ZOOM+Care Provider Reviews | Glassdoor

ZOOM+Care Provider Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ZOOM+Care CEO Torben Nielsen
Torben Nielsen
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Dream Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZOOM+Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Zoom has a mission and philosophy that is really easy to get behind and be proud of. The work atmosphere is relaxed and easy going with dedicated co-workers and a responsive and supportive management team. I went from a 50-60 hour work-week in a traditional clinic setting down to 35 hours with an increase in compensation and benefits. I'm never emotionally tired by the end of the day and I still look forward to starting my work week some two and a half years later. My co-workers are some of my closest friends and some managers are more like mentors. Zoom is a place to grow and thrive while delivering affordable and convenient healthcare.

    Cons

    Frequent corporate / leadership / ownership changes make us all a little nervous about our long-term future

    ZOOM+Care2019-05-30

    ZOOM+Care Response

    July 25, 2019

    Wow! This review totally made our day. It’s great to hear about your experience being a Zoomer. Thanks for being part of the team. If you have any additional feedback or suggestions, please email us at myfuture@zoomcare.com!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZOOM+Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing co-workers! I've worked at ZC for over 2 years and everyone I have worked with so far has been amazing and most have become close friends. -Excellent life/work balance -Carrying management. Even through the tough times, management has been available and quick to respond when questions or concerns arise! -Competitive compensation -New CEO seems caring, intelligent, competent, and hopefully taking the company to new heights!

    Cons

    -Fear over job security at times! -Decisions have sometimes been made rashly without too much after thought but that seems to be winding down with the new CEO and ownership.

    Continue reading
    ZOOM+Care2019-08-22

    ZOOM+Care Response

    August 23, 2019Talent Scout

    Great to hear! We agree that your Zoomy co-workers are amazing to work with. Thank you for your advice and helpful input. Making ZOOM+Care a positive environment for employees and patients is important and should not be forgotten. If you have any other input or feedback, send to myfuture@zoomcare.com!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Provider 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ZOOM+Care full-time

    Pros

    There has been good improvement in the last months and I hope it continues. Seems like they finally care about their employees since new people have been in charge

    Cons

    Many times of uncertainty, changing benefits, contracts not being upheld, paid holidays taken away, previously felt like they did not care about their employees.

    Continue reading
    ZOOM+Care2019-08-22

    ZOOM+Care Response

    August 23, 2019Talent Scout

    We do care! Our Zoomers are important to us and make our patient experience amazing. Thank you for all you do for ZOOM+Care, you are greatly appreciated. We will keep listening! If you have additional feedback, send to myfuture@zoomcare.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ZOOM+Care full-time

    Pros

    Nothing is good and I would stay away.

    Cons

    Everything is bad, stay away

    ZOOM+Care2019-09-20

    ZOOM+Care Response

    September 23, 2019Talent Scout

    Thank you for your honest feedback. Your input is valuable to us and would like to know why you would recommend people stay away and what specifically was not good for you. Please send your feedback to myfuture@zoomcare.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible upper management and borderline abusive work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZOOM+Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I do work with some great co-workers in the clinics.

    Cons

    Management here is borderline abusive to its employers. No respect for medical providers or clinical decision making. Non-medical people constantly making decisions regarding patient care and management. Demanding and manipulative upper management. The business has little oversight by medical supervisors and is essentially run by managers from prior retail institutions who have no clue about HIPPAA, medical management or clinical practice. I worry about the type of information that is exposed or seen by non-medical providers and used inappropriately by staff members.

    Continue reading
    ZOOM+Care2019-08-22

    ZOOM+Care Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Scout

    We are glad you appreciate your co-workers in the clinic, there are definitely some great Zoomers out there. Thank you for your honesty and direct feedback. We are always trying to improve. It would be helpful if you can share more details with us. Please us email at myfuture@zoomcare.com.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible place for a provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ZOOM+Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only some of the coworkers. Would give negative stars if I could

    Cons

    Management is AWFUL!!! TERRIBLE PEOPLE AND SCAM ARTISTS. If you see a good review on here, management placed it to skew the reality. I was a provider that was abused by this awful company and then had to wait 120 days to quit. Never going back. I’d rather be hungry under a bridge than work for such an awful representation of grocery store healthcare for the elite.

    Continue reading
    ZOOM+Care2019-05-28

    ZOOM+Care Response

    June 7, 2019Talent Acquisition Leader

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. ZOOM+Care's core values center not only around our patients and delivering quality care, but around our providers as well. We're constantly working on strengthening our company culture and community, and we pride ourselves on cultivating a work environment where our providers feel empowered and respected! We value the opinions of everyone who works at Zoom and we strongly encourage feedback from all employees. If you have more to share, please email hr@zoomcare.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Happy People don't write reviews.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZOOM+Care full-time

    Pros

    The schedule The acuity of patients is low The pay. PTO

    Cons

    no 401k few rotten apples creating a toxic environment for everyone - signed up to work for a "retail health system" - going to have to bring in money to make money.....

    ZOOM+Care2018-05-01
  8. Helpful (20)

    "So many cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Provider 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ZOOM+Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company somehow does hire amazing employees. Most of the providers and associates are wonderful, care deeply about their patients, and work incredibly hard. Only working a half week is amazing as well. The salary is what keeps most of us from leaving. It’s one of the highest in the market.

    Cons

    If it wasn’t for the high salary, more of the Zoom employees would leave this company, and many are already doing so. So much so that they have to close down multiple clinics daily. Those of us who step up and volunteer to keep clinics open are never rewarded or even praised for that act. Unless you have a slow day, clinic days are a nightmare. You have to see every patient in 15 minutes and often will have 7-9 in a row without any breaks. You are excepted to stay on time (that’s why we’re called Zoom). If you fall behind, patients will be upset with you as they are used to being taken back at their appt time. Management will also get on you about your timeliness at your monthly meetings. So over time the constant stress of trying to deliver quality, safe care on time all day long for 25 patients will begin to eat away at you. The only way to get any sort of break is to ask a group of young, nonmedical employees who are stationed at headquarters for a break publicly in a Chat room. It’s insulting to say the least. We have all complained about it so many times, but management refuses to get rid of them as they want to control us and keep us profitable and from abusing breaks. Employees have directly heard the leader of this group say “our job is to keep the providers in line”. Pretty horrible. You will be expected as a provider to room your patients, take their vitals, clean the room after, do an exam and make a diagnosis/plan of care all in 15 min. If a patient ever writes a bad review about you (because they felt rushed, etc) you will be chastised by management for this. They will always side with the patient and never see your side or the strain on you. That is because management has no medical experience. Most come from retail. They do not care about you even though they pretend to. But their real concerns are so obvious and they will quietly push you to see more and more patients. Profit is everything here. They only want to look good to investors. They have even gone so far as to ask people (mostly female employees) to change their appearance when investors are on site so that the company looks better. Clear discriminatation. There are some providers who are “closely tied” to upper management and get obvious preferential treatment. They think that we don’t notice but we see it and think it’s inappropriate and makes for a hostile work environment. Overall you will be burned out if you work here in less than a year.

    Continue reading
    ZOOM+Care2018-04-13
  9. Helpful (23)

    "Like being in an abusive marriage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ZOOM+Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will work with an incredible group of other providers and associates. Bonding though shared hardship creates some great friendships

    Cons

    Patients are seen as commodities to have as much money sucked out as possible. $25 for all refills, $25 for any following up questions about care that falls outside of a short window. Provides are punished if they allow patients to fill their medications at outside pharmacies that bill insurance or use outside radiology services that use real equipment and have good radiology reads. Providers are also punished if they don’t internally refer to “Internal Medicine” that is not staffed by an internist for any issue that needs actually needs an outside specialist. If there is a way to squeeze more money they will try it. They absolutely do not care about actual patient or employee welfare. The EMR is a dangerous zoom built sham. There is no centralized medication list, no drug drug interaction checker, no access to outside medical information. The safety of your medical license is in your own overworked hands. When you bring up safety concerns your are mocked and belittled. This lack of care will slowly erode your morale, and then they will label you as a problem. They will try to make you feel like your unhappiness has nothing to do with their behavior. They will try to make you feel like they are your only option. They will make you feel like it is your own weakness that you are sinking when they refuse to offer any support. They will lie and tell you that they value transparency, but they will offer none and punish employees that share. One of the medical directors is having an open affair with one of the providers and gets special treatment. HR doesn't seem to mind. Everyone around you will ALWAYS be looking for another job. Anyone who actually cares about health care will quickly realize that zoom is a crumbling pile of smoke and mirrors build upon the tender and volatile ego of one man. Anyone who actually cares about the health and safety of patients will try to leave. They will try to make you feel trapped, and make you feel crazy for wanting to leave. In the midst of FBI investigations, lawsuits and public release of records detailing corporate tantrums, the CEO will continue to wax on about zoom being the victim because they are trying to revolutionize healthcare. This place is truly the McDonalds of medicine, just with a more hip facade. Don't believe and stay away. Run. Don't walk.

    Continue reading
    ZOOM+Care2018-04-20
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Dysfunction Abounds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Medical Provider 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ZOOM+Care for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The schedule is great. You get 3.5 days a week off. More tenured providers who are grandfathered from the old system make decent pay (though not NDs, who summarily had their pay cut by 25% with less than a month's warning). You'll rarely see your manager.

    Cons

    The company is entirely profit-driven at the expense of good care. The only goal of management is to show a profit and attract investors. They hire a great team of MDs to support mid-level providers and advise management, then make sweeping changes to how we provide care without consulting (and sometimes without informing) them. As a provider you will be expected to see patients in 15 minutes regardless of their chief complaint and with few scheduled breaks. Your schedule will be supported by a remote team call center employees with no clinical experience who your assistant must instant message when you are behind in order to ask for a break in your schedule. They'll need to make a good case for you getting the break. If lawyering isn't their strength you may be out of luck. If the call center employees deem your situation desperate enough, your request will be granted. Your assistant may be great but s/he won't start this way because they receive very little training and have no clinical experience. You'll have one member of this team of underpaid (mostly) college graduates to provide all of your onsite support. They are responsible not just for assisting you but phlebotomy, insurance, inventory, and customer service. Not surprisingly assisting the provider often takes a back seat. You do your own vitals and often have to clean up your own exam room after procedures. Turnover is high. If you're lucky enough to have a good assistant for a year, you'll spend the first 2-3 months struggling as they learn on the job and the last month or two struggling as their animosity toward the company calcifies and they lose interest in their job. Work at a slow clinic? That sounds like less stress, right? You can spend more time with your patients and connect with people and remember why you got into medicine in the first place. NOPE. Management will hassle you about your visit duration, a metric they follow. You also may be asked to fill in at a busier clinic some days but won't be compensated as a float for your flexibility. Nonetheless, management will hassle you about building up your patient base, which is hard to do when your clinic has irregular hours. The system also doesn't support scheduling follow-ups beyond a few days. If you want to see a patient back after a month on his new asthma meds, you'll have to set up a reminder to email him. This is a theme, building up a practice is expected but you aren't given support in doing so. The middle managers who directly supervise you come mostly from retail. When they are schmoozing you over on the latest change to how you deliver your care you just know you're getting a variation of the pep talk some Victoria's Secret Assistant manager got when the new Angels collection came out in 2010. They have little respect for healthcare providers. I once heard one of them refer to a group of providers as "you girls." You might be asked to give feedback. Don't fall into this trap. For the most part this is a futile effort but those who are outspoken attract attention of middle management and not in a good way. If you choose to go down this road, extra attention will be paid to your metrics (timeliness, visit duration, revenue per visit, etc) and you will be singled out for having a bad attitude. You won't be given inside information on upcoming changes to the organization and compensation that might influence your clinic assignment requests. Upper management may be sincere in soliciting feedback but middle managers generally try to steer the conversation back to whatever they are there to sell you. Luckily, as noted above, they rarely have time to meet you since they manage so many providers and assistants.

    Continue reading
    ZOOM+Care2017-12-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews