Z Gallerie "furniture" Reviews | Glassdoor

Z Gallerie Employee Reviews about "furniture"

Updated May 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
32%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Z Gallerie CEO Robert Frank (no image)
Robert Frank
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Customer service is useless-making the store & employees look bad(in 15 reviews)

  • "A little stressful for a furniture store(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "furniture"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Z Gallerie part-time

    Pros

    Pay, flexible, beautiful place

    Cons

    A little stressful for a furniture store.

    Z Gallerie2018-05-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fun, but also disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Z Gallerie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone within my immediate work environment was easy to get along with - supportive, good culture. Decent employee discount, and beautiful visually, overall fun environment to work in.

    Cons

    New management at the corporate level has brought about several changes that aren't for the better. Consistently messing up on things such as the marketing collateral, which forces employees at the store level to stay behind after hours to fix things and figure them out. Outdated technology such as the GERS system, which irritates customers and generally takes more time out of the day to figure out technical issues. Also the pay is kind of low, I've never heard of a company which retails big ticket items such as furniture but doesn't give employees a commission.

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2018-04-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Z Gallerie Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bridgeport, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Z Gallerie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had very understanding managers that were willing to work with me even when I had health problems that limited some of the ways in which I could work. They had a better starting wage than a lot of other retail sellers. I enjoyed my co-workers a lot and most of the tasks were very easy to understand and the training was well done. Mistakes were treated as learning events. It's a great gateway job for anyone who wants to go into interior design. They're really great about working with people to give them time to do schooling. You have to ask for time off well in advance but it's well received and I never saw someone denied. They were great when I decided to move on to a job that gave me better opportunities.

    Cons

    It can be very boring. While I worked there we were never busy and I stood around a lot but you have to be on your toes if someone does come in. All of the retail stores are starting to struggle. Especially in decor and furniture. You are expected to talk to customers to the point you feel like you're bothering them. Some of the store policies about returns are very strict so you'll often deal with grumpy customers. Most of our clientele was very picky and could get huffy if we didn't have just what they wanted. Customer service was very frustrating and hard to work with you also had to deal with a lot merchandise that would have flaws or broken in transit and you'd still have to try and sell it.

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2017-07-29
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Z Gallerie part-time

    Pros

    The accessories are beautiful, but so expensive, even with the 20% discount

    Cons

    Customers are needy, stupid, lazy and entitled. This is one of the most boring places to work when it is slow, you will literally be standing around like a piece of furniture counting down the hours to leave.

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2017-08-21
  5. "Slave Labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Z Gallerie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly none, they are super tight fisted with employees.

    Cons

    They are so cheap they make the staff come in 2 times a month to unload the delivery truck and at 3am!!!! They have petite women trying to unload extremely heavy furniture/mirrors/ etc. They also make you unpack it all, cleanup all of the packaging material and they put out everything you had to unpack. Truck days made you wanna run out the door and never come back. The location in Berkeley is where they take all of the pictures for the website, it is also the main office for the buyers and west coast higher management. There is so much turnover in the buying office its insane! I've seen numerous buyers get canned every other month. As sales associate they made my life a living hell, I started out as part time but ended up losing my management job so I had work between both the Berkeley store and San Francisco location 7 days a week, splitting my time between both stores kept them from getting in trouble OT wise. I had to fight just get a dollar over minimum wage. They were so cheap, they started you off at minimum wage and pressured the hell out of you to sell their damn credit cards. Their inventory system is a total DINOSAUR, literally a black and white screen that goes mostly by acronyms so basically if you don't have a skew number to look something up you're screwed.

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2017-01-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Z Gallerie

    Pros

    -Good health benefits and that is about it. -No Pros in general. I would not recommend to seek employment here

    Cons

    - Bad management - Low pay for all the physical work that you do - Dangerous work environment, can easily get seriously hurt lifting and moving all the furniture -Upper management is unprofessional and not logical about who to hire and what to expect about employees -VERY LOW PAY -Can not have a work life balance

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2016-06-14
  7. Helpful (8)

    "You work for every penny!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Z Gallerie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very attractive brand for a large clientele. Amazing social media and marketing team. The merchandise sells itself because the marketing department has already set it up that customers are bringing you pictures of what they want. Upper Echelon customers who usually do not give you any hassle. There are 4 managers 3 of the managers are professional and work hard and play an active role of fostering employees in areas where they are lacking. They have a hands on management style so they do not ask you to do anything that you have not witness them doing. However, it is very difficult for them to be a true manager with all of the responsibilities that are given. They truly earn every penny. Customer service policies do not favor the customer however 3 of the managers manage to speak in a manner in which to eliminate disgruntled situations.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible for what is expected of employees. The turnover rate is extremely high due to terrible working conditions. Employees are constantly asking other employees for money to get lunch or monies to catch public transportation home because they can not maintain there livelihood on the income that is paid. 9.00 an hour for sales associates and they are asked to sell, do janitorial jobs such as sweep and mop a 5,000 sqft floor with a heavy commercial mop that weighs at least 40lbs when wet. Some of the other requirements include standing on a 10 foot ladder while balancing a 20lb picture and trying to hang it up by a little string on a little nail while balancing on a 10 foot ladder with hot lights beaming down on your head. You are required to work truck days which consist of 5 employees (2 pregnant) opening 150 boxes, assembling furniture all while customers are present and you are expected to meet a 2500 sales goal when your number one goal is to get boxes out of the floor so that customers will be safe. This is a serious issue for our store and needs to be addressed immediately. Because the salary is so low the sales staff is reflective of the pay. No diversity amongst the sales floor. All black sales staff. Many of the employees refer to the store as a plantation and make constant slave jokes saying yes master when asked to do a task. This is currently funny but in the long wrong can be very harmful to Z Gallerie. It may take 2 hours to leave the store after the store is closed because managers have to answer a ton of emails at closing. Many times you will leave the store at 11:30pm when the mall closed at 9:00.

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2015-10-18
  8. "sales person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Z Gallerie

    Pros

    I love this store, wonderful place to work. Love the customers and love our products

    Cons

    Doesn't pay enough. doesn't pay commission on anything. Not even furniture. still employees argue over who took who's sale, as if they get commission.

    Z Gallerie2015-09-14
  9. Helpful (6)

    "One of THE MOST Poorly Run Businesses I've Ever Encountered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate & Assistant Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Z Gallerie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good employee discount. That is all. There is not much else that is good about it. I can not even think of twenty words that are positive to type in this space.

    Cons

    Upon my start at Z Gallerie I received virtually no training. I was not given any training about the product in order to help customers make informed buying decisions. The furniture on display is only a fraction of what is offered. And all furniture items can be customized in a myriad of ways and sizes. I only learned this myself by accidentally browsing through a few three-ring binders behind the check-out area. Another fun surprise was a week after starting, I was checking my schedule only to see a 5:00 A.M. start time. I said "Is this an error?" I was informed that no, in fact, that is "Truck Day". I was never ever mentioned anything about a "Truck Day" or a 5 A.M. start time during my interview OR my orientation. I would have turned down the job, actually, had this been mentioned to me. I certainly would never do any such thing for $10 per hour. In fact, this practice of Z Gallerie of having unqualified employees unload heavy merchandise from the back of a semi-truck may be in violation of OSHA regulations. Others have mentioned the terrible POS systems (all on point) and pointless sales quotas for a $125 MAX monthly bonus. Um, that is NOT a motivation to make sales, OK? Good luck with that. Within about six months of employment there, I was asked to be an assistant manager. I informed them that I was not interested in working 40 hours a week. I was told "No Problem" . Only to find out AFTER THE FACT and a schedule that was constantly 38-40 hours a week, that in order to be an Assistant Manager, you MUST BE FULL TIME. I felt CONSTANTLY mislead and lied to by management since starting to work there. But I stayed on because the store was so short-handed. Not enough managers to open and close during the stores WAY TOO LONG open hours. Our store was located in a mall and was completely in the wrong location for its product. There were ever hardly any sales after 7:00-7:30 yet they stayed open until 9:00PM 6 nights a week. No direct loading area FOR FURNITURE and large items!! We had to move furniture and large items down a long maze in the bowls of the mall. And don't get me started on Customer Service. There is none. I will NEVER order furniture from Z Gallerie again because I know for a fact if it shows up damaged or missing something, I will be out of luck for weeks on end. I couldn't even get through to Customer Service while I was working there. Not via phone OR email. So there's that. I could go on and on with Cons but honestly, I'm tired of re-living the experience. Don't work there is the only advice I can give you.

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2014-07-08
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Highly Corporate and Demanding Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mission Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Z Gallerie part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perk: A visually stimulating showroom filled with fun, attractive and unique merchandise.

    Cons

    This is the one and only (and last) store I work for that provides NO Trainin. Management was indifferent or clueless, Thursdays were expecially physically demanding, (i.e., unloading Fed-ex trucks, assembling and moving furniture). The inefficient POS system is needlessly complicated and should be replaced. I have had a lot of retail experience and this is one of the worst places that I have worked for. Prior to my employment, I enjoyed browsing at Z Gallerie as a customer and thought that working there during the holidays would be fun. Oh boy, was I ever wrong. The way Z Gallerie is run is beyond exploitative and ludicrous. For one thing, even though it's a family owned business, there is nothing warm and fuzzy about it. On the contrary, it's an excessively bureaucratic corporation with no tolerance for individual initiative and/or creativity. Nearly totalitarian in its corporate dictates, even the colors of your clothing must match their fabric chart (white, beige, brown, black). If you dare to wear a patterned outfit, or your clothing is a shade off, you will be sent home or dismissed. More off-putting are the endless stream of self-important micro-managers who are always eager to grab sales from unsuspecting new associates. This happened to me twice while I was in the process of self-training. Everyday management kept assigning nearly punitive sales quotas, while at the same time sabotaging employees opportunities to obtain them. Btw, for all the corporate sales demands, no actual commission was offered,...hmmm, not exactly fair, is it?! The underhanded tactics used by store managers, and assistant managers to take advantage of the new saleshelp was inexcusable. Instead of looking at the "big picture" to create good will by properly training and helping them, they would all-too-often grab and take credit for their sales, completely destroying morale and initiative. During my short seasonal stint, I quickly became aware of the strong undercurrent of paranoid territorial competition, instead of healthy cooperation. Worse yet, this did not go unnoticed by the customers. After being hired (during the busiest time of the year -- the holiday season. I was thrown onto the sales floor with no training at all. The POS system is ridiculously cumbersome and biased to misdirect sales credits from the employee to the store, unless the associate is savvy enough to go back a step to replace the store number with their associate number. That convoluted system made me wonder if the POS software was purposely designed to redirect sales to avoid paying the promised phantom bonuses. Even though management demanded sales quotas, employees were rarely fairly compensated for their efforts anyway. All the quotas were good for was creating staff anxiety and in some, a cut-throat sense of competition on the sales floor. Creating all that strife for a mere $10-12/hour is totally absurd. I was also shocked to realize that special staff aren't delegated to unload the trucks. Unloading heavy furniture crates is extremely difficult and potentially hazardous work. One young girl threw out her back and was laid up for over a week on worker's compensation. It's no wonder they force new employees to sign volumes of liability waivers prior to employment. It's also bad business and I refused to participate. While waiting on hundreds of store customers, we were expected to add to our already hectic multi-tasking by handling the phones to process the sales of online merchandise (which should be a separate division). Z Gallerie's endless unrealistic demands far exceed employee compensation. It was such a frustrating and demeaning experience that I no longer even shop there.

    Continue reading
    Z Gallerie2014-06-28
Found 15 reviews