KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 741 reviews

3.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
13 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Opportunities

    Jun 7, 2021 - Regional Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ongoing training and development opportunities

    Cons

    Salaries should be more competitive, but there’s been improvements overall.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We have worked to ensure that every frontline employee who works directly with youth receives reasonable, competitive compensation.  (All Youth Villages full-time positions begin at least at $15 an hour.) We also offer a competitive benefits package that rivals that of many for-profit companies. The continuing enhancement of salary and benefits is at the forefront of our CEO’s priorities in every location that we serve. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good luck

    Oct 29, 2021 - Program Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up quickly

    Cons

    On call 24/7, no work life balance, long hours (16 hour shifts every week), no guaranteed break, even if you’re sick or injured they will still ask if you can come in and help, always short staffed

    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for working with our youth. Working with the children and families we serve is very rewarding but has its challenges. We’re glad you were part of a strong team that worked to help you improve the lives of our families. Thank you for sharing your time and talent with Youth Villages. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Review

    Mar 26, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice work culture in the company

    Cons

    None. They have improved on every parameteres

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback and thank you for working with our youth. Working with the children and families we serve is very rewarding but has its challenges. We’re glad you were part of a strong team who worked to help you improve the lives of our families. Best of luck to you, and thank you for sharing your time and talent with Youth Villages. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    When is it ever okay to allow someone to hurt another person ?

    Jul 22, 2019 - Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Depending on what department you work in and what location you are at the company is a great place to work. On a typical day at work, you focus on the youth and development of the staff around you. You learn so much on the job and during the time you are with the company. The upper management is scary if you are cool with certain people than you will make it. If you go assist certain people ideas or question thing than you will have a target on you. The hardest part of the job for me was, I was promoted at the age of 24 and my executive director at the time did not think I was fit for the job because I was too young and did not have enough experience in her eyes. She did not look at my resume nor did she really believe all the accomplishment I brought to the campus. She made it her mission for the company to not listen or believe me when I reported harassment and discrimination, she made me feel low, she made my team members go against me and singled me out to the point of no return. The company mission and principle was my dream job and career, but because of my age, I was not fit for the position in her eyes and she made it her mission for everyone else to see that and because of her position, everyone joins her whether or not what she reported was true or not. Even human resources and chief of operation would not speak to me because of her (out of respect). This brings me to tears every time I write this because of the impact, tears, sweat, blood (literally), and time I put into helping and improving the work environment. I do not want anyone that reads this think "here is another mad employee" I really really enjoyed working with the company and would go back. I just could not work under her again. I wish the company leadership in headquarters would have listened to me and/or interview the employees I worked with. I was promoted three times in one year because of my performance. ugh... pray for me because it hurts still. I really enjoy what I did with the company and I was really good at my job. The area I was placed in went from the youth running away from no youth running away, the distraction of property number went down by tens of thousands, the employment rate was stable, and the youth was finally completing the program. I just cannot believe she did what she did to me. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see the employees' want to learn and develop skills that they did not know they were capable of having. WOW right! Also, see the youth flourish and accomplish so much because of the team and compassion that we brought. Man, when I went to one location, no one wanted to stay to everyone wanted to come to work because we were a family and cared about the youth and staff. Talking about praying and crying together. Just please do not allow anyone to run you away from helping them kids because they need someone like you. I almost allowed one person to kill my dream because she made me feel I did not matter and made me feel alone. Just know you are not alone, there are others that feel and understand you.

    Cons

    Thinking certain leadership would speak up when things were wrong, thinking change would be a good thing, thinking human resources would listen, thinking the company mission would be followed, thinking that company politics would not get in the way of you exceeding and being successful, thinking age discrimination was not tolerated, thinking harassment was not tolerated and just thinking this wonderful company had honest people running it. BUT BUT ha that was not the case if you speak up and want to be heard. Everything is performance-based and if you outshine folks they will take you out.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you so much for your insightful review. We sincerely value your feedback and a huge part of our growth as an organization depends on this kind of feedback. However, we are so grateful to hear your passion about the type of work we do. We want to talk to you further about your experience so we can work to improve. Please contact us at feedback@youthvillages.org. We also will share your feedback with leadership.

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay

    Jul 13, 2019 - Case Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros was the pay was okay for Mississippi

    Cons

    The cons were high turn over rate and quick burnout

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you so much for your insightful review. We sincerely value your feedback and your dedication to the children and families we serve! Thank you.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good

    Jan 30, 2019 - Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work and get your career in mental health started

    Cons

    Hours at times can be a lot.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Congratulations on your more than 10 years at Youth Villages.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good Work

    Jan 4, 2018 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We do great work and comprehensive therapy for at risk youth

    Cons

    Becomes a way of life, not just a job

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thanks for your comments and your service to children and families!

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Employee

    Oct 8, 2016 - Program Manager in Cordova, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great starter job for building a career.

    Cons

    Needs work life balance improvements.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thanks for your review! We are so happy to hear that you feel like you are getting a good foundation here and you approve of our CEO. We were recently selected as one of the Top 10 Memphis Workplaces in the large employer category by The Commercial Appeal. We’re proud of the designation because it was based solely on employee feedback in a Workplace Dynamics survey. We are continuing to support our awesome staff with significant salary increases and adjustment to staffing schedules.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Hard work but I'm grateful that I work here.

    Jan 12, 2016 - Regional Manager in Madison, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my review title I put that I'm grateful to work at Youth Villages. I truly am grateful for my employment here. First, I DO have a manager that cares about her employees. She listens and looks for ways that has positive impacts for direct staff as well as the families that we work with. I also started off as an entry level staff and was able to work my way up. I'm glad that Youth Villages promotes from within. I feel like that's a value that this company promotes to show that they see staff as important and as knowledgeable. I was able to obtain my masters and my licensure due to the educational benefits. I was also able to move closer to my family due to the relocation opportunities. I BELIEVE in the work that we do because it is research based and because we receive a lot of national recognition (all the way up to the White House!). Also, I've received a huge amount of leadership training while at Youth Villages. I really value this because I'm not sure if other non-profits in the behavioral health field place importance or resources on this. The benefits are very competitive.

    Cons

    Honestly, this is difficult work but I feel like all jobs in this field are challenging. In the social services field you're going to see some consistent challenges no matter which company you work with. At Youth Villages one of our values is "We do what we say we're going to do". Part of what we say we're going to do is deliver effective services which means that myself and my teams work very hard to ensure that families are safe 24/7. Again, we work hard but management does ask staff for feedback for ideas for improvement as well as look for ways to help with balancing the work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Place to Be

    Jan 25, 2016 - Program Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Pay is nice

    Cons

    preaches a lot about "self-care", but they do not really afford you the right.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

or