KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages Youth Counselor Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 791 reviews

3.3
35%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
12 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Fine but stressful

    Aug 4, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food, kids are fun! Cool hours iand three days offo. Great coworkers

    Cons

    Stressful and always on call. Terrible leadership and very unprofessional management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We take your concerns very seriously and will work to get them addressed. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good for the experience/pay... terrible company.

    Aug 19, 2021 - Senior Behavioral Youth Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved working here simply because I love mental health counseling of any sort. This was my first job out of school and experience wise-- definitely worth it. I loved watching kids progress and help them through trauma. I gained a lot of knowledge about different therapeutic approaches and therapies that I can apply to real life. My schedule didn't interfere with my social life and worked to my advantage more times than not. Best pay for this field of work in Georgia hands down!!

    Cons

    Unsafe/unpredictable environment and TERRIBLE UPPER MANAGEMENT!! The people who really make this job hard are the people who don't work on the courtyards and who probably don't even know your first name (or care). We deal with kids who have extensive trauma history and disabilities (physical or intellectual) so I don't expect them to not act out, however, they often times put staff as risk by attacking them and upper management does not care. I even witnessed them try to persuade my co-worker to not press charges on a kid because "it's a bad look" but if a co-worker needs to defend themselves, they don't think twice. They also will fire people with no hesitation and have no replacement so staff is often times overworked. They look at their staff as numbers rather than actual people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working with us. At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first, but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Interesting place to work

    Nov 30, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Co-workers, Overtime hours

    Cons

    Toxic management, understaffing, dangerous situations

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first, but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    First Job

    Sep 16, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Welcoming community, good training, friendly staff

    Cons

    Tough work environment, stressful, poor work-life balance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not for everyone

    Oct 16, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and lots of overtime

    Cons

    Hardly ever get a break. For me the staff is what makes the job so stressful. Mostly everyone is only there for the money so it lacks the love actually needed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company bad job

    Jul 21, 2021 - Youth Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The support you received OT BENEFITS

    Cons

    Long hours Kids are very demanding Work schedule

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and schedules required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, mainly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great experience

    Feb 8, 2021 - Behavioral Youth Counselor Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organization does great things for the youth in their care. They do their best with the difficult kids and youth despite being short staffed

    Cons

    Short staffed, difficult kids with not enough staff to supervise

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your time with our organization, and we wish you well on your future endeavors. Thank you for your time with us!

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    A good starter job

    Feb 13, 2021 - Youth Behavioral Counselor in Lithia Springs, Optional[GA]
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job is flexible. They’ll work with your schedule

    Cons

    It’s honestly too much to name.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We take your concerns very seriously and will work to get them addressed. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work.

    Mar 2, 2020 - Youth Counselor in Douglassville, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The environment of working with the staff is always welcoming. You get great benefits for a starting position.

    Cons

    The pay is not great starting off.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing. We are glad you are enjoying the culture and the people. . Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible hours

    Aug 2, 2020 - Youth Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The kids are the reason you work

    Cons

    The hours will kill you

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Youth Villages Response

    Youth Villages

    Thank you for taking out the time to give us a thoughtful review. During the hiring process we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required of our frontline staff. Many staff members enjoy the flexibility of working with company issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Youth Villages

29 days ago

Company News
LifeSet program in Louisiana helps young adults who’ve aged out of the foster care system. It gives them guidance on how to meet basic needs like housing, work and healthcare on their own. Enjoy the ten-minute listen here on NPR.
Shared image - 18 can mean an abrupt exit from foster care. For some, it's no longer a solo journey
18 can mean an abrupt exit from foster care. For some, it's no longer a solo journey
www.npr.org

Youth Villages Photos

+ Add Photo
Youth Villages photo of: In-home services specialist meeting with family
Youth Villages photo of: Therapeutic Drumming
Youth Villages photo of: Dogwood Campus
Youth Villages photo of: Bill's Place leadership
Youth Villages photo of: Celebrating Stephon's adoption! (L to R Stephon, Adoption Specialist, Adoption Counselor, Mom)
Youth Villages photo of: In-home services counselor works closely with family
Youth Villages photo of: North Carolina at the Annual Employee Conference
See All Photos