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    this company promotes self care and work life balance. they care about the wellbeing of their employees. Training is extremely thorough.

    Cons

    All that being said, the job is salary, and there will likely be weekly overtime.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fairly decent for what the job is.

    May 2, 2022 - Family Intervention Specialist III in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Better employer than other community mental health agencies in the area

    Cons

    Systemic issues that push professional and personal boundaries making it hard to have a work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Could be Better

    May 10, 2022 - Family Intervention Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible schedule, document anywhere, make a difference, growth opportunities

    Cons

    rotating on-call schedule, lack of support, low compensation for on-call duties

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    One of many offices

    Apr 18, 2022 - Family Intervention Specialist in Tulsa, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with the families is great! and my coworkers are awesome!

    Cons

    Self-care and work-life balance is not important to this company even though they stress that it is. The pay is not enough when essentially your working two positions at once.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing! We are glad you are enjoying the culture and the people. We are constantly meeting and brainstorming ways to decrease the stress associated with the job. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company but an intense workload for not enough pay

    Nov 27, 2021 - Family Intervention Specialist in Asheville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive staff & supervisors; opportunities to advance; ample training & supervision; honorable values; positive culture

    Cons

    Workload as an intervention specialist can often be overwhelming: high needs population; a lot of driving & paperwork; pay is not enough for the amount of work that is expected of you

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We have ensured that every frontline employee who works directly with youth receives reasonable, competitive compensation. (All Youth Villages full-time positions begin at least at $15 an hour.) We also offer a competitive benefits package that rivals that of many for-profit companies. The continuing enhancement of salary and benefits is at the forefront of our CEO’s priorities in every location we serve. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Limited work like balance but great clinical experience

    Dec 12, 2021 - Family Intervention Specialist in Greensboro, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive team, ear clinical hours , flexible schedule , learn how to do treatment planning and evidence based interventions and training

    Cons

    Scheduling is difficult with families , must meet schedule needs of children , lots of documentation, hours are not typical

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay to start...

    Dec 21, 2021 - Family Intervention Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Definitely long hours and loads of paperwork. They will promote ANYONE to be a clinical supervisor, which leaves staff and new hires in a bind. The office can be "clique like", but overall the job is rewarding to see how many families you help me better.

    Cons

    Pay isn't high enough. Long drives to clients.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Get what you need here and move on

    Nov 9, 2021 - Family Intervention Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great clinical experience and training opportunities decent benefits

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance lack of support from leadership and upper management poor compensation for job descriptions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Challenging but worth it

    Feb 24, 2021 - Family Intervention Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You are always learning new things. Good professional development role for social workers. Working with kids and their families. Creating good outcomes for people. A great team of supervisors who are always available to help. Teams we work on feel homey. People care about each other here. I would have stayed in the job if my personal life circumstances let me

    Cons

    There is lots of documentation. They says it’s collaborative so there isn’t much outside of sessions but that’s not entirely true. Having 5 families is hard with so much paperwork. Drive time sucks if you get one or Two that’s out of the way. They say it is a flexible schedule but when it comes down to it, it isn’t. Higher up management doesn’t talk to you until a case goes wrong and then they put you in the hot seat, criticize you, and tries to call it “support”

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company Values

    Jan 13, 2022 - Family Intervention Specialist in Woburn, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good job first starting out

    Cons

    Inconsistent management style, lots of hours, low pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    We have ensured that every frontline employee who works directly with youth receives reasonable, competitive compensation. We also offer a competitive benefits package that rivals that of many for-profit companies. The continuing enhancement of salary and benefits is at the forefront of our CEO’s priorities in every location we serve. Thank you for the time you spent with us! Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 98 Reviews

Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

or