Zalando "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zalando Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
266 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Gehalt eher am unteren Ende dessen, was(in 27 reviews)

  • "Salaries in commercial roles are not great for German standards(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (17)

    "Very diverse and challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing People and Culture, very diverse, chance to work with people from all around world and from very different companies. Nice perks, a lot of events, meetups, celebrating diversity.

    Cons

    Too many organisational changes in a very short time

    Zalando2019-06-14
  2. "As a manager, the most difficult decisions I make involve layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in War, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a manager, the most difficult decisions I make involve layoffs

    Cons

    I dont have wrong experience

    Zalando2019-10-06
  3. "Interesting but chaotic and disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Poland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, opportunities to work in different environments

    Cons

    You need to do work that's often out of your scope of responsibilities, argue for your rights

    Advice to Management

    Try to standardize most of the procedures as it is right now you will drive the company to complete chaos

    Zalando2019-02-17
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Could be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - 40% discount on the website - usual perks : free coffee, tea, soda; fruits

    Cons

    - no growth possible, your are basically encouraged to leave the company once you start feeling bored (I was told to look for a job elsewhere) - near impossible to change position internally despite zalando being such a big company with so many job offers - terrible mid-management made of people with no soft skills

    Advice to Management

    stop only thinking about rentability & corporate communications and spend some time actually trying to make your employees happy and give them chances to grow internally. You are not a start up anymore.

    Zalando2018-10-30
  5. Helpful (27)

    "worst place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    free fruit...when people weren't hoarding it

    Cons

    where do I even start? horrible and very disorganized management, toxic environment, failure to nurture ideas and talent, low salary, no real way to grow, etc.

    Zalando2018-03-13
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Provide best customer services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provide discounts on products and benifits

    Cons

    One break time work to hard.

    Zalando2015-08-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Cutting Edge Tech Stack, amazing colleagues, and a good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The developer infrastructure at Zalando is the best I have ever worked with. The CI/CD platform in particular makes it easy to build and deploy applications to Kubernetes clusters running on AWS. There is little to no red tape, and teams are (within guidelines) permitted to choose the technology they deem most appropriate for the task at hand. The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to... work out of hours or weekends in my time here. They provide way more than average holiday days, and are flexible with both working hours and locations. I highly recommend Zalando as a place to work, have fun, and learn lots from extremely talented colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    The organisational structure is regularly influx, and priorities can shift and change with little notice.

    Zalando2019-12-10
  8. "Great Place to Learn new Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Really smart work colleagues - Lots of trust from management - Tackling problems at large scale

    Cons

    - Balance between local business experts and engineers is not perfect - Too much organisational restructuring

    Zalando2019-12-10
  9. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Great team, location is favorable, good benefits

    Cons

    Workload can be pretty heavy

    Zalando2019-12-08
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager 

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Good team with nice working atmosphere

    Cons

    Difficult place to grow career

    Zalando2019-12-06
Found 695 reviews