ZF TRW Principal Product Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

ZF TRW Principal Product Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 23, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ZF TRW CEO Dr. Franz Kleiner (no image)
Dr. Franz Kleiner
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Engineer in Livonia, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have a team od smart colleagues to work with in a good work environment. ZF TRW seems to have decent bonuses also.

    Cons

    The workload seems to be a bit much at times. A 5% increase in the staff would allow for more research and continued productivity.

    Advice to Management

    The inability to give more than one person in the group an OC on their review should not be the case. This has been defined as an HR regulation but management needs to stand against this. It would be a nice carrot for everyone to drive towards.

    ZF TRW2016-04-24
  2. "Principal Product Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Engineer in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers, flexible working schedule, my immediate management chain is great. I love that we work as a team but there are still areas to improve on

    Cons

    Still lacking communication from upper management, some of the details of the ZF assimilation was not communicated well this made it seem a bit secret/closed door type which was a bit disappointing from their initial kickoff of the purchase. Benefits such as healthcare is too expensive and sucks.

    Advice to Management

    Better the communication down. Ensure the lower level employees understand how their part plays into the bigger picture. Communication is key

    ZF TRW2016-12-23
  3. "Senior Principal Product Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Principal Product Engineer in Washington, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW for less than a year

    Pros

    Diverse company with a large protfolio

    Cons

    Too many internal red tapes, no sense of urgency

    Advice to Management

    Remove red tapes

    ZF TRW2016-11-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great work. Good facilities. I've worked at different tier one suppliers in my career and ZF TRW is the best.

    Cons

    Way too corporate. Hard to change ways. Too many engineering jobs are outsourced. Difficult to increase income at a rate that is beneficial.

    ZF TRW2016-03-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good work, good coworkers, good supervisors, low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Engineer in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Coworkers, good work life balance, good bosses (direct supervisors). Fitness center onsite.

    Cons

    Lower salaries than competitors, less lateral movement, high employee turnover.

    ZF TRW2015-06-03
  6. "Principal Product Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Engineer in Farmington Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ZF TRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    TRW provides a Decent Salary Compensation

    Cons

    TRW provides a Poor Benefit Package

    Advice to Management

    Improve benefit packages and work to maintain knowledge base.

    ZF TRW2015-01-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay - lousy benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Product Engineer in Farmington Hills, MI
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW

    Pros

    Good pay, good bonus, casual environment.

    Cons

    Benefits are below par to other companies in similar industry. Benefits are changed at will and often, and there is no such thing is being grandfathered into what was offered when hired.

    ZF TRW2012-02-04
  8. "Basically Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Product Engineer in Livonia, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ZF TRW

    Pros

    Leader in the Braking and OSS technology.

    Cons

    Middle management basically sucks. Very limited internal recognition and growth. They will try to hire you back after you are dissatisfied and has left the company.

    ZF TRW2012-01-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A leading Automotive supplier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Product Engineer in Livonia, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW

    Pros

    One of the financially strong automotive suppliers still around. Was able to handle the downturn while some other suppliers closed shop.

    Cons

    Management has cut a significant number of jobs and rehiring at lower cost as contract. A number of benefits were cut and very slow to re-instate. Not much career growth opportunity in my group.

    Advice to Management

    Provide training and development opportunities for employees to rotate to different divisions, especially the cutting edge ones. Improve benefits like tuition re-imbursement programs.

    ZF TRW2010-09-29
  10. Helpful (4)

    "fustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Product Engineer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZF TRW

    Pros

    short drive from home to work

    Cons

    poorly structured. poor support. poor compensation

    Advice to Management

    show more respect to employees

    ZF TRW2011-06-11
Found 10 reviews