Zalando "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zalando Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
279 Ratings
  1. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Great team, location is favorable, good benefits

    Cons

    Workload can be pretty heavy

    Zalando2019-12-08
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager 

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Good team with nice working atmosphere

    Cons

    Difficult place to grow career

    Zalando2019-12-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Zalando part-time

    Pros

    Large number of work opportinities, Dog FRiendly, Benifits

    Cons

    No Inclusion in the workplave though the emloyees are very diverse

    Continue reading
    Zalando2019-12-16
  4. "Great technical people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big organisation but start up vibe.

    Cons

    Long process. Teams may work in Silos.

    Zalando2019-12-01
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontend Developer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teams and friendly people

    Cons

    Too many processes and meetings.

    Zalando2019-12-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controller in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive: building, activities, international

    Cons

    Negative: team leads, promotions process

    Zalando2020-01-02
  7. "Good (almost great) employer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enormous opportunities for impact, chance to work on projects/have conversations at eye level with top management. Interesting intellectual challenges, great colleagues, flexible working hours, emphasis on work/life balance. Leadership is often open to criticism and is not afraid to change what isn't working.

    Cons

    - Performance management process lacks transparency, is overly cumbersome, and makes no sense..specifically when it comes to salary allocation + promotion. - Some managers are extremely (almost comically) risk averse - this is extremely annoying and often leads to decision paralysis. - Compensation structure quite one-dimensional unless you are a top performer or in management.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2019-11-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Managers boss over you- HR is not functional-Worst politics & corruption"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40 percent discount for employees on their website

    Cons

    -Managers treat you like slaves -No matter what you have to follow their orders -Forget any kind of support from the non-functional HR team -Overall Chaotic setup of teams for personal gains -Rewards and recognition process- unfair & not transparent

    Continue reading
    Zalando2019-12-04
  9. "Dynamic, flexible work atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Planner in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I appreciate the flexible working hours that I can use at zalando. Being a mother of two girls and still working full time I need a company which lets me work individually and flexible. I also enjoy the support and Challenge I have experiences with my leads. I could always be open with my feedback and would have never feared to say something wrong. Last but not least I really cherish the dynamic work environment. It’s basically continuous change which motivates me and keeps me busy.

    Cons

    Actually I don’t have a lot to complain about. I think people often blame the company for things they should just fight for (such as a work life balance) themselves. We could definitely do a bit better in terms of sustainability and diversity however zalando is only a representation of society and at least we made a start here.

    Zalando2019-11-23
  10. "Berlin and Zalando: the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Partnership Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great city where to work and live. The company is innovative, dynamic, international and promotes collaboration and sharing. You can learn a lot, get to know new and skilled people coming from different countries. Great working environment.

    Cons

    It's only in Berlin :(

    Zalando2019-11-22
Found 717 reviews