Find jobs for LifeSet Specialist

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages LifeSet Specialist Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 741 reviews

3.1
33%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
15 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place

    Jan 13, 2022 - LifeSet Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, potential growth , and pushes education

    Cons

    Pay could be better, emotionally taxing, more days off would be nice.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Summary

    Jan 6, 2022 - LifeSet Specialist in Manchester, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment. Understanding staff. Great pay.

    Cons

    Long work hours. Need more time off benefits.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very supportive and great culture

    Nov 21, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work for this organization do what they do because they love it and believe in the mission of the organization. Culture is so inviting and everyone is a team player.

    Cons

    Could use more vacation time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your time with us!

  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Will burn you in the first chance they get,even if you’re a “valued” employee

    Dec 3, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Making an impact in youth’s lives Good to gain some experience

    Cons

    Does not value employees. Expected to put priority on work over life/family. Not a lot of pay for amount of work expected. Always increasing their demands of employees and workload. Not much room for growth.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first, but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lifeset Specialist

    Oct 7, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist in Woburn, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with youth directly & having experience with many different organizations, stakeholders, and agencies.

    Cons

    High turn over rate that results in specialists & supervisors having to fill multiple roles outside of your job description. A lot of focus is on meeting quotas for additional state funding rather than the effectiveness of current programming structure.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! Youth Villages provides evidence-based, proven clinical approaches to helping children and families. Our intensive in-home services model focuses on building on parents’ and children’s strengths and incorporates clinically backed, trauma-informed models including trauma-focused cognitive behavioral therapy (TFCBT) and Collaborative Problem Solving®, a highly effective approach developed by Think:Kids and Massachusetts General Hospital. Our 88% success rate with families living successfully across the country is proof that our programs work. Additionally, as with many community-based programs that meet in family homes or other locations outside of an office, our clinicians are required to follow a time waiting period before leaving the set appointment location. We appreciate your feedback, and if you would like to share more, you can reach us at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Poor supervision

    Oct 4, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist in Jackson, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with clients to help pursue their goals.

    Cons

    Poor supervision. no communication between the team. No support when needed. Poor work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first, but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    No Work/Life Balance, Company is Very Anti Union/Anti Worker

    Jul 30, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist in Marlborough, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Pay is good for a social work position - Fulfilling work

    Cons

    - The company is incredibly anti union. When work got out that workers were trying to unionize, instead of trying to determine why, the company doubled down on an anti union campaign, spreading blatant anti-union information (some of which was downright untrue). They spread an environment of fear, which was confusing since the company touts wanting to support its employees. And what's worse, our two biggest "customers" (DCF and DMH) are both unionized and workers from both organizations have highlighted how much the working conditions have improved since they unionized. - There is literally no work life balance. Your supervisors will encourage you to maintain it but we are still expected to get everything in on time, see all of our kids, drive to and from and attend all of our meetings. It's entirely unsustainable. The turnover is absolutely absurd. I've been here less than 6 months and I've already seen 5 people from just my office leave for other opportunities because of the aforementioned issue. - Case loads can be absurd. We can carry up to 10 young adults in Life Set and, if you're lucky, you may only need to see them once a week but more likely than not, you'll be seeing at least half of them twice a week, meaning you somehow need to have 15 sessions a week, get your documentation and treatment plans done, attend all necessary meetings and trainings and avoid working over 40 hours a week. - There is not a lot of clinical skills training. They will train you how to use our intervention resource to find an intervention to use with your client but there is not training on how to implement the intervention with fidelity. The resource offers step by step instructions but for those who come from a non-clinical background, that often is not enough. - Our clinical judgement is often ignored. We are told to put things into our treatment plans or do things with clients that we often know are going to be triggering or unsuccessful but we are required to do so. It makes building rapport and maintaining engagement that much more difficult. - When it comes to diversity and inclusion, Youth Villages may talk the talk but they do not walk the walk. Upper management is overwhelming white folks, there has been an ongoing struggle to get paperwork updated to reflect the plethora of pronouns and gender identities that exist and the gate keeping that occurs around what can and cannot be discussed during "culture crews" is astonishing. - Management encourages you to bring your concerns to them but nothing gets done about them. Some managers even go as far as to say that they used to bring the same feedback to their supervisors when they were on the ground staff. And yet, nothing has been done to change any of these concerns despite their repeated occurrence.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your comments. Youth Villages would not be successful without the dedication of our talented team members, and provides generous benefits, wages and comprehensive training to all employees. Our organization is based on proven service models that offer intensive in-home and community-based services for youth and families in need, and works to maintain low caseloads to support our team members. We're grateful for the devotion of our employees who are focused on providing the safest forms of care, especially during the pandemic. Youth Villages is committed to maintaining a fair working environment and keeping the lines of communication open to support our culture that enriches the lives of many families.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Major Lack of Work/Life Balance

    Jul 11, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *The pay for an agency in this field for a pre-licensed person is great. Additionally, in about a year, I had three raises- one of them being a performance review raise. *You get paid for no-shows/cancellations, which doesn't happen in community mental health seeing people for therapy. *When you begin at this job, they do a good job of welcoming you to the agency. *I/we received a surprise care package near the beginning of the pandemic, which was a nice treat. *Also due to the pandemic, early on we starting receiving a significant mileage stipend due to not having to go out as much to see clients in person, as well as an increased cell phone reimbursement. *This may be a good job for those starting out in the field to get experience and to find out if you like working with people. Just know, not every agency is as rigid as this one.

    Cons

    *They will say often "let me know if there's anything I can do to help," but then when you ask for help, they don’t always follow through the way you may expect them to. *There is a severe lack of work/life balance. They will literally work you into the ground, until you are bleeding, crawling on the ground and cannot do anymore. If you still want to up work here, I suggest you maintain serious time boundaries. I felt like I was a hamster on a wheel, and it was difficult to even take a proper sick day, weekend, or evening due to the amount of work. It was a constant decision between sleep, self-care, or work. Work way too often won out. The days are usually longer than a typical work day and it is difficult to take a proper break. *There is excessive and repetitive documentation. Much of it is incredibly intrusive for the young adult, and they won't necessarily want to answer it, which will make your job tough trying to get required answers. *There are deadlines ALL-THE-TIME. Because of that, they start to lose their effectiveness, and you learn what you actually need to have in by the deadline in order to survive (monthlies, psychosocials, notes). *If you don't have some things in by the deadline, it will significantly impact your "score card." This is calculated every month, and if it's too low you may be put on a performance improvement plan. It can happen to the best of us, because there is just too much to do. *Between the excessive documentation, deadlines, scorecard, time spent driving to young adults, and trying to chase down young adults, there is way too much pressure. It will get to you, just like it did to everyone else in my team when I started. Aside from the supervisor, everyone else on the team that I started with had left before I did. *There is absolutely excessive documentation and safety planning. Many of the young adults in LifeSet have been in the system and they do not want to go into depth about their history, ESPECIALLY at the very beginning. So you will sometimes be forced to either forfeit rapport-building to try to get documentation in on Youth Villages' aggressive timeline, or you will forfeit meeting the agency's expectations/a better score on your scorecard to try to build and maintain rapport with the clients (who are supposed to be why you're doing the job in the first place). *There’s a sense of favoritism or non-favoritism from supervisors above you. *This place runs on documentation and numbers. If that is not what you want to be doing, run far away from this job. *Don’t be surprised if your experience, education, and clinical judgment isn’t respected. They have a very rigid way of doing things, and despite having a great deal of knowledge and experience on your own, you will constantly be told how to work with your young adults. The suggestions from consultation will feel forced on you, and in turn, forced on the young adult as well. There is a lot of micromanaging from consultants who never even meet the young adults, and supervisors who do not have masters degrees and/or mental health licenses. *Earlier this year there were emails circulating around about unionizing. It would appear that people are clearly not happy at their jobs and were trying to change their situation. *A lot of the messages from the company responding to the negative reviews include one of these quotes: “We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved.” or “At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support.” I'm not sure what the turnaround rate is, but I'm incredibly curious what it is. They will continue losing worthwhile, very valuable, hard-working staff if they continue to ignore the mental health of staff and the pressure they add to it by creating impossible timelines and excessive amounts of documentation. *In terms of Covid-19, they required that we asked screening questions to our young adults before seeing them, but Youth Villages didn’t seem to really care about the answers and will still want you to go see them face-to-face if symptoms are not clearly covid-19 related. I even had to go see a client in person (outside, and briefly) while she said she was in quarantine. This was a very uncomfortable situation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. Several of Youth Villages' values guide our response to the virus – "Kids' needs come first… always;" "We provide a safe place;" and "We are committed to our staff," - as well as established health protocols and procedures provided by the CDC and health departments across the country. As we are months into the pandemic, Youth Villages has detailed infectious disease protocols that meet Joint Commission and individual state regulations. In some cases, states are issuing new restrictions and recommendations around the virus, particularly as cases climb, and we are following those. As always, our focus is on the health and well-being of the children, families and young people we serve, as well as that of our dedicated staff. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Enjoyable

    May 26, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When youth accomplish big goals with you The pay and mileage reimbursement Always new ways to learn

    Cons

    Can be stressful with high risk cases / criticals Work over 40 hours some weeks Drive a lot

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  10. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great first job experience

    Apr 14, 2021 - LifeSet Specialist in Boone, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very good supervision, awesome benefits for interns and employees

    Cons

    lots of driving due to community based work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

or