KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Dec 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 of over 723 reviews

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
353 Ratings
Pros
  • "It provides the opportunity to truly give back to your community and improve the lives of children and families(in 27 reviews)

  • "I am currently seeking licensure with support from YV(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Difficult maintaining a work-life balance(in 85 reviews)

  • "Long hours, mandatory transports on off days(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Youth Villages and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Dec 30, 2020 - Family Intervention Specialist in Cookeville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly people. Good salary. Help when needed

      Cons

      Work Life Balance. Long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Senior Public Relations Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback and thank you for working with our youth. Working with the children and families we serve is very rewarding but has its challenges. We’re glad you were part of a strong team who worked to help you improve the lives of our families. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      great in theory

      Dec 4, 2020 - Overnight Counselor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Useful training. great kids. learning opportunities

      Cons

      low pay, high turnover, long hours, poor management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Senior Public Relations Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback! We have worked to ensure that every frontline employee who works directly with youth receives reasonable, competitive compensation. (All Youth Villages full-time positions begin at least at $15 an hour.) We also offer a competitive benefits package that rivals that of many for-profit companies. The continuing enhancement of salary and benefits is at the forefront of our CEO’s priorities in every location that we serve. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not worth it

      Sep 24, 2020 - Teacher Counselor in Bartlett, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, pay, that’s really it

      Cons

      Long hours, poor management, life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Senior Public Relations Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback! We strive to maintain open communication with management and colleagues. At Youth Villages, we want to ensure children’s needs come first but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      good place to work

      Aug 29, 2020 - Family Intervention Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      staff and families and benefits

      Cons

      can be long hours and driving

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Senior Public Relations Coordinator

      Thank you for your feedback! . We understand our line of work may require extra time. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      A mixed bag

      Dec 5, 2019 - Foster Care Counselor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience counseling youth abd families

      Cons

      Long hours, lots of driving, there's a lot of case management

      2 people found this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved, including our colleagues and families we serve as we work to help children we serve return home to their families. Thank you!

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Experience

      Feb 25, 2019 - Teacher Counselor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The experience was golden and I learned to build rapport

      Cons

      Long hours, mandatory transports on off days

      1 person found this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thanks for your recent review. The work here at Youth Villages can require long hours, but work should not be done on approved off days. We will look into this.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Long days

      Mar 6, 2019 - Teacher Counselor in Douglasville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with children whom need emotional support and guidance through hard times

      Cons

      Long hours and low pay

      1 person found this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for your review. The work we do at Youth Villages is so important. We are always looking at ways to enhance work/life balance (such as providing Dash computers to allow for on-the-go completion of paperwork) and for opportunities to increase our wages for employees.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I wouldn’t suggest it

      Mar 14, 2019 - Teacher Counselor in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gain experience with working in social services

      Cons

      Long hours, terrible pay, no support from company, no structure, clients are not receiving adequate treatment, severally short staffed. Honestly, they couldn’t keep anyone because of all of the bs you have to deal with. On average, 14 hour shifts, 16+ on the weekend.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for your feedback on your time at Youth Villages. Working with children and families can mean putting in long hours, but we strive to support our employees to the fullest extent. We would like to hear more about your experience. Please contact feedback@youthvillages.org.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fulfilling work

      Aug 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Making a difference in the lives of children, fun coworkers

      Cons

      Long hours, pressure to meet goals

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unhealthy environment in which to work

      Mar 23, 2018 - "Lifeset" Specialist in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The adolescents, families, and organizations which whom you coordinate care

      Cons

      Pay, Long Hours, No work-life balance, incompetent management, lack of disability assistance, prejudice, no boundaries, micromanagement, redundant trainings, lack of acknowledgement for master's level counselor's, favoritism toward social workers

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for your feedback. We strive to give our specialists the training and support they need to make a difference in the lives of children and families. Your comments will be seen by leadership.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

    or