Zalando Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Zalando Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
28 Ratings
  1. "Senior R&D Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse, friendly, family positive company. Positive wirk atmosphere, ways to grow and develop: training, side projects, switching teams is all possible and encouraged.

    Cons

    On average lower salaries compare to the market. Employees often don't stay with the company for a long time.

    Zalando2019-12-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Cutting Edge Tech Stack, amazing colleagues, and a good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The developer infrastructure at Zalando is the best I have ever worked with. The CI/CD platform in particular makes it easy to build and deploy applications to Kubernetes clusters running on AWS. There is little to no red tape, and teams are (within guidelines) permitted to choose the technology they deem most appropriate for the task at hand. The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here. They provide way more than average holiday days, and are flexible with both working hours and locations. I highly recommend Zalando as a place to work, have fun, and learn lots from extremely talented colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    The organisational structure is regularly influx, and priorities can shift and change with little notice.

    Zalando2019-12-10
  3. "Great Place to Learn new Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Really smart work colleagues - Lots of trust from management - Tackling problems at large scale

    Cons

    - Balance between local business experts and engineers is not perfect - Too much organisational restructuring

    Zalando2019-12-10
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Managers boss over you- HR is not functional-Worst politics & corruption"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40 percent discount for employees on their website

    Cons

    -Managers treat you like slaves -No matter what you have to follow their orders -Forget any kind of support from the non-functional HR team -Overall Chaotic setup of teams for personal gains -Rewards and recognition process- unfair & not transparent

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen to your team members Take initiatives and take bold decisions Think long term sustainable solutions to problems and not for quick wins

    Zalando2019-12-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place for SDs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge tech, Great architectural solutions, open culture, inter operational teams

    Cons

    Changes can take time provoking frustrations

    Zalando2019-11-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Leading edge technology stack Work with many talented people Good work and life balance Allowance to work remotely when needed Great salary & benefits

    Cons

    I can't think of anything remarkable

    Zalando2019-11-07
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great team and technology - Production readiness taking serious

    Cons

    - A lot of internal processes - Heads are very absent

    Zalando2019-11-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture & amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Excellent knowledgeable & engaged people that will challenge you * The on-boarding process in Dublin is one of the best I been through * The benefits package is one of the best in Dublin * Management is very transparent and won't try to sell you "hopes & dreams" * Good office environment overall, people are extremely friendly

    Cons

    * Some legacy code to deal with * It's a big company, communication and all sorts of issues are going to come up

    Advice to Management

    * Keep doing what you are doing * Make sure the interviewing standards aren't lowered due to high demand for new hires (take time to get good people in the door)

    Zalando2019-11-07
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    I don't have any negative experience

    Zalando2019-10-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Engineering Culture and Vibrant Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Engineering culture is relatively high (highest among companies I worked for) with plenty of great engineers, in-house built / customised tools and various engineering guilds + Depends on department within Zalando, but based on my experience engineering teams are quite autonomous with respect to technologies and (sometimes) business decisions + Feedback culture and encouragement to speak up + Vibrant and creative environment + Depends whom you ask, but I find Zalando campus great! + Work-life balance is awesome

    Show More

    Cons

    - Zalando embraces change, which is very good trait in modern business world. However sometimes things are changing so much and so fast that it is very difficult to stay focused. - Organization is huge with plenty of opportunities on one hand. On the other I have a feeling that many people here are doing things which are not meaningful to them.

    Zalando2019-10-01
Found 65 reviews