Zalando "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zalando Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
275 Ratings
  1. "Exciting and fast-paced company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - dynamic environment - open discussions across various hierarchy levels - it is possible to shape the company with own ideas

    Cons

    - constant change and high speed environment can be stressful for some - internal employee evaluation system ('Zonar') burns a lot of capacity with questionable results

    Advice to Management

    put more emphasis on develop leadership skills instead of relying on heavy tooling ('zonar')

    Zalando2020-01-08
  2. "Data Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Big Data Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Corporate Challenges Interesting projects Impact Listening for your thoughts Learning possibilities

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to find right person to help you further

    Zalando2020-01-05
  3. "good company for fashion in berlin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced, dynamic, one of the biggest employers of fashion and tech in berlin

    Cons

    wishing processes were implemented faster

    Zalando2020-01-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lead Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Community, Large-scale System, Working environment.

    Cons

    Unfairness, inequity, floundering leadership, recognition

    Advice to Management

    Zonar process is the worst experience ever in my career.

    Zalando2020-01-16
  5. "Great employer for tech professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A growth mindset. The culture is focused on team members learning and continuously improve.

    Cons

    The organisation is still somewhat young, meaning that in many ways it still figuring out its processes while growing. This a times lead to a higher degree of chaos

    Zalando2020-01-01
  6. "Senior R&D Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse, friendly, family positive company. Positive wirk atmosphere, ways to grow and develop: training, side projects, switching teams is all possible and encouraged.

    Cons

    On average lower salaries compare to the market. Employees often don't stay with the company for a long time.

    Zalando2019-12-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Nice colleagues, low quality work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Food, drinks, colleagues, work equippment, held desk

    Cons

    salary, middle management, unqualified colleagues, low professionalism

    Advice to Management

    pay for more qualified work

    Zalando2020-01-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Cutting Edge Tech Stack, amazing colleagues, and a good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The developer infrastructure at Zalando is the best I have ever worked with. The CI/CD platform in particular makes it easy to build and deploy applications to Kubernetes clusters running on AWS. There is little to no red tape, and teams are (within guidelines) permitted to choose the technology they deem most appropriate for the task at hand. The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here. They provide way more than average holiday days, and are flexible with both working hours and locations. I highly recommend Zalando as a place to work, have fun, and learn lots from extremely talented colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    The organisational structure is regularly influx, and priorities can shift and change with little notice.

    Zalando2019-12-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Company has questionable practices, should be investigated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Designer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can not think of anything positive at this time. None. They are a Wannabe Brooklyn startup.

    Cons

    Zalando is hiring talent from other countries without considering all that it takes to move from your home country and live in Germany. I took this job to provide for my family and instead was fired very quickly without warning! I lost my housing and was stuck financially. I suffered a mental break and this ruined not only my credit but my life. I just had a baby and they have affected her life too. Read all documents before and after accepting a position here, be prepared to be let go, have a german lawyer examine the paperwork before you sell your soul to this unethical money factory.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have an internal investigation done and if you are hiring from overseas, you must keep these employees or don't hire at all. Consider hiring on a temporary basis so people can plan properly instead of leading them on a screwing up their lives!! Shame on you!!!!

    Zalando2020-01-16
  10. "Great Place to Learn new Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Really smart work colleagues - Lots of trust from management - Tackling problems at large scale

    Cons

    - Balance between local business experts and engineers is not perfect - Too much organisational restructuring

    Zalando2019-12-10
Found 716 reviews