KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Zalando

Is this your company?

Zalando

Add a Review

Zalando Buying Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 1,404 reviews

2.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
3 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 3.0
    Current Employee

    -

    Dec 4, 2020 - Buying Assistant in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, nice office. 40% discount

    Cons

    Salary, no overtime payment, transparency

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    An honest reflection on working in category management

    Sep 23, 2020 - Team Lead Buying 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exposure to many parts of ecom businesses, from Performance marketing, content & creation, marketing campaigning, Human Resources, finance controlling, business development, category management and market place to name but a few Flexible working hours Honesty and transparency from the board and management in cascading information and its reflection in its wins and mistakes It’s pioneering mentality for example the great strides made in sustainability which only 2 years ago was a small side project. Tolerance and international community Pay, salary and perks for Berlin are very good. In house training and development courses are excellent if you have time to attend, the leadership courses were excellent.

    Cons

    The absolute unmanageable workload and constant lack of investment into headcount in category management. Certainly at teamlead level and above in category management, you are married to your job which is why turnover is so high. A work/life balance is not possible. It’s not a sustainable way to live for long term health and it needs more than ever in a COVID world to be addressed. The race mentality and speed at which the business develops and changes which does not stop to properly address the people it affects at different levels of the business. In most businesses pressure is top down. At category management you feel it from the top, from The brands but most frustratingly from all the link departments be it, finance controlling, logistics, Zms or partner program . The business is so big it is it not aligned on internal strategy goals with different priorities. It is hard to yeld support and truly get your goals achieved. Zalando Calls itself a fashion platform but truly they are tech first foremost and forever. People that join the business with a genuine passion for fashion would miss working in a true fashion led business. There is a distinct lack of onboarding and on job training support for basic daily functions, clear job descriptions for category management at different levels The Political game that has been developed by the personal performance review process “zonar”that is so complex and open to manipulation that creates mistrust and lack of openness from employees to address true support where it’s needed to help people develop. Many people in category management have left due to stress and burnout in the roles this has never been properly addressed to avoid going forward. It gives the impression Zalando does not genuinely care about its employees. When people are rated underperforming the focus is primarily on the individual not the environment or the lead or the team around them. Zalando has a set of principles called the founding mindset.. how they conduct themselves in the business and how they work.. it’s a great initiative for a large business. But it only works if everyone lives and believes in them, especially people at director and Senior management who set the culture and atmosphere. I have seen many examples in category management where this is definitely not the case.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Zalando Response

    Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to see that you share so many positive aspects with us as we are investing a lot in creating a great place to work for our employees. What you point out in the Cons section is not the type of employee experience we strive to create at Zalando. We would specifically like to address your concerns regarding the high workload and our approach to support employees who are struggling in their role. We are actively trying to find ways to help manage the workload of our employees in a better way. As one of the measures to tackle this, our teams are conducting workshops to proactively review their workload and define best practises to increase efficiencies and prioritize projects. In addition, we are also investing a lot in tool improvements and hiring for additional roles in Category Management to help strengthening our teams. In regards to our approach towards colleagues who need support in their role, we aim to provide a holistic and conversation-based approach. Together with leaders, our People & Organization Business Partners try to analyze the context, identify root causes for the challenges and define holistic support measures. In parallel, we strive to encourage open and honest conversations between the lead and the employee about current challenges, expectations and mutually aligned support offerings in order to help the employee in the best way possible to be successful in their role. We take your feedback as a very valuable input to continue having these open and honest conversations at Zalando and working on improving. If you would like to have a further discussion or share more feedback with us, please feel free to reach out to me directly via email: Martha Müller, martha@zalando.de

  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst company to work for

    Jul 14, 2020 - Buying Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Making Friends Free cold drinks Free coffee

    Cons

    Team lead is very aggressive and put too much pressure to deliver in a short period of time. If you do not be-friend your team lead, it will affect your future development in the company because Zalando has an open feedback software called Zonar where the team lead has all the control over your outcome and promotion. It will take you a long time to even get promoted and the pay is very low. I would keep away from this company unless you want to join a toxic environment

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Zalando Response

    Employer Branding Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We strive to offer a great work experience for every employee at Zalando and take comments by our former and current employees very seriously so we can continue to improve. I’d specifically like to address your concerns regarding our performance evaluation process and favoritism in leadership. At Zalando, our performance evaluation process is constantly evolving with the help of our employees’ feedback. We use 360 degree feedback as a basis for supporting the growth journey of every employee and for making decisions on promotions. People & Organization facilitates discussions following a structured approach based on our performance models and the 360 feedback, aiming to ensure a fair and objective performance evaluation. With our regular talent reviews, our leadership team is looking into our talent base to identify promotion ready colleagues and agree on concrete talent measures to foster growth and development. As talent mobility is very important for us, we have two performance evaluation rounds per year where employees receive all-round feedback and the opportunity to be promoted. We strive to build a culture in which our talents can flourish and leads take ownership of talent development, following our leadership principles outlined in Our Founding Mindset. We are doing our best to hold leads accountable and to role model these principles. In addition to that, we are investing heavily in leadership development. In Category Management, new leaders and leaders with approximately 1-2 years experience can participate in monthly training sessions and workshops on different leadership topics to strengthen their skills. Furthermore, we are currently rolling out various leadership development programs for managers with different levels of experience. We also believe in growth through meaningful feedback. Therefore, every lead in Category Management participates once a year in a Leadership Team Feedback session - a toolkit to have structured feedback conversations between leaders and their teams. This gives teams the chance to openly share their feedback and enables the leadership team to gain insights into the way they are perceived by their team members, derive concrete actions and create a basis for follow-up measures. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us but we wish you all the best for your career. If you'd like to have a further discussion, please feel free to reach out to me directly (Sandra Dobiosch, P&O Business Partner, via email sandra.dobiosch@zalando.de).

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Zalando SE

    Oct 1, 2020 - Buying Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very open minded and collegual relation to colleguaes

    Cons

    feedback culture is done by own colleguaes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Aug 27, 2020 - Buying 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learnt so much and developed great skills

    Cons

    Strategy plans would often change

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice Company but Unfair Pay Differences

    Jul 31, 2019 - Buying Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good discount, competitive salary for Berlin, good team events and nice campus

    Cons

    Internal feedback is not great, the new category operation set up is not run properly and makes teams demotivated

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fake people and polictics

    Jul 1, 2019 - Buying Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - you will learn a lot about buying processes and how to operate in a big group

    Cons

    - fake start up - lots of promises that never come through - company culture going the wrong direction - lots of incompetent people. It's not about how hard you work, but how much butt you kiss

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Buying Assistant

    Apr 7, 2019 - Buying Assistant in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The high employee discount and location

    Cons

    The lack of transparency in the company.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    WORST WORK EXPERIENCE EVER!

    May 26, 2017 - Buying Assistant in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    International and young team. Free drinks and breakfast. 40% discount on Zalando website.

    Cons

    Very disorganised, uncompetent manager for my team, a lot of extra hours, never got the german classes I had the right to cause my manager didnt wanted to allow any of the team budget for it. However they are trying to be a "google" kind of company, the management and way of thinking is still very traditional german "the rules are the rules so dont question them". So much time lost in doing futilities cause of the lack of coordination among teams and hierachicaly. So called a tech-company, the softwares we use are Windows98 like cause developed in-house and made us loose so much time. Turnover is so high that everyone is new and trying to do things his own way which cause a kind of general chaos!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Zalando Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Zalando? Share Your Experiences

Zalando logo
or