Find jobs for Teacher Counselor

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages Teacher Counselor Reviews

Updated Dec 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 of over 742 reviews

2.1
5%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
25 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best Position

    May 12, 2020 - Teacher Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great working with the kids

    Cons

    Minimum communication skills with employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your insightful feedback. We are glad to hear you have been enjoying your time while working with us. We 'd love to hear additional insights from you. Please contact us at feedback@youthvillages.org

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bad

    Dec 29, 2021 - Teacher Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are a pro

    Cons

    They don’t take care of you if you sick with covid

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! Youth Villages is continuing to monitor the developments around the COVID-19 pandemic. Several of Youth Villages' values guide our response to the virus – "Kids' needs come first… always;" "We provide a safe place;" and "We are committed to our staff," - as well as established health protocols and procedures provided by the CDC and health departments across the country. As we are months into the pandemic, Youth Villages has detailed infectious disease protocols that meet Joint Commission and individual state regulations. In some cases, states are issuing new restrictions and recommendations around the virus, particularly as cases climb, and we are following those. As always, our focus is on the health and well-being of the children, families and young people we serve, as well as that of our dedicated staff. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  3. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Meh employment

    Aug 28, 2021 - Teacher Counselor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None that I could easily recall

    Cons

    So many it’s hard to list

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you! Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Greater

    Jul 15, 2021 - Teacher Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff decent company frequent raises

    Cons

    Draining lots of turnover 16 hour shifts

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Never again

    Jul 22, 2021 - Teacher Counselor in Douglasville, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a steady paycheck

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement. I wanted to be a therapist there but the lead therapist decided she no longer wanted to hire in-house and although they would advertise positions, she only hired outside people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! Please know that we consider career development a path that can have many diverse options. So, it’s important to us for our employees to experience growth and development through our continuous training, tuition reimbursement and licensure supervision, or to pursue opportunities to advance both clinically and administratively with Youth Villages. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    YV

    Jun 24, 2021 - Teacher Counselor in Douglasville, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    3 off days, which is awesome

    Cons

    Physically and mentally draining overall

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback and thank you for working with our youth. Working with the children and families we serve is very rewarding but has its challenges. We’re glad you were part of a strong team that worked to help you improve the lives of our families. Best of luck to you and thank you for sharing your time and talent with Youth Villages. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Review

    May 12, 2021 - Teacher Counselor in Douglas, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with children and being able to touch/change a life or more

    Cons

    The management. They don’t care about their staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Make Decent Money but Very Stressful Job

    Feb 23, 2021 - Overnight Teacher Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generous overtime 3 day weekend

    Cons

    Constant turnover leads to burnout Difficult to take time off when there are staff shortages

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    No work life balance

    Feb 27, 2021 - Overnight Teacher Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and seeing the kids successfully complete treatment

    Cons

    Employee needs are over looked. No work life balance. Wouldn’t recommend if you’re married or have kids

    2 people found this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    At your own risk

    Dec 28, 2020 - Senior Teacher Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Tuition Reimbursement, but you have to give them 2 years of employment after graduating

    Cons

    -no time to anything besides go to work -fluctuation in hours -mentally and physically draining -very demanding

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Senior Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback! The safety of our employees is a top priority for our organization, regardless of program or position. We work with leadership and management to ensure every frontline employee is equipped with the appropriate contacts, tactics and knowledge to stay as safe as possible as they complete the important work we do for children and families. Our response to the virus is guided by several Youth Villages values – “Kids’ needs come first… always;” “We provide a safe place;” and “We are committed to our staff,” as well as established health protocols and procedures provided by the CDC and health departments across the country. We have detailed infectious disease protocols that meet Joint Commission and individual state regulations. In some cases, states are issuing new restrictions and recommendations around the virus, particularly as cases climb, and we are following those. As always, our focus is on the health and well-being of the children, families and young people we serve, as well as that of our dedicated staff. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 61 Reviews

Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

or