KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages Residential Counselor Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 741 reviews

1.4
1%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
9 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Its a ok place to work if you dont have children

    Mar 16, 2021 - Residential Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -You can get a job anywhere after working here -Building healthy relationships with the children -Skills

    Cons

    -The 16 hour shifts -Coming in on off days to take them to doctor appointments -Managament is terrble

    1 person found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Run

    Feb 12, 2021 - Residential Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I cannot think of one. This place is beyond toxic. It was heartbreaking that these kids have to be put in dangerous situations and they were placed with children who should be in the highest level of care.

    Cons

    RUN! Here is what important to Youth Villages: billing Medicaid through frivolous paperwork. They will preach self-care and expect you to work 24/7. Don't ever suggest that a child is not in the right level of care there, you will just be screamed at by management. They frequently take children who have serious behavioral issues that are dangerous and put them in inappropriate settings including one who broke out and brought guns back to campus and thankfully admitted it to the police. RUN.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Do not work for them

    Mar 4, 2019 - Residential Treatment Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great experience with rapport building, crisis management, and documentation - the kids

    Cons

    The staff shows blatant favoritism. They cover up the crimes and wrongdoings of their favorite coworkers and continue to put the children in harm’s way to cover up all of the lies that have been told over the years. There is corruption at all campuses and the children are suffering. Many children are abused and harmed at their facilities. Consistent sexual harassment from other coworkers of the opposite sex. Horrible pay, horrible benefits. Pat, the CEO, is phony and will walk through for photo events but not even speak to the staff or kids. It’s all a big show for the media.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    We take allegations such as this very seriously, and we would like to get more information from you. Please reach out directly at feedback@youthvillages.org so we can address your message appropriately. Thank you.

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not worth the money

    Feb 6, 2019 - Residential Teacher Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great connections with kids, nice coworkers

    Cons

    Overworked, they REFUSE to pay overtime beyond 50 hours whether you worked more than that or not

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    We appreciate your review. Your role determines if overtime is paid. If you don’t mind, can you please email feedback@youthvillages.org, and we will help look into this for you.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    How yv gave me an anxiety disorder

    Oct 24, 2016 - Residential Counselor in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked for yv in 2015 at the Portland Oregon facility. With very little training I was thrown into a situation with many violent clients who attacked me everyday. I witnessed my co-workers knocked unconscious, kicked in the face and bitten over 13 times. I would scream for help over the radio and no one would respond. I write this over a year later. I still have nightmares over the experience. I regret working there everyday. The kids were hard. They deserved better than what yv could give them. It's a sad story. How one organization can hurt so many people. So many good people that only wanted to good.

    Cons

    There are so many downsides. Yv did so wrong by me and by the kids who resided there. I hope they understand how many people they hurt and lives they destroyed. They lied to me every chance they got.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback. We no longer provide residential services in Oregon. We’re focused on providing the most effective home and community based programs in the state. Under new state leadership, we have been able to successfully expand to serve Salem, Redmond and in the Portland area. Recent focus groups and research is showing high morale among our growing staff, and the children, families and young people are succeeding in their programs. We are sorry that you’re experience with us fell short. You might want to give our new programs another look.

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Stressful!

    Jun 13, 2016 - Residential Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -great work atmosphere in residential -support staff near at all times -residential management very supportive -when you openly communicate your personal issues with your management team they do try to help you with what they can -true team work -often encourage self care -great company morals and values

    Cons

    -55 to 65 hour work week on salary -unrealistic expectations with the amount of paperwork and the kids needs -very little support with coverage when needed OR your team has to do the coverage for you, which drains everyone -work life balance is IMPOSSIBLE. You will literally have to choose one or the other to be successful in -working on your off days in order to stay above water -working for pennies with a masters degree -doesn't understand when self care doesn't occur because of employees trying to meet deadlines = burnout (clinical and residential), poor health, bad time cards

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Someone should report them to the BBB and close the down

    Nov 28, 2015 - Residential Counselor in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Youth villages has an excellent mission statement. The means by which they attempt to accomplish these ideas is illogical and entirely flawed. As a residential councilor I was assaulted at least once a shift. Punched, kicked, stabbed, visously bitten, urinated on, spit on, you name it, it happened. The clients have little to no consequences for their actions. I have witnessed numerous staff taken away bg ambulance. This is quite possiby the most unsafe, hositle environment to work in. Staff do not receive breaks and the pay is small for the risk you must take with these extremely violent individuals. I write all of this in pros as a warning to you all. This is a money making scene run by a bunch of monkies in suits. There is no organization and kids receive little to no treatment. Their orientation is propaganda that attempts to get you to believe that what they are doing is therapy. It's not. They teach buzz words to developmentally delayed and traumatized children. It's a holding cell with no therapeutic value.

    Cons

    Everything about this place is a con. It's unsafe, they pay poorly with unfair benefits packages. They value their employees little. They will lie to you every chance they get. Just run. Run as fast as you can.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Entry Level Job

    Sep 12, 2015 - Residential Counselor in Arlington, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great place to work right out of college and where you can gain some experience working with challenging populations, the mental health system, and where you get a lot of support from peers and supervisors. If you don't know something, someone is usually always available to support and advise. It is also a great community of professionals who become a sort of work family. The job itself is rewarding. There are a lot of opportunities for training and to get reimbursed for outside training if needed.

    Cons

    The job is challenging and demands long hours. Sometimes the job duties go beyond the scope of a 40 hour a week job, which is both personally and financially burdensome. The job exposes professionals to physically aggressive clients which at times is counter-productive to the role of a therapist and to the success of therapy. The health insurance is not great. As an agency that requires its staff to be in top shape this is very unfortunate.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Residential Counsellr

    Aug 8, 2015 - Residential Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Specialized training such as TF-CBT and PSB. High levels of supervision and assistance in licensure. Hish levels of professional development and opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Unrealistic agency demands from both DCS and Youth Villages. YV tends to be reactionary instead of proactive. Instead of being an angency of change, it has become a part of the problem. Redundant paperwork, redundant meetings and poor communication between corporate and counsellors.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Very stressful

    Aug 14, 2014 - Residential Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rewarding if you are able to change a child's life.

    Cons

    Their pay sucks. The job is stressful when it does not have to be.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

or